Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice upscale hotel

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
If you are tired of checking for moist and smelly pillows in this humid climate and if you can treat yourself you something more pricey for a while, i doubt you will be disappointed here. This little boutique hotel comes with style, designer elements, great ocean view, beautiful pool area and great attention and service from the dedicated staff. We were lucky to get one of the larger rooms and felt like royals. Beautiful comfortable bed. A couple of (i believe fair) negatives to point out for a hotel in this price segment are: the lack of tv in the room and a not as fancy or filling breakfast as you might expect. The proximity to the Costanera road might disturb some, but we had a fairly quiet night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 12, 2016
We had a great room and the view was amazing. We were there in the rainy season so sometimes the service was a little slow, especially at dinner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, OH

Perfect Getaway

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Orbitz
I love El Castillo! everything about it was perfect. from the hotel, to the amazing view, and the wonderful staff. everyone there is so friendly and helpful. they always want to make sure you have a fantastic day. this hotel has the perfect view along with the infinity pool that you can watch the sunset in. the food was also delicious. loved breakfast every morning. this is definitely the place you'd want to stay if you want to relax and or go on an adventure. GM scott was always talking to every guest that walks in, and the staff goes above and beyond! my husband and I went for our honeymoon. I will definitely miss this place and already looking forward to our next trip back!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

The nicest place we have ever stayed. Heaven!

Posted Jul 8, 2016
El Catillo is a stunning hotel! The staff could not have done more, they were friendly and kind and so helpful! They even came to collect us from Quepos (about an hour away) when we were struggling to get there and welcomed us with a delicious cocktail when we arrived! The hotel has a phenomenal view over the infinity pool to the Pacific Ocean and there are some beautiful sunsets. It is easy to park a car, arrange tours, and walk to lovely local beaches. We got a room upgrade and had a lovely room with a huge, comfortable bed. The staff kept the room clean and even did laundry for us. The restaurant serves delicious food which is not too expensive and the barman makes fantastic cocktails. We can't wait to come back and stay here again, we never wanted to leave! Thank you to all the fantastic staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 6, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from jacksonville, fl

Better than anticipated!

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Our stay at El Castillo was something we will remember until our next trip back! The hotel is immaculate overlooking the ocean and you have the rain forest directly behind you which make for some amazing pics! Hotel staff were super friendly and always looking to make our stay more pleasurable! Can not say enough about how great this place is!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Breath-taking!

Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
Best hotel we've stayed in in Costa Rica! Recently renovated 5-room boutique with infinity pool overlooking the beach. delish passion fruit mojitos! Great service! They even helped us get my boyfriends forgotten wallet from previous hotel in Sierpe!
5 out of 5
by Rick Culleton from Austin, Texas

Don't miss out on this.

Posted Mar 19, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely Amazing. The view, the suite, the service, the food. It was all fantastic. It's like staying in a private home with lots of great people taking care of you every minute of the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

One of a kind!

Posted Jan 26, 2016
I surprised my wife with a weekend getaway for our anniversary at El Castillo and now she considers me to be the most romantic man in the world! That's all I need to say about this amazing place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor, MI

Posted Jan 14, 2016
If you are thinking about Drake Bay, consider this instead. You'll save a whole lot of money, have a first class hotel and spectacular views, great food and be within 45 minutes to Sierpe where you can take a day trip to Corcovado or Cano Island. We loved it!