Ratings based on 562 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Netanya, Israel

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Nice hotel for stay and traveling by car to other places in Potugal
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Meaford Ontario

Good basic apartment hotel close to Lisbon

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: The outdoor areas are gorgeous, excellent breakfast buffet and the views of Lisbon and the ocean are excellent.
Cons: Tea towels, dish soap and draining rack were not provided. The couch and chair in the living area were old and worn out, with plywood in the seats.
Location: Not really anything nearby...steep hills for walking into the local town. Very friendly people, great bakeries and cafes.
We enjoyed the comfortable beds and the lovely pools...both indoor and outdoor. The grounds are very pretty, although some areas were roped off to limit access. No explanation provided.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

disappointed in our room . It needed updating

Posted Jul 2, 2017
The entrance and pool and grounds were nice , and so were the restaurants . Our room was tired, dirty area rug, scratched and chipped furniture , and walls needed painting . As did the hallways outside the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Very quiet rooms.

Posted Jul 2, 2017
It was a very spacious apartment with a very large balcony. We had a lovely view over the pool, river and out to the ocean. It felt like home away from home. Breakfast was great. Dinner at the restaurant was lovely and not expensive.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Hotel is nice for the most part but far from town

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Don't get me wrong, overall, this was a nice hotel. We were upgraded and our room was lovely with an amazing view of Lisbon and torre de Belem from our balcony. Some of the family members we were staying with did not find their room to be of the same quality that we had. If you are looking to be within walking distance from super markets and shopping or beaches, you should know that this hotel is quite far from anything by foot. The hotel does offer a shuttle, however, be aware that it only runs once a day; drop off downtown Lisbon at 10am and pick up at the same location at 7pm. The pool at this hotel is really nice but, we were never able to take advantage of it as the hotel sits right on top of a large hill and seemed to be exposed to high winds everyday making it to cool to want to sit outside or get in the water. My wife and I were very pleased with our room, my parents who stayed here at the same time as us were not. Their furniture was old and in rough shape, walls were marked cracked and dented in spots, kitchen table was scratched bad, like really bad. They were very disappointed with the aesthetics of their room. This is ok if you're paying for a 2-2.5 star hotel, not acceptable when you're paying for a 4 star. The restaurant on site is ok, but the menu is pricey for the quality of the food. Personally I don't feel you're getting your value at this hotel and the location made us feel isolated.
4 out of 5
by Nikki

Mini break

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
Noisy hotel but really nice rooms and pleasant stay
5 out of 5
by Bruce

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
Really liked the view and close to Belem, lots of museums etc
5 out of 5
by Gary

My wife was happy with this hotel!

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel itself was very good. The England football team had previously stayed there (young portuguese boys & ladies National football teams were also there staying there during our week) only slight down side was the 25 min walk to the station - longer getting back as uphill! Plus side........ Staff very helpful & pleasant Free shuttle into Lisbon at 10am daily (return at 17.00hrs) Apartment had kitchen (incl. w/machine/microwave/oven/kettle/fridge freezer)
5 out of 5
by MARK

Play at Solplay

Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
These are true apartment units with a kitchen and even a laundry machine in each unit. Each unit has a balcony, room rates included the best breakfast I had during my 5 week stay in Portugal, with the possible exception of a 5 star resort on Madeira. The staff is excellent and the gym is the best yest AND open at 7am so you can actually use it before starting your day - a problem at most hotels - assuming they have a gym. Parking is free and easy, but the location is not the best for sight seeing. Of course, they provide bikes so one can ride into the tourist areas with no problems. Otherwise, just walk 5 minutes to the neighborhood and have the best fruit market and restaurant/grills you will find in Lisbon. Can't wait to stay again next year!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Cons: just niggling,but erratic service by the swimming pool,EG:opened one day and closed the next:pool bar!!!
I liked the facilities the rooms and the restaurant not to mention the indoor and outdoor swimming pools.