Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel and the staff is very helpful. It has a

Posted Nov 28, 2016
We took the bus from the train station. The bus left us at walking distance to hotel. The staff is very friendly and the hotel in general is very good. We would return there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cambridge, ma

We only got directions by taxi

Posted Sep 16, 2016
The onsen was nice, the room was ckean, comfortable and spacious. However, when we asked the staff for directions to different places around town they told us we could not get there by public transportation, only taxi. Then it turned out the hotel had a shuttle to train station and there are buses to everywhere from there, so we ended up giving a lot of unnecessary money for taxy. The onsens in the town are anazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tonbridge

Spa hotel above the bay

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: Convenient for overnight stop over off the main road. Super food and traditional atmosphere in the restaurant.
Location: Above the city just off the main route by car. Jigoku sites easily reached by car. City and beach downhill.
Very convenient to find just off the main road route above the city, we arrived just in time to drive to the 2 best jigoku (hells) sites as recommended by the reception staff. Weather was wet and views obscured so we missed the panorama of the bay from the hotel site. Super traditional Japanese food served in the restaurant by friendly local girl who spoke good English. Spa facilities out and indoor traditional style enjoyed later in evening.
1 out of 5
by Nick from Tokyo

Expensive mistake

Posted Dec 29, 2013
Cons: Clean and refurnish the rooms and common areas, make the hotel non-smoking, add wifi everywhere, add on-demand shuttle service to the station.
Location: Be warned, this hotel is in Horita, not Beppu, on a winding mountain road far from anything. There is a Family Mart about 400m walk away.
While east facing rooms enjoy a commanding view of Beppu, the location of this hotel is only convenient if you have a car. It seems close to the center but the winding mountain roads mean it's a $20 cab ride to the station and attractions are far farther. There is a bus which runs hourly until mid evening so you will pay that every day. The hotel offers a shuttle three times in the morning and afternoon, but the return times are not at all convenient ending at 5 pm. The lobby area is nice if sparse. The restaurant was ok for the one visit, however you have to book in advance so very inflexible. Only a smoking room was available and it wreaked worse than a tobacco factory on fire. The twin beds were tiny and the furnishings were cheap, seemingly from the 1950s. Thank goodness there was an onsen in the basement (not that great, but adequate) as the bathroom was too small to turn. Wifi was non-existent.
4 out of 5
by Dennis from Florida, USA

Too far off beaten path

Posted Apr 2, 2013
Pros: Onsen
Cons: Location
The hotel and staff were good. The hotel is in the country so it's a taxi ride anywhere to do anything. The hotel does not have enough to keep one occupied. The wireless wifi works in app 300 sq feet of the lobby. Overall facilities were good, onsen is nice, tennis courts in disrepair. Staff spoke very little English. We had to call an interpreter on phone to discuss some things
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from honolulu

Very Nice Hotel, a little out of the way

Posted Jan 11, 2013
Very nice hotel. Location is a little out of the way, about a 1700 yen taxi ride up the hill from Beppu train station, where there are many restaurants, onsens, and activity. There was no food available at the hotel the night we arrived. Short walk to a convenience store where we picked up bentos. They provide a shuttle service to Beppu station leaving at 9, 10, and 11, and a shuttle service from Beppu station at 1, 3, and 5pm. Onsen at hotel was very good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 長崎県 日本

会員制のホテル

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: 部屋が和洋室で家族4人だったこともあり使いやすかった。
Location: 別府温泉の地獄めぐり 別府温泉温泉街 水族館
会員制のホテルのようで夕御飯が含まれていなかったためホテルのレストランに入ったが席が用意できるまで待たされた。他に食べに出るにも近場に食事ができるお店がなかった。
4 out of 5
by Ruby

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 11, 2014 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Giuseppe from Varese

Scomodo, isolato, caro

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Pros: panorama
Cons: acessibilità (free shuttle dalla stazione, non solo per la stazione), manutenzione esterni, apertura piscina.
Location: In cima alla collina, senza ristoranti, negozi o attrazioni nei dintorni, si resta prigionieri dopo una certa ora.
Albergo pretenzioso, personale parla e sopratutto comprende solo giapponese, breakfast caro e povero, onsen assolutamente nella media.
4 out of 5
by Tsang from Hk

Posted Apr 5, 2013 on Hotels
If u drive , worth to stay 1 night there with nice set dinner and breakfast !