Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Good food, good people, good music, good life!

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: The area the people the food and the music.
Location: Beaches waterfalls fishing, and tours etc.....
So when we arrived after a long day of travel, we were greeted with a cold beer from the owners Janet and John. We felt an immediate connection with Janet, John, and the entire staff of the resort. The live entertainment, and food were excellent. We stayed for 10 days and met people from all over the world. We had a blast with all the locals. Yes it is possible to get to it with a two wheel drive trust me. There is a lot to do and see in the area. Very much enjoyed our stay. We will be back in the future but maybe as a local. Good food, good people, good music, good life. Thanks Bob and Teresa M.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Janet, Hotel Management
Thanks so much guys! Good people find good people!! Hope to see you back soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous ocean view!

Posted Mar 6, 2017
It's a little slice of heaven. Great nightly entertainment, lovely room, gorgeous sunsets. Paradise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Knoxville, TN

Lovely scenic small niche hotel perched on the hil

Posted Feb 5, 2017
This was my best hotel in Costa Rica this far. John and his wife are from Canada and are living the dream. Perched on a ridge on a hill, with only five rooms, but a lovely pool and restaurant and bar overlooking the ocean and daily sunsets, this was perfect. I especially loved the daily live entertainment in the restaurant-bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tonopah, Arizona

Nice ocean view.

Posted Dec 20, 2016
The Alma was a great hotel. The breakfast tasted great every morning, the view was awesome being a mile from the Pacific Ocean, but up on a hill so we could see every sunset. The staff was very friendly at the restaurant, and the nightly music was nice to listen to. I would definitely come here again. The Ojochal area is filled with great Tico's, American, Canadian, & European retirees that all get along great. A lot of people speak both English and Spanish in this area which is very helpful to us on vacation. Most menus in this area are in both languages.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Doesn't Get Any Better !

Posted Sep 29, 2016
My second time here and I wasn't disappointed. I discovered a new way to get there..FLY ! I didn't realize there was an airport nearby..a flight to or from San Jose a mere 20 minutes. The hosts and staff will go out of their ways to ensure your 100% comfort and satisfaction. You can't leave here unhappy! Like the big Austrian guy said, well be back!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view! Awesome restaurant and best staff!

Posted Sep 9, 2016
The room has an amazing view from your own private balcony. The owners and staff are highly accomatating and have a great restaurant. Wish we stayed longer!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2016 by Janet, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to review. We really appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing us!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Perfect way to close our Vacation

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Location: There are great beaches, the marine national park, a few costa rican restaurants.
The hotel was perfect for our last night in Costa Rica. We had a spectacular view and our room was very clean and had all the amenities we needed. We were allowed to check in early because the rooms were ready. Hotel staff was extremely nice and gave us great tips on where to go to the beach. The breakfast was good, the pool was also nice. I don't have a single complaint.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2016 by Janet, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your words and taking the time to review our property! We really appreciate your feedback! Hope to see you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from California

Great view rooms and friendly staff

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: Staff, price, food, views and convenient location
Cons: Cant think of anything...
Location: Minutes from beaches, adventure activities, fishing, other great places to eat.
Stayed 4 nights in mid August. Could not ask for a better experience. Easy check in and out. Great owners and staff, Bamboo Room eatery next door is part of the same property. Good food, drinks, live music every night, ocean view tables, convenient location. Highly recommend for couples.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2016 by Janet & John, Hotel Management
Hi Sean....really appreciate you taking the time to review our property and the restaurant. We have put our passion into Alma and Bamboo and it's nice to know we are on the right track!
5 out of 5
by Ryan from Atlanta

Even better than we expected!

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
We knew from our arrival that this was a special place. After parking, we walked to the reception area and were greeted by Juan Carlo. He was incredibly courteous and welcoming. We were showed to our rooms, where he pointed out little features that were available to us, and how to make our stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible. We dropped our suitcases and were immediately drawn to the VERY large balcony overlooking the immediate jungle and the crashing waves on the coast. The balcony was perfect for enjoying a cup of coffee and reading a book when the afternoon rains came in. The bed was comfy and the room felt very light and airy, thanks to the tall ceilings and white linens. The bathroom was more than adequate with a sizable shower area and taller counter for the sink. For dinner we opted to try the restaurant on-site the first night, The Bamboo Room. We loved it so much, we decided to skip the other well-reviewed and highly rated restaurants in the area because we felt like we found our spot. Breakfast each morning was simple, but very tasty. The views, as mentioned before, were an absolutely stunning way to start each day. This truly felt like we had been welcomed into the home of an old friend you haven't seen in a while. Do not waste you time and money looking at other more expensive places. This place really is the ALMA ("Soul" in Spanish) of Ojochal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so very much for taking the time to review our property! We know that holidays are very precious and we love being a part of those memories. Thank you for sharing with others!
4 out of 5
by Stephen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels