Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

One of a kind!

Posted Jan 26, 2016
I surprised my wife with a weekend getaway for our anniversary at El Castillo and now she considers me to be the most romantic man in the world! That's all I need to say about this amazing place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor, MI

Posted Jan 14, 2016
If you are thinking about Drake Bay, consider this instead. You'll save a whole lot of money, have a first class hotel and spectacular views, great food and be within 45 minutes to Sierpe where you can take a day trip to Corcovado or Cano Island. We loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Incredible view. Very helpful stuff. Great food. Overall great experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from seattle

Three days in Paradise!

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Location: We were close to some outstanding restaurants in the little town of Ojochal. We also went to beautiful beaches, took a river boat tour with Kokopel.
We loved staying here. it was a romantic, pampered experience. Manager Scott made us feel very welcome and the wonderful staff were warm and helpful and friendly. The view and the pool and the surroundings are simply heavenly. I would recommend it very highly to anyone seeking an adult-only, beautifully appointed small boutique hotel in a lush, gorgeous setting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from michigan

Nice hotel with ocean view

Posted Aug 22, 2015
El castillo had an amazing view of the ocean and the best sunsets in ojochal. The location is remote but if your looking to really see costa rica this is the place. Off the beaten path but close to the big cities to do things as well. We suggest renting a car otherwise transportation can be hard and getting around difficult. The staff here wax excellent and set up all our tours for us. The hotel is getting a little outdated but still nice. The owners are renevating in the coming months there plans look amazing we will definitely be back to check it out again. The hotel resturant had good food but I would suggest venturing out into ojochal as well since it is becoming well know for its fine dining. The rooms are nice if a little small and the terrace has great views. They also have an infinity pool which we swam in no one else was around and it was refreshing and relaxing and views again great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2015 by Scott, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback. We are excited to announce Hotel El Castillo which opened in 2008, is undergoing an extensive makeover and entering the luxury hotel market. Renovations will include a fresh new look, upgrading all furniture, fixtures, linens and towels. And a new Guest Only Deck.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Lovely Hotel, Awesome Views, Excellent Food

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: pool, food, staff
Cons: transport like a golf-cart
Location: The location is up a mountain with the best views in the entire area, exotic birds can be seen as well, the town of Uvita is nearby for kayaking
My husband and I spent our wedding anniversary in Costa Rico and most of the time was spent at El Castillo Hotel. The hotel was very clean, decorated with hand painted art from local artists, really nice. The hotel room was nice and clean however our room had a globe missing on the ceiling fan and their was some evidence that something had been on the wall but was ripped down. On our first night which was a Monday night the hotel restaurant was closed and we were advised to consider having dinner at a local bar across the way. After traveling three hours we were very tired, thirsty and hungry!!! SO we decided to take the recommendation and walk the hill to this recommended bar/restaurant. The hill is not paved, very rocky and there are no sidewalks in Costa Rica. People walk a lot and its very dangerous walking in grass and towards on coming traffic. Needless to say that was a experience!! The rest of the trip was AWESOME!!! The food was GREAT and the staff, Jose, was the absolute BEST!!! The pool was so welcoming and enticing that we had to drag ourselves out of it to eat. On our last day we met the owner, Roul, who was a BLAST and super nice to my husband and I. We will definitely be returning but not in the rainy season…..it rained so hard on the last day we were there (our actual anniversary) that the lights went out for a few hours and we couldn't get into the pool…..BUMMER!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by George from concord nc

One night stay....will definitely return

Posted Mar 28, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel with excellent view of Pacific ocean from most of the rooms. Infinity pool also overlooks ocean. Great food and professional staff. Little tricky to find road to hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Houston

The view was awesome.

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: The view
Cons: Rooms updated
Location: Fishing, hiking, beaches, restaurants
The view over the Pacific was outstanding as were the sunsets. The staff and management was very attentive and friendly. The rooms were clean but needed some upkeep at this time. I would return again to enjoy this location for the area has so many activities available and great restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Anatole from Montreal

A place to be to relax and for good food in Costa Rica

Posted Feb 28, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderfull place to relax and let it be while having incredible view in a superb infinity pool. A WOW effect for sure! Food is very good, service excellent and room comfortable Highly recommand for a quiet and relaxing vacation. Ojochal is a small village but better to have a car to visit around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pensacola Beach, FL

Tropical fantasy hotel

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: The bed, the views, the pool, the people, the breakfast.
Cons: Though it didn't impact my comfort, there are a lot of green upgrades to be made that would make me feel less guilty.
Location: There are tours and the beach but why leave paradise?
Hotel is owners idea of tropical paradise. 5 rooms, 2 are suites. Perched on a cliff, overlooking the mouth of a large river and the Pacific. The suite we had was big, light, and airy. Comfy bed and pillows. Huge tub, though the drain was broken and it would take forever to fill it. Balconies at the front and back of the suite. Great breakfast, lunch and dinner are Italian /Mediterranean themed and good, not great, but overpriced The infinity pool was everything you would ever want in a pool. Flocks of scarlet macaws flew by early and late in the day. Beautiful place to watch sunset. Beautiful downstairs common area. A great fantasy getaway, however not a green hotel. Too buggy to leave all the windows open, so you run the air conditioning constantly, fighting the gaps in the doors and windows. Glad I wasn't paying the electric bill. Some other maintenance issues. Property is on the market, so go soon. Makes a great honeymoon fantasy.