Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Doesn't Get Any Better !

Posted Sep 29, 2016
My second time here and I wasn't disappointed. I discovered a new way to get there..FLY ! I didn't realize there was an airport nearby..a flight to or from San Jose a mere 20 minutes. The hosts and staff will go out of their ways to ensure your 100% comfort and satisfaction. You can't leave here unhappy! Like the big Austrian guy said, well be back!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from costa rica

Excelente relación calidad - precio

Posted Sep 29, 2016
lugar muy tranquilo Atención muy buena Cerca de la playa Habitación espaciosa con lindas vistas El entretenimiento en el restaurante excelente Buen trato al turista nacional Hotel enfocado al turista extranjero
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Es un hotel para descansar cerca de las playas.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: su vista y su tranquilidad es un hotel para descansar no esta para los jovenes.
Cons: Que el personal colabore con las maletas, ademas en la habitación no hay vasos, solicite dos copas y me las prestaron muy atentamente.
Location: tour de ballenas, pesca,restaurantes de una variedad de comidas
No tuve colaboración del personal al llegar al hotel para que me ayudaran con las maletas de mi esposa y las mías, me indicaron que estaban muy ocupados en la cocina, fue un muy mal comienzo. Es un lugar muy agradable con muy buena música en vivo, La comida es muy buena con precios accesibles. No me agrado que el menú estuviera escrito únicamente en Ingles, recomienda anotarlo tambien en español.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great view! Awesome restaurant and best staff!

Posted Sep 9, 2016
The room has an amazing view from your own private balcony. The owners and staff are highly accomatating and have a great restaurant. Wish we stayed longer!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2016 by Janet, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to review. We really appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing us!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Perfect way to close our Vacation

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Location: There are great beaches, the marine national park, a few costa rican restaurants.
The hotel was perfect for our last night in Costa Rica. We had a spectacular view and our room was very clean and had all the amenities we needed. We were allowed to check in early because the rooms were ready. Hotel staff was extremely nice and gave us great tips on where to go to the beach. The breakfast was good, the pool was also nice. I don't have a single complaint.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2016 by Janet, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your words and taking the time to review our property! We really appreciate your feedback! Hope to see you again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Great view rooms and friendly staff

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: Staff, price, food, views and convenient location
Cons: Cant think of anything...
Location: Minutes from beaches, adventure activities, fishing, other great places to eat.
Stayed 4 nights in mid August. Could not ask for a better experience. Easy check in and out. Great owners and staff, Bamboo Room eatery next door is part of the same property. Good food, drinks, live music every night, ocean view tables, convenient location. Highly recommend for couples.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2016 by Janet & John, Hotel Management
Hi Sean....really appreciate you taking the time to review our property and the restaurant. We have put our passion into Alma and Bamboo and it's nice to know we are on the right track!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Un lugar maravilloso. Volvere.

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: La ubicacion es unica. Una vista inigualable porque esta en lo alto de la montana.
Cons: La presencia de las habitaciones.Cambiaron lamparas y todavia se ven los agujeros/marcas de los anclajes de las viejas. Necesitan pintar las habitaci
Lo mejor es la ubicacion del hotel y de sus instalaciones (piscina, terraza, restaurante). La vista desde las habitaciones es espectacular. Solo deben mejorar la presencia de las habitaciones. Se ven viejas.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by Janet, Hotel Management
Gracias por su colaboración en nuestra propiedad usted. Agradecemos sus comentarios y alegre su disfrutaron. En lo que respecta a las salas de estar de edad, siento que se sienta así. Nosotros usamos ropa de cama de muy alta calidad, todo nuevo, y las habitaciones no son muy antiguos. A renovar también debe añadir un poco para el costo de su estancia, y con esta siendo Costa Rica, más permanecer al aire libre en lugar de en el interior. Nos aseguramos de que se mantengan, pantallas reemplazados hace tan sólo unas semanas, y siempre se aseguran de que cumplan con nuestras normas estrictas. El restaurante en sí se abrió en enero y que no se suman a la tarifa de la habitación a pesar de que hemos añadido ideadas.
5 out of 5
by Ryan from Atlanta

Even better than we expected!

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
We knew from our arrival that this was a special place. After parking, we walked to the reception area and were greeted by Juan Carlo. He was incredibly courteous and welcoming. We were showed to our rooms, where he pointed out little features that were available to us, and how to make our stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible. We dropped our suitcases and were immediately drawn to the VERY large balcony overlooking the immediate jungle and the crashing waves on the coast. The balcony was perfect for enjoying a cup of coffee and reading a book when the afternoon rains came in. The bed was comfy and the room felt very light and airy, thanks to the tall ceilings and white linens. The bathroom was more than adequate with a sizable shower area and taller counter for the sink. For dinner we opted to try the restaurant on-site the first night, The Bamboo Room. We loved it so much, we decided to skip the other well-reviewed and highly rated restaurants in the area because we felt like we found our spot. Breakfast each morning was simple, but very tasty. The views, as mentioned before, were an absolutely stunning way to start each day. This truly felt like we had been welcomed into the home of an old friend you haven't seen in a while. Do not waste you time and money looking at other more expensive places. This place really is the ALMA ("Soul" in Spanish) of Ojochal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so very much for taking the time to review our property! We know that holidays are very precious and we love being a part of those memories. Thank you for sharing with others!
4 out of 5
by Stephen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by fausto from san Jose de Costa Rica

recomendable 100%. permite mascotas

Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Hotels
Muy buena experiencia . El hotel es muy bueno y agradable. Se encuentra a nuevo , muy bien cuidado y con detalles de armonía .