Ratings based on 298 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No Anarchy Here

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Everything except the hot tub being broken.
Cons: nothing that I can think of.
Location: Easily accessible from I39, there are fast food and a family restaurant nearby, as well as several gas stations.
I chose to stay at this hotel for the inaugural Fest of Anarchy event in North Utica IL. It was close to the event and affordable, plus I've always had good experiences with BW in the past. Such was the same here. The parking lot was well lit, which made this single female motorcyclist feel safe upon arrival. The lounge was clean and quiet, and there was coffee/hot water for tea available, along with carts to carry one's luggage. I had a heavy back pack and travel bag to bring in, and having experienced a small accident earlier in the day where I dumped the bike after sliding in slippery iquid at a gas station and injuring my knee, the cart was a blessing. Check in was quick and easy, the staff worker was friendly and helpful. The only downside was that the hot tub had broken by some kids earlier in the week and wasn't useable. The room was clean and the bed comfortable, and there was a disability seat for the shower that came in useful. The hot breakfast was tasty and it was the first time I'd ever had scrambled egg patties. They're good. The room had microwave, coffee maker, and fridge, which were greatly appreciated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fredericktown MO

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Liked extended hours of swimming pool
Location: Easy access off of interstate
Hotel was under renovation but hallways were cleaned each evening
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Close to Matthiesson State Park

Posted Jul 6, 2017
We stayed here for an overnight in order to spend the day at Matthiesson. It's only a convenient 15 minute drive away. The room was clean and comfortable. The pool area looks a little shabby and the breakfast was very disappointing. We went down to breakfast at 8:30 having been told it would run til 9. They were out of SO many things - milk, muffins, bagels...The only fruit was clementines and they were mostly shrivelled and unattractive. We went for breakfast across the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago suburbs

Totally satisfactory place near Starved Rock

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Convenient to starved rock; clean and comfortable.
Cons: If the hot tub was not currently being remodeled, but I guess that has to be done occasionally.
Location: Starved Rock and other state parks. Nice restaurants within 5 miles or so.
My girlfriends and I needed somewhere clean and comfortable for an overnight visit to Starved Rock State Park, and this hotel fulfilled that totally. Staff friendly, room & lobby perfectly fine. Beds were comfortable, we slept great. Breakfast was not fancy, but also fine. Coffee, tea, and bottled water were always available. We were able to use the breakfast room space for our evening wine & snacks. The only issue was the hot tub was being remodeled. My friend is especially picky about cleanliness, and she had no worries about that. I would recommend this hotel and definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cheap hotel with decent pool

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: I liked the pool and breakfast
Cons: Better showerheads with better flow, that everyone can reach.
Location: Very close to Starved Rock State Park and Mattheison State Park.
When we first checked in they had the type of room wrong, but they fixed it. The room was nice, but the showerhead was really high and didn't have great flow. The pool and sauna tub were small but nice. The second night of our stay the door to our room stopped working properly and we had to switch rooms, they upgraded us to a king executive suite. Again the showerhead was really high and didn't have great flow. Breakfast was decent.
5 out of 5
by Felicia

Finally A Warm Indoor Pool

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel was conveniently located to the highway and food. The employees were very polite. The continental breakfast was fresh and tasty. There was a good selection of muffins, pastries, bread, bagels, cereal, and hot food, such as: waffles, biscuits, gravy, eggs, and sausage. It was not too far from Starved Rock State Park. The best part was the pool was open and working and warm. Too many times, indoor pools are freezing, this pool was nice and warm and spacious enough for our family. I would definitely recommend this hote.
4 out of 5
by Deanna

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
We weren't able to eat breakfast at the hotel because the breakfast room was so crowded. We even waited a while but had to give up so we could get on the road.
1 out of 5
by Gerardo

Smelly Room 133

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
Although I asked for a non smoking room it seems like the receptionist disnt HEAR ME or their cleanliness standards are pretty low cuz my room reeked of nicotine, also clear signs of smoking in the room once you saw how yellow the curtains are which original color is suppose to be white. The only upside about my stay was that my company paid for rhe room cuz it was definitely not an $80 room
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels