Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

nice clean comfortable B&B

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: clean, comfortable, peaceful
Location: we went to Starving Rock state park and hiked - it was beautiful. well-worth the trip!
The room was large and comfortable. the bathroom was clean and had a nice big hot tub with jets -- perfect for relaxation after our long afternoon hike. the breakfasts were terrific -- homemade fluffy blueberry pancakes, scrambled eggs, sausage. We sat outside and enjoyed the nice weather and view.
5 out of 5
by John

Tranquil setting for this wonderful B&B

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
We found this on hotels.com when coming up to visit Starved Rock State Park and the Inn there was all booked up...after arriving at this beautiful property we were so glad that was the case! It could not have been more peaceful and relaxing...we were in the Door County room and enjoyed the fireplace and the soft cozy bed. We were able to put drinks and our leftovers from supper at the restaurant at Starved Rock (very good!) in the fridge downstairs and enjoyed looking around this well appointed country home and out at the scenery. Breakfast the next morning was delicious, and the hosts were so easy to chat with and friendly....we truly felt at home! It was a quick 5 minute drive to Starved Rock where we enjoyed a day of hiking the trails.
5 out of 5
by Joseph

Sunrise delight

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed in the Turkey Run room, awesome view of the sunrise. Nice shower, fireplace, comfortable bed and nicely decorated. There was purified water available, and I could have gone down the hall to get some, but it would have been nice to have a bottle or two in the room. The tap water, however, was plenty fine to drink. Breakfast was great, just enough to be satisfied, hostess was very nice. I felt like a guest in an old friend's home.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect for rest and relaxation.

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
The owners are very nice and helpful. I chose the b&b because my husband wanted a fireplace and I wanted a jetted tub. We got both, however the fireplace didn't work most of the time. Although they did try to get it to work, it would have been nice if they offered either another room or a discount. However even with that I would recommend it to everyone and we would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bolingbrook, IL

Refresh, regroup, reconnect, reflect

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Our 35 the anniversary and it was wonderful! Beautiful setting, comfortable relaxing romantic rooms & breakfast was perfect. sharim and Kevin have gift of hospitality & genuinely desire guests to feel welcome & at home.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Country comfort

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing comfort, relaxing country atmosphere so close to Chicago. Easy to unwind.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Roanoke

Great stay!

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
We had a very relaxing stay at Brightwood Inn. The room was large and tranquil. We enjoyed the jacuzzi tub. Breakfast was great and they made gluten-free and dairy free accommodations for me. We enjoyed hiking at Matthiessen next door and rode our bikes on the I&M canal towpath. We also enjoyed fine dining in nearby LaSalle.
5 out of 5
by Joel from Chicago

Perfect Fit for Many Reasons

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
Exactly what we could have hoped for. Nice accommodations, nice staff, comfortable clean room, and super easy access to the state parks, the reason we were there. I see no other reason to stay anywhere else if we came back to the area.
5 out of 5
by Zachary from Milwaukee

Cozy B&B

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
Great getaway. Comfortable bed, jet tub in room, great breakfast