Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel with terrific views.

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Everything was terrific including wonderful staff. The only thing was the room was very tight including the bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Colonial ambiance evident at the historic building

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: see above - nice room, colonial ambiance.
Cons: see above
Location: York is a very historic town by the sea. Goes it!
Enjoyed it as we celebrated Thanksgiving locally. The room was very nice and spacious. Only complaint is that the our bed's mattress slanted towards your head and it made for a sleepless night. While a King bed wither a new mattress is needed or some sort of support is needed to stabilize the mattress.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rogers, United States of America

Everything New England is meant to be!

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Location: Near York Beach and Portsmouth, NH. Nice places to walk/drive around and see New England.
This was probably my best experience ever in my life. The York Harbor Inn staff was superb but on top of that Maine was gorgeous. Across the street is an adorable little park that leads to a mini beach. One sunrise I went down there and took some pics as well as later in the day - some of the best photos I've ever taken from just a simple tourist camera. Wonderful! If I needed a soda or water, it was made available. But again - what set all this aside were the people.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albany, VT

Long awaited stay. Very disappointed.

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: The hotel is across from the ocean and a beautiful park a couple miles from the beaches.
Cons: Certainly the staff in the breakfast room could learn to greet incoming customers.
Room 24 is a terribly small room. The bathroom door cannot be closed unless you step into the shower stall to do it and the fan was so loud it sounded industrial (without the benefit of ear plugs). The bed frame was disturbingly squeaky in the night. We were excited to dine in one of their three restaurants but were directed away from the main dining room and to the pub "as it might be more fitting for us". What was that supposed to mean? We ate down the street. Breakfast the next day included a fruit salad that was days old. We drank coffee and left. I believe we were given this poor choice of rooms because we did Not reserve on their web site but went thru Expedia.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Our building was a half mile for check in and we w

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Not much.
Cons: They could have let us know the room was a half mile away and not on site.
Room was nice but loud. We could hear a conversation as if the people were in our room. If they told us we would be a half mile from the main building and restaurants we would not have booked a room, nor will we go back. The building was pet friendly, something else we were not told. Dog barking at 6:30 am was not what we expected.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Great Expectations Met with Disappointment

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Continental breakfast quit adequate.
Cons: Maintenance!
Location: Good location for either starting or ending a visit to the state of Maine because of short distance to Boston's Logan Airport, and local attractions.
Hotel poorly maintained older property that definitely shows its age. Over three day visit, maintenance debris remained in hallway, and room telephone remained inoperable...although reported to the front desk after first entering the room. Sink faucet leaked, and a bathroom burnout light remained out the entire stay. Uneven floor and cramped room around the bed makes the accommodations seem quite antiquated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: It was a nice ocean view and access to the ocean was great.
Cons: Better communication with their staff to see which rooms are booked.
It was nice. The rooms were clean. Hotel staff was really accommodating for the mix up of rooms. Really liked being right by the ocean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A warm, welcoming hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2016
This charming inn exceeded our expectations. Highlights included: the homemade butter at breakfast, the seafront location and the lovely staff (e.g. Chris who took great care of us in the very early hours of the morning while we were up with a jetlagged baby, providing freshly made coffee etc). Thank you all.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Somewhat Over Stated

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Venue was outstanding. Room was comfortable and good size. Good parking.
Cons: The description of our "luxury" room on internet site did not meet the actual room we got and did not meet expectations.
We had a generally pleasant stay recently for a wedding ceremony on site. Room was fine and overall a beautiful place. However, the description of our room was slightly exaggerated on the on line description and for the high price (over $400/night) we were disappointed in what we got for the extra charge over a more standard room ($150+).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location, tiny room.

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Great location! Fantastic restaurant!
Cons: Hard to improve room size, management should have warning about room size on their web site.
Location: Park, cliff walk, and beach right across the street.
Nice location with small park, cliff walk, and beach right across the street. Hotel restaurant was excellent, best meals we've had at a restaurant that we can remember! Nice complimentary breakfast with a great view of the ocean. The only downside, and it is a big downside, was the room size. We got the cheapest room and it was the size of a closet, with the smallest bathroom I have ever seen! A tiny sink, tiny shower, barely enough room to stand up without banging against the walls. If you want to stay here, consider upgrading to a more expensive room, I hear they are much larger with a normal size bathroom.