Ratings based on 278 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kauai

Great hotel w/in walking distance to everything

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Had a great stay at this very charming hotel close to great restaurants and shops. They had a wonderful lobby that was very cozy to relax in during happy hour and breakfast. The staff was very knowledgeable about the hotel and the area. Our rooms were very large with a wonderful lanai. Nice heated pool and jacuzzi that stayed open until 11 pm. Housekeeping was very attentive to details. I'd definitely stay there again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Front desk, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Low budget place

Posted Oct 23, 2017
The room decor and general ambience of the hotel is very dated and would be unendurable for a design-minded individual.. The wifi connection is very poor (indeed non existant) at times) and made internet browsing and emailing an endless bore. It took me 4 hours to book my next hotel. The standard of the breakfast is very poor with nothing of much nutritional value on offer with no fresh produce. The hotel staff were friendly enough, however when my toilet blocked twice and the only help I was offered was a plunger, which the concierge very kindly left by my front door. i had to unblock the toilet myself. At night the loud banging of the plumbing kept me awake until the other residents had finished their showers for the evening and it had time to settle down. All in all not a great experience.
2 out of 5
by David

We were disappointed with Chantico

Posted Sep 9, 2017 on Hotels
We read the reviews and had mixed feelings about this roadside motor inn. Under no way is this a place that you would translate to resort, or destination property, it is simply put a old dated road side motor inn that folks would stay in lieu of your car. The room was hot, dirty and very dated. The furnishings appeared to be purchased at garage sales or thrift stores, that was the first visual. The hot room also had a smell of sweat, and mold. We debated leaving right then, unfortunately there was no rooms left in town and we had been wine tasting for hours. We weathered it out and couldn't wait to leave at 5am to put this dingy place in the rear view mirror. It's hard for me to image that the owner of this place charges almost $200 per night and won't spend anything in improvements to the place, because it could be great. Note to owner: if you don't want this place anymore, call me, I will buy it and make it the place it should be for this great little magical town.
5 out of 5
by Jeremy

Enjoyed very much

Posted Aug 31, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice with Historic styling, good location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint and lovely

Posted Aug 30, 2017 on Orbitz
Great place I have stayed here before Super duper
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Old world Spanish style

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Our room had such great character. It was clean and comfortable. The hotel staff was friendly and I loved the breakfast and glass of wine offered in the afternoon. The only thing I would have desired was a bigger parking lot. I like to park away from cars to prevent door dings and the lot was small so I couldn't find my "spot". That is my own quirkiness. Other than that I would definitely stay again. They are a diamond in the rough of all the overpriced hotels in the area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Beaumont Ca

Quaint hotel steps away from down town Ojai

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Pros: Character, location, pool
Cons: Non slip mats in front of room doors to keep people from falling when coming back from the pool.
Location: Steps away from downtown, Jeresy mikes subs near by. Bike rentals very close but will not rent bikes to really young childreN. Sunday farmers market.
We enjoyed our stay in Ojai at this small hotel, lots of character. The room was clean and comfortable for our 2 night stay. The pool and hot tub also clean and private. My only complaint was the slippery tile thru out the hotel , mostly the patio area when walking back into our room from the pool, a mat in front of the room doors would fix this, we slipped and almost fell many times going back into our room from the pool. Other than that is was a very nice hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orlando

Reasonably priced hotel near downtown ojai

Posted Aug 2, 2017
This hotel is comfortable the price is reasonable and its a block from downtown ojai. They offer a continental breakfast which is basically cereal and coffee. we enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017 by Ha, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Amazing place!

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Visiting Ojai for a class reunion and just a couple days of relaxation. The hotel was perfect and the staff was amazing. Made me feel welcome at home and treated me like family. Extremely accommodating I would recommend chantico to anyone wanting to stay in Ojai.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017 by ha, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback, it was nice to have you with us.