Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Yorks

Convenient for bus & railway stations

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: Location, comfort, cheap room rate.
Location: Panteleymonovskaya church and Pryzvoz market are worth a quick look. But this area is grubby and workaday, head north 2 km for the best part of town.
The nice part of Odessa is the north end, near the Potemkin steps. But my stay here was just a transit stop, getting into town late night and off again in the morning, and Black Sea was ideal for this, a short walk from Pryzvoz railway & bus stations. Street frontage is small, take the lift to reception on 7th floor. Clean comfy room, decent breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very reasonably priced and clean

Posted Apr 30, 2017
For the price this is probably the best deal in Odessa although the breakfast the serve leaves something to be desired. The room was clean and fairly large, especially by the general standards of Ukraine. There are no amenities found in the more expensive hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Israel

Chorne More Pantelemonovskaya, Odessa, Ukraine

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Everything.
A great hotel. Very comfortable, spacious and clean. The staff are nice and always willing to help. Recently a new hotel manager named Olga has joined the staff. With a smile on her face she will be willing to assist any guest. She is so kind and helpfull. Always attentive and nice. You think that for this you would have to pay a lot of money but the opposite is true. The prices are more than reasonable. They are actually cheap. The location is also good. Only a few minutes drive from the city center or the most popular clubs area, arcadia. Anything you need can be found right downstairs the hotel. All kinds of stores, restuarants, cafes. The big market of Privoz is located near the hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for comfort and don't want to pay much.
2 out of 5
by Rudy from Vancouver island Canada

Posted Nov 23, 2013
Pros: not mutch
Cons: renovating
Location: there was not mutch todo around the location,street was noisy,bad sidewalks and not a very nice location
Hotel staff very unfriendly,should smile ones a while...breakfast cold or no breakfast at all if there was not enough guest in the Hotel,it was clean ok but use some renovation...no hot water couple of times in the morning..made me pay for stuff out of the mini bar even after I replaced the missing items...altoghter very unfriendly place,it was clean ok,but I would not stay there again...
2 out of 5
by Ed from Washington DC

Not good

Posted Oct 8, 2013
Pros: It was near a bank and a shopping mall.
Cons: See my comments above.
Location: See my comments above.
This hotel was advertised as four stars, but it isn't. It should be 2 stars. It is OK in some regards and has problems in others. The hotel is located on a rough street about 25 minutes walking from the center of the city, and walking in the area at night was not comfortable in terms of personal security. The map and directions I was given to get to the Opera House in the center of the city were inaccurate and caused me to be late to an appointment. The business center consisted of a portable computer that could be used in the hotel's business office. The rugs in the hallway on my floor should have been replaced long ago. My room was OK except for the bathroom. The shower head was one of the hand-held types prevalent in Europe, but it would not stay in place until I clamped it down, and it was impossible to get to the electrical outlet in the bathroom because the sink blocked it. Two people I met in Odessa asked why I was staying at that hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK Hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2013
It is an OK hotel. In a safe area which is crowded during the day and empty at night. It is in the market region. You can take trams to every where. If you are looking for a place that is not so expensive, I recommend this hotel to you. If you are going to Odessa for fun, clubbing etc, I recommend you to look for a hotel close to Arcadia beach. Otherwise you would have to take the tram or taxi from this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robyn from usa

Nice place stay away from center

Posted Jan 8, 2013
Pros: I like the peacefulness of area
Cons: Hidden extra cost of things
Location: Was 11 blocks away from center or opera house and should say more where it is located
I think that on line say you get certain services with the room, and when you get hotel there is a cost for these are extras. Such as fitness and compimentry breakfeast.
3 out of 5
by Drago from Riga, Latvija

Look for an other one

Posted Oct 31, 2012
Pros: Breackfast
Cons: all athmosphera
Location: not attarctive region
The Chernoe more hotel is in a quite busy and not attarctive region of the city. The rooms are soviet looking, although there has been a try to improve them. Internet is bad. The girls at the reception are trying to be helpful. Breackfast is very good though. There is something wrong when looking at the security in the entrance.
2 out of 5
by Francesco from Istanbul

Not too happy

Posted Aug 29, 2012
Cons: The service
Location: Not too central
The staff was rude, no service, position not too much central in a bad area.
2 out of 5
by Fujii

Disappointed

Posted Aug 9, 2012 on Hotels
New Hotel name = Black Sea No free internet, paid extra to get wireless, but not working most of the time. No safe in the room, extra charge for locker room. No free city map, had to pay for it. Not a 4 star hotel