Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Beautiful villas in a great location

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Room was emaculate, within walking distance from oia. Very quiet and private. Pool and breakfast were also great. The host and his family made us feel really welcome and at home, answering all of our questions and helping us out for directions etc. We would stay here again in a heart beat!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 2, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Nice Two-Bedroom Apartment Close to Oia

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: View, cleanliness, kitchen, delicious breakfast, nice owner.
Cons: Maybe the management could send some instructions how to get to the apartment when you travel by car since it is not very clear.
Location: Oia and Oia sunset.
This apartment is in Finikia and is about 15-20 minute from Oia by foot. Tom-Tom GPS brought us very close to it but there was the last right turn for the car shown which actually is a foot only way and it is not very clear how to actually get to the apartment. If it was not for the owner who passed by, it would be difficult for us to find the way on our own. Apartment itself is kind of a cave house but not really a cave: it sits on a side of the cliff facing north. The view is perfect, you can see the sea, fields, and some other Finikia terrace houses. The apartment is quite big, clean, air-conditioned and has a kitchen well equipped (though there is no oven) and one bathroom with a shower. It is made in a traditional way which keeps it cool even on a hot day. They have a pool and provide a delicious breakfast with omelet which will be prepared for you. The grocery and wine stores are around 10 minutes away and on the way to Oia. The owner is a very helpful and kind person who is ready to help you with everything. I would recommend this apartment to everybody if you want to go to Oia and need two bedrooms.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Inconvenient location

Posted May 19, 2017
When getting dropped off the driver left us a half a mile to walk small roads to get to the hotel. When we arrived it had no reception area. I was with my 60 year old mother in law and it was a brutal walk with our luggage. When we arrived to the room bathroom had mold on shower. I wouldn't recommend it to any Americans because it's definitely not what we are used to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

4 days in Santorini

Posted Sep 10, 2016
We had a great time at Ambelia. The proprietor was super friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The hotel is in Finikia, but just a ten minute walk to the heart of Oia. I preferred it as its in a less hectic area, but still so close. Near wonderful restaurants and makets.
2 out of 5
by Carnita from South Africa

Very average accommodation

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
Our time at Ambelia Villas was nothing more than average. Staying in a cave villa is really nice and the villa we had at Ambelia was very spacious. However the total experience was nothing to write home about and when taking the cost into account (we booked through hotels.com and paid EUR2,399.00 for 3 days) it was actually below average. Our hosts were helpful and gracious and made a good breakfast each morning. However, this breakfast was no different to what one gets at any other B&B/hotel and actually lacked fresh fruit. On arrival in our room I immediately noticed that the towels were just stacked on a window sill, the baby cot was full of pillows and blankets and not ready to receive a guest, there was grit in the toilet basin from the cracking plaster on the ceiling and when I opened the kitchen cupboard a door knob came off. The following day our bed was pulled straight but the second bed was untouched/not made and the dishes were not washed (there wasn't much even). We asked for it to be taken care of and the next day the beds were made, towels were neatly rolled on the beds and dishes were washed. Finally, I had a crawling baby and the rough cement floors were very hard and sore on his knees. On this trip we stayed in 4 places on different islands and had no problems anywhere else. Also, we stayed in a cave villa in Oia and that place was cheaper, more modern and had a private jacuzzi. There are much better options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from madrid

Oasis of peace in Oia

Posted Aug 14, 2015
We have been coming to Oia for many years, but this was the first time we do so I August. We inadvertently booked In Finikia, which is just 10 mins walking from Oia. This was the best thing we could have done because Oia in August at sunset time is way too overcrowded. The staff was extremely helpful and attentive to our needs. The pool had an excellent sea view and the hotel had a limited, but good quality menu for the pool. The breakfast was excellent including omelettes, toasts and frappes. The apartment was spacious. We had a room for the children and a separate bedroom for us. We had a private terrace overlooking the sea which we used for star gazing. Overall highly recommended. We would come back here again for sure.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 13, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Anna from NJ

Perfect family spot

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels
We had a nice 3-day stay at Ambelia, the two-bedroom unit was perfect for our family of four. The hosts were great at making sure our stay was comfortable and our days filled with fun and relaxing things to do. Homemade breakfasts were tasty and rooms clean and spacious. Hotels.com map is showing the hotel's location wrong though -- if you expect to be staying in the heart of Oia, you'll be disappointed -- the villas are in the neighboring town of Finikia, and google maps show the location correctly. Expect to climb some stairs daily -- but that's the norm for Santorini in general. Very quiet and peaceful place, away from the hustle and bustle, but still a short drive away from all the sites and restaurants.
5 out of 5
by Mikhail from USA

Quaint villas - walking distance from Oia

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels
Amazing owners - Sam and Cece - so accommodating and welcoming to you as a part of their family. If you want quiet, cave-like, not-seen anywhere apartment - this is where to go. If you want pay in multiples right in the smack of Oia, then go elsewhere. Cece's breakfast is probably the best I have ever tried - fig/raspberry/orange homemade jams are just to die for.