Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Beirut, Lebanon

Cosy family riun hotel in the Black Forest

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Firendly and helpful staff, breakfast.
Location: See the "write about your experience" section above.
Large clean rooms, and quiet. Very helpful staff, the hostess provided is with all the inforrmation and the leaflets concerning the area, she even came back the next morning with material that she printed to answer some inquiry that she was not aware of in the first place. And the breakfast offers many options with an excellent quality and taste, particularly the pastries. The village offers little interest, you should have a car and then Offenbach, Freiburg, Strasbourg amd other places of interest are at a close distance. Not to forget the charming medieval village of Gengenbach. Hiikimg tracks also nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice place in a small village

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: The excellent breakfast.
Cons: Access to British TV channels would be a help for British visitors. Check the bathroom fittings - could be better maintained.
Location: A quiet village but very close to Gengenbach where there are lots of places to eat. Good walking country. Also not far from Offenburg and Strasbourg.
Providing you are allocated a room at the back (the road at the front can get quite busy in the morning), this is a nice place. The balcony is large enough to sit out on. The buffet breakfast is excellent. There is limited parking space - not quite enough if the hotel is full. Very little choice of TV channels in English, so brush up your German or French if you want anything other than CNN. The bathroom needed a bit of maintenance - the hand shower needed fixing properly.
1 out of 5
by Geert

Bad Reception no contact no entrance, pickingmoney

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
We arrived late in the evening. There was no receptionist and the phoned we called ringed and lighted at the desk. Neighbours even did not get contact. It happend that week already more.
4 out of 5
by Alejandro

Excellent Family own hotel. Lovely Stay

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely familt own hotel. Very clean and quiet. Excellent breakfast. Excellent stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cheap but clean accommodation near Gengenbach.

Posted Sep 28, 2016
A bit dated and right on the noisy road, but affordable and clean.
5 out of 5
by Joshua

Good

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
Cozy room and great service. Was here for about a month and enjoyed my stay.
4 out of 5
by Jim

Posted Sep 25, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed here to visit family in the area, very nice hotel, good for access to the Black Forest. Room was comfortable and breakfast was very good. Ohlsbach is fairly quiet, but Gengenbach is worth a visit if you've time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Quiet friendly hotel

Posted May 26, 2015
Comfortable, large room with balcony. Quiet location but easy access to Black Forest, Strasbourg etc. Friendly staff. Good breakfast. Good food & drink nearby. Plenty of walking direct from the hotel. Would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ringwood, UK

Nice hotel, clean and comfortable

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: Free parking
Cons: Perhaps one English language channel on the TV.
Stayed overnight as we were visiting friends nearby. Clean and comfortable, nice to have a balcony. Dogs were 10 Euros each, the owner seemed concerned by them at first but ours are very well behaved and used to travelling so not an issue. Had an excellent meal at `Tim`s Steakhouse` which is attached. Staff spoke English which was a real help as my German is poor.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Sort of hard to deal with

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: It, was clean....that is the best complement I can give.
Cons: Service!
Location: Pretty, nice castle on the hill. A few miles away is the tradition town of Geggenbach, which is awesome! A Black Forest must see.
When we arrived, tired from our flight from the USA, we couldn't check in until 4:00pm, although they were at low occupancy, as we later learned. Then, after keeping ourselves occupied for 4 hours until we could check in, they couldn't find our reservation. The woman at the front desk seemed all upset, rifling through papers for ever, we were worried that they were sold out, 20 minutes later she decided to take us to our rooms. Bad customer service! The Hotel location, condition and stay were underwhelming, I wouldn't recommend it.