Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cheap but clean accommodation near Gengenbach.

Posted Sep 28, 2016
A bit dated and right on the noisy road, but affordable and clean.
5 out of 5
by Joshua

Good

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
Cozy room and great service. Was here for about a month and enjoyed my stay.
4 out of 5
by Jim

Posted Sep 25, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed here to visit family in the area, very nice hotel, good for access to the Black Forest. Room was comfortable and breakfast was very good. Ohlsbach is fairly quiet, but Gengenbach is worth a visit if you've time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Quiet friendly hotel

Posted May 26, 2015
Comfortable, large room with balcony. Quiet location but easy access to Black Forest, Strasbourg etc. Friendly staff. Good breakfast. Good food & drink nearby. Plenty of walking direct from the hotel. Would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ringwood, UK

Nice hotel, clean and comfortable

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: Free parking
Cons: Perhaps one English language channel on the TV.
Stayed overnight as we were visiting friends nearby. Clean and comfortable, nice to have a balcony. Dogs were 10 Euros each, the owner seemed concerned by them at first but ours are very well behaved and used to travelling so not an issue. Had an excellent meal at `Tim`s Steakhouse` which is attached. Staff spoke English which was a real help as my German is poor.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Sort of hard to deal with

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: It, was clean....that is the best complement I can give.
Cons: Service!
Location: Pretty, nice castle on the hill. A few miles away is the tradition town of Geggenbach, which is awesome! A Black Forest must see.
When we arrived, tired from our flight from the USA, we couldn't check in until 4:00pm, although they were at low occupancy, as we later learned. Then, after keeping ourselves occupied for 4 hours until we could check in, they couldn't find our reservation. The woman at the front desk seemed all upset, rifling through papers for ever, we were worried that they were sold out, 20 minutes later she decided to take us to our rooms. Bad customer service! The Hotel location, condition and stay were underwhelming, I wouldn't recommend it.
3 out of 5
by S. Robinson from Sydney, Australia

Strange service - peculiar experience

Posted Jun 27, 2013 on Hotels
Strange experience. Customer service was basic and unfriendly. According to Hotels.com, check out was 11am. At 10.10am there was a knock on the door from management informing us that check out was 10am and asking us to leave! They also informed us that our car was blocking their (unlabelled) garage. Not sure why they didn't say this to us the day prior, when we parked there. Really uncomfortable experience. Very hot - no fan in room. Good breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Reg from Leicestershire, UK

Pleasant Hotel in a nice town.

Posted Jun 24, 2012
Pros: Free Wifi and good restaurant food
Cons: No aircon and no room fridge
Location: Town centre
Be aware! The hotel reception is closed between 1pm and 4pm so if you arrive during this time, you cannot check-in. Tim's steakhouse (attached to the hotel) is excellent and the staff were extremely helpful. Free WiFi is a great touch. I would use this hotel again for business trips.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Price wortht family hotel

Posted Feb 27, 2012 on Hotels
Stayed one night off season. Well taken care off, great breakfast - restaurant closed on mondays. I guess target group is hikers, but if visiting companies in the neighborhood (in my case Lahr) and with you own car it is quite convenient and very reasonable price.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nydeligt hotel små 1000 km fra DK

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
Perfekt til et kort ophold igennem Tyskland. Fin morgen mad