Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tonopah, Arizona

Nice ocean view.

Posted Dec 20, 2016
The Alma was a great hotel. The breakfast tasted great every morning, the view was awesome being a mile from the Pacific Ocean, but up on a hill so we could see every sunset. The staff was very friendly at the restaurant, and the nightly music was nice to listen to. I would definitely come here again. The Ojochal area is filled with great Tico's, American, Canadian, & European retirees that all get along great. A lot of people speak both English and Spanish in this area which is very helpful to us on vacation. Most menus in this area are in both languages.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Doesn't Get Any Better !

Posted Sep 29, 2016
My second time here and I wasn't disappointed. I discovered a new way to get there..FLY ! I didn't realize there was an airport nearby..a flight to or from San Jose a mere 20 minutes. The hosts and staff will go out of their ways to ensure your 100% comfort and satisfaction. You can't leave here unhappy! Like the big Austrian guy said, well be back!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view! Awesome restaurant and best staff!

Posted Sep 9, 2016
The room has an amazing view from your own private balcony. The owners and staff are highly accomatating and have a great restaurant. Wish we stayed longer!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2016 by Janet, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to review. We really appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing us!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Perfect way to close our Vacation

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Location: There are great beaches, the marine national park, a few costa rican restaurants.
The hotel was perfect for our last night in Costa Rica. We had a spectacular view and our room was very clean and had all the amenities we needed. We were allowed to check in early because the rooms were ready. Hotel staff was extremely nice and gave us great tips on where to go to the beach. The breakfast was good, the pool was also nice. I don't have a single complaint.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2016 by Janet, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your words and taking the time to review our property! We really appreciate your feedback! Hope to see you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from California

Great view rooms and friendly staff

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: Staff, price, food, views and convenient location
Cons: Cant think of anything...
Location: Minutes from beaches, adventure activities, fishing, other great places to eat.
Stayed 4 nights in mid August. Could not ask for a better experience. Easy check in and out. Great owners and staff, Bamboo Room eatery next door is part of the same property. Good food, drinks, live music every night, ocean view tables, convenient location. Highly recommend for couples.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2016 by Janet & John, Hotel Management
Hi Sean....really appreciate you taking the time to review our property and the restaurant. We have put our passion into Alma and Bamboo and it's nice to know we are on the right track!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC, Canada

Beautiful sunset views

Posted Mar 12, 2016
We stayed here for 3 nights and it was fantastic. We spent 2 nights in an upper level room which had an amazing balcony for watching the sunsets. We enjoyed it so much we stayed an extra night in one of the more spacious downstairs rooms. The onsite resteraunt was also good, and had live music every night, try the fish tacos! Owners are lovely and full of good recommendations for local activities and sights. Staff was friendly and accomodating. By far one of the best places we stayed in Costa Rica!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cartargo, Costa Rica

excellent Stay

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Location, the views are paradise. The room is well equip and very clean. Lovely white sheets! Helpful staff and nice pool. Good areas to sit and take
Cons: Nothing!!!!
Location: The location is close to the beaches and retardants. We also found Alturas Wildlife Sanctuary. This is a great place to go to see wildlife close up.
This was our second time staying at the hotel and it was as great as before.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cartago

Peace & Tranquility

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: A teaspoon with the coffee making facilities
Location: Paradise, with fantastic unspoiled beaches close
If you are looking for a relaxing break look no further Alma is the hotel for you! All rooms with views across tree tops and the ocean behind, watch the sun go down as the forest below comes to life. Take breakfast while macaw's fly through the tree tops and monkeys play beneath. If you enjoy fine dining at reasonable prices you will enjoy the evening meal, served in a fantastic setting at the sister hotel El Castillo only 2 minutes away. All this and some of Costa Rica's finest beaches within easy reach, Close to Paradise!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mario from San Jose, Costa Rica

Very good

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: View, cleaness
Cons: breakfast
Location: There is a lot of good restaurants and tours
We stayed for one night and it was a nice experience. The only thing that we don't like was breakfast because there was no option and very little quatities of food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lynn from France

Small, boutique hotel overlooking the Pacific.

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: Staying in this small hotel, you felt welcomed and valued. Staff learnt your name quickly and used it.
Cons: It was disappointing that although a restaurant was advertised, it didn't exist at this location. There was one at the sister hotel down the road.
Location: Several beaches in this area and it was possible to reach the Osa Peninsula too within an hour to take a tour.
Stayed here for 6 nights in February 2014 in a comfortable, large room with overhead fan and air-conditioning. Staff and owner were very friendly, bringing water to you unasked and offering other drinks as well when you were sitting by the lovely pool. Sunsets were beautiful from the bar over the Pacific Ocean. Birdlife was spectacular from the gardens and the open air restaurant. Hotel is situated on top of a hill, roughly 1km up a gravelled road which is steep in places, but easily negotiable if you take your time. Food is available at the sister hotel in the evenings, about 600 metres away and there are plenty of restaurants in the surrounding area, the closest being a 15 minute walk. Having the use of a vehicle would be advantageous to explore the area and get to beaches etc. We loved the beach at Pinuela, plenty of shade but it is in the Marine Conservation area with a warden, so there is a small charge until 4pm.