Ratings based on 274 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Low budget place

Posted Oct 23, 2017
The room decor and general ambience of the hotel is very dated and would be unendurable for a design-minded individual.. The wifi connection is very poor (indeed non existant) at times) and made internet browsing and emailing an endless bore. It took me 4 hours to book my next hotel. The standard of the breakfast is very poor with nothing of much nutritional value on offer with no fresh produce. The hotel staff were friendly enough, however when my toilet blocked twice and the only help I was offered was a plunger, which the concierge very kindly left by my front door. i had to unblock the toilet myself. At night the loud banging of the plumbing kept me awake until the other residents had finished their showers for the evening and it had time to settle down. All in all not a great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Old world Spanish style

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Our room had such great character. It was clean and comfortable. The hotel staff was friendly and I loved the breakfast and glass of wine offered in the afternoon. The only thing I would have desired was a bigger parking lot. I like to park away from cars to prevent door dings and the lot was small so I couldn't find my "spot". That is my own quirkiness. Other than that I would definitely stay again. They are a diamond in the rough of all the overpriced hotels in the area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Beaumont Ca

Quaint hotel steps away from down town Ojai

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Pros: Character, location, pool
Cons: Non slip mats in front of room doors to keep people from falling when coming back from the pool.
Location: Steps away from downtown, Jeresy mikes subs near by. Bike rentals very close but will not rent bikes to really young childreN. Sunday farmers market.
We enjoyed our stay in Ojai at this small hotel, lots of character. The room was clean and comfortable for our 2 night stay. The pool and hot tub also clean and private. My only complaint was the slippery tile thru out the hotel , mostly the patio area when walking back into our room from the pool, a mat in front of the room doors would fix this, we slipped and almost fell many times going back into our room from the pool. Other than that is was a very nice hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orlando

Reasonably priced hotel near downtown ojai

Posted Aug 2, 2017
This hotel is comfortable the price is reasonable and its a block from downtown ojai. They offer a continental breakfast which is basically cereal and coffee. we enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017 by Ha, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Amazing place!

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Visiting Ojai for a class reunion and just a couple days of relaxation. The hotel was perfect and the staff was amazing. Made me feel welcome at home and treated me like family. Extremely accommodating I would recommend chantico to anyone wanting to stay in Ojai.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017 by ha, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback, it was nice to have you with us.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Very disappointing.

Posted Jul 28, 2017
The room was not clean and very uncomfortable. Pillow were flat and old, the bed was uncomfortable, and very dirty. I which I would have paid more to stay somewhere else. I read the reviews and took a chance. Not happy
5 out of 5
by Trevor

Loads of charm + great service!

Posted Jul 20, 2017 on Hotels
We showed up late on a Saturday to find that I had only booked for the following two nights. Luckily there was a cancellation, but it was only for one queen bed... there are five us us in the family. The manager worked to find a solution, and we ended up sliding the top mattress on the floor and all camped out slumber-party style. It was great. Even so, they upgraded our room for the following two nights so we could have more space. The pool is small, but a great area. Views are amazing. 5 stars all the way.
4 out of 5
by Andrew

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
Great location in a cute, little town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for a night

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
This room was acceptable, but service was slow and check-in was disorganized. The location was fantastic and the facilities were beautiful, but old and in need of some restoration. Overall, I feel it's good for a night, but extending my stay would've been rough.