Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Anna from Barcelona

Buena relación calidad/precio. Limpio y bonito.

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
Buen hotel, bien localizado y con un servicio excelente gracias a Enzo. Magnífica piscina. Tan solo echamos de menos TV y wifi dentro de la habitación.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Spot

Posted Mar 25, 2016
This hotel is obviously a labor of love for owners Enzo and his wife. The individual casitas are well designed, spacious, and comfortable. Grounds and pool are beautiful and it was like living in the jungle (comfortably) with howler monkeys, iguanas, and all types of exotic birds sharing the surroundings. Enzo could not have been more helpful with information about the area. And the food is excellent, both for the included breakfast and for dinner. I would recommend this hotel to everyone staying in the area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Beautiful, peaceful and restful boutique hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Pros: Very quiet, away from busy touristy places. The pool located in the middle of the garden and a small outside lounge area with pool table and TV.
Cons: Fan outside the casitas, it was too hot to sit outside, and more fans in the restaurant area.
Location: Great restaurants, beautiful beaches, waterfalls, horseback riding, hiking, ATVing, zipline
The owners Enzo and Geneth are a wonderful warm, friendly and helpful couple. The place is magical. The rooms, or as they are called casitas, are located in a very quiet and gorgeous location. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. It was great to have AC, you don't get that every where in CR. Breakfast is good and you have to try the restaurant in the evening, wonderful Italian dishes.
5 out of 5
by Romain

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 1, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel "costoso" Vs Servicio recibido

Posted Apr 13, 2015 on Hotels
Un Hotel atendido por su dueño. Es dificil de llegar a este y solo lo haces si tienes un GPS. El dueño te hace esperar para atender el Check In porque primero esta la atención de su restaurante. Para ir a las habitaciones es complicado porque hay que bajar muchas escaleras a través de una montaña y si esta de noche se hace difícil. La habitación no tiene TV y el dueño no te deja prender el ventilador y aire acondicionado al mismo tiempo lo cual a mi punto de ver es ilógico.
5 out of 5
by robert from Phoenix

Comfortable accommodations – beautiful setting –

Posted Mar 2, 2015 on Hotels
Comfortable accommodations – beautiful setting – outstanding hospitality Tucked away in a very beautiful setting amongst the toucans, blue morpho butterflies, soaring trees and Verde green everywhere you will find quaint and impeccably clean cabins. We immediately felt at home not only because of the comfortable setting, but equally because of our very gracious host, Enzo and his wife. The entire property is spotless and Enzo will ensure that you are well taken care of from start to finish. Only a short drive to the beaches and restaurants, we found this a wonderful place to stay as it offered comfortable accommodation in a serene and tranquil setting just minutes from the beaches and other activities. We will most certainly be back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Perfect Costa Rican Experience

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: It has a real Costa Rican charm. You feel like you are living in the village rather than stuck at some big concrete walled off resort.
Cons: The cabins are located on a hillside, so they may be a challenged to those with mobility issues.
Location: It is a perfect location to relax, emerse yourself in nature, and visit the natural sites of Costa Rica. Not a party location.
The owner, Enzo, is one of the most accomidating and gracious owner I have ever met. He answered ALL my questions and made sure every need was met. The hotel is made up of nice cabins on a pretty hillside. Enzo's can do attitude and charm made me feel special. I definitely be back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from near Lake Tahoe, California, USA

Wonderful, friendly place in the forest near beach

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Pros: Location. Very nice food and friendly, helpful owners. Comfortable beds. Nice bathroom. Our own little porch and walking around to spy birds.
Cons: Can't think of anything. Perhaps a better sign for the turnoff from the main road.
Location: Just off the main highway on the southern pacific coast. Road is in good shape. Great beaches and birdwatching. Several great restaurants nearby.
We had a wonderful stay at Mamma e Papa! Enzo and his wife are friendly and helpful. Their food was fresh and tasty. The views from the open air restaurant were lovely. This place is a little off the beaten path in Ojochal and that made it perfect for us. We had our own little 'cabin' that was modern, clean and comfortable and enjoyed lounging in the hammock on our porch after a day exploring the beaches of Ballena, Uvita, etc. Ventana was our favorite. Go at low tide when they are broad and virtually empty. The pool at Mamma e Papa was the perfect temperature and we used it frequently. After dinner we played pool. Morning and evening were great times for birdwatching and I spied several new species right on the grounds. We would love to return some day and have already recommended Mamma e Papa to others traveling in the area.
4 out of 5
by Wolfgang from Stuttgart

Nice hotel with good service

Posted Feb 10, 2015 on Hotels
Enzo, the chef and owner of the hotel ensured a very nice stay. The hotel is clean and has agiid sevice, the cabanitas are quite and give you the opportunity to feel like staying in the middle if the rain forest when you hear all the birds and animals at night, and nothing else. Tje rooms are clean, beds are good abd comfortable, some people migjt miss the TV or refrigerator in the room. But I can clearöy recommend!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 25, 2015
A perfect place just to relax and enjoy the silent.