Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Nice hotel but no private beach

Posted Dec 28, 2016
It said on the website that it had private beach(most important reason we choose this hotel) but that's not true also the standard room doesn't have tv or a/c so be careful when choosing the excellent rate on expedia because then you have to upgrade it cause if not you will only have a fan on 95 F temperatures.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2017 by John, GM, Hotel Management
Hi Cristina, I appreciate your review of our hotel. I am surprised you thought we had a private beach. The main reason we are named Hotel Lookout is we are located above Playa Tortuga and feature expansive Ocean Views. No beach in Costa Rica is private (it is a law)--which is awesome for you as you can visit and see all the beaches. Tortuga is the first of 9 beaches in our area. It is our hope that you will enjoy nature while you are here. Therefore, no phones in the rooms. TVs and Air Conditioning in 10 of our 12 rooms. As our temperatures range from the 70s at night to the high 80s in the day, most guests find Air conditioning a nice option, but not necessary. Although I think all of this is clearly stated, I will review the website content. Again, thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent an reasonably priced hotel.

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Excellent and reasonably priced hotel for a one night stay in preparation for catching the boat from Sierpe to Drakes Bay. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the food was GREAT!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2016 by John, GM, Hotel Management
Greetings, I am So glad you enjoyed your stay. We consider ourselves the Gateway to Osa and Adventure. Thank you for choosing Hotel Lookout.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Comfortable hotel with nice gardens

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Beautiful gardens, nice pool, friendly staff
Cons: Rooms need some up keep and maintenance attention given to them.
Location: Not much to do unless you drive about 2 miles to Ojochal or 8 miles to Uvita.
My wife and I stayed two nights at Hotel Lookout. The hotel sits at the top of a hill with a very steep, long and rock (not stones) road. We wondered where in the world this treacherous road was leading. We booked a deluxe room, but soon realized that the room didn't have air conditioning or a tv. The owner was able to give us an upgrade to a room with AC and a tv for an additional $25/night. The room was big, but the AC worked, but not as good as all the other hotels we stayed at. The toilet handle would continuously get stuck and we would have to jiggle the handle to get it to fill and stop running continuously. There were also several ants in the room and couldn't tell where they were coming from. The wi-fi signal was also very weak. We could only ever get 1 bar of signal strength in our room. The hotel gardens are beautiful which was our favorite part of the property. The pool was nice, but small. We had breakfast included with our stay. The breakfast on the first morning was good, but the staff was stingy with the coffee and we didn't get juice. The second morning was better with coffee refills and juice. Not sure what happened between the 2 mornings because the same staff member served us. Also, there's not much to do unless you drive about 2 miles to Ojochal or 8 miles to Uvita. As I stated earlier, the hotel was nice, but could have been better. I would neitherencourage nor discourage anyone from staying at Hotel Lookout.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Amazing view

Posted Aug 8, 2016
The Look out hotel has an amazing view. It is a quit place to enjoy Nature and relax. The personal is really friendly and very helpful. I recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2016 by John, Hotel Management
Thank you Ursula, we appreciate you staying with us. New menu items and hiking trails are coming soon. We hope to welcome you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Great customer service, everybody was super nice. Clean rooms, the pool was great and in general it has a great service, good food too. I traveled with my family and found everything quite nice, I would reserve again in this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Gorgeous little hotel nestled in the jungle

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Beautiful hotel with great staff! We found the location pretty easy and ended up staying an extra night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oustic

Great location

Posted Jan 26, 2016
This hotel is situated off the main highway and has some spectacular views. The facility is very clean and the lawn is very soft They have some banana trees on the property and lots of birds as well
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great views and close to what we needed!!!

Posted Aug 8, 2015
The hotel staff was great. Food was fabulous. Marvaleous views. The only negative is water pressure was extremely low while showering and hot (warm) showing water was sporadic. Everything else was 4-5 stars!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A bargain!

Posted Feb 26, 2014
First keep in mind that it is a 3 star hotel, so you will have to do with out some luxuries like, AC (in the lower priced rooms) and consistent water pressure. However, the rooms were nice, clean, and comfortable. The grounds at the hotel were beautiful and the couple that own the hotel are friendly and good cooks!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mary from orlando, fl

nice hotel near the beach, great breakfast

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Pros: the view, the landscape, the breakfast
Cons: directions and signs for locating hotel while driving. wall unit for ac in all rooms
Location: marina ballena? national park uvita waterfall horse back rides through jungle and on beach zipline tours grocery market and bar
the hotel was alittle hard to find. we passed it twice. there could be more and bigger signs on the road to help. the staff was very nice and helpful. the room was hot (ours had no wall unit only a fan) but it was nice to keep the windows open and hear the ocean and birds. lots of bird watching and beautiful lanscape. free breakfast!! eggs, fruit, yogurt, beans and rice, coffee OJ! really nice. not much excitement but good for a couple wanting to relax. beautiful beach and national park within minutes. staff helped with finding activities with no problem :) i would recommend to anyone wanting a nice place to rest after along day of costa rican adventures