Ratings based on 223 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
51% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't think it was worth the money,,

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly staff, nice kichenette, terrible wifi, Place could use reno, drpping water from deck upstairs to our deck, sqeaky floor. Was told that we were given spa cards that we weren't, was told that we had to pay, eventually they believed us and waived fee. Was about to rent pedal boats, both were broken, no hours of service shown ar the bar by the beach, quite a bit of unattended children at the pool area and hot tub area, if you are adults seeking quiet pool area, this isnt a place for you. Dont think its worth the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs renovation!

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Room, and food was good!
Cons: Big Renovation!
The rooms was nice and well kept on the newer side. The Resort overall needs a major renovation, Spa closed, one pool closed, and restaurant closes early when they feel like it even in the busy season. Food was really good but service was terrible.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island

Not Ready Return As A Resort Yet

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Rooms and views of the Lake
Cons: See comments above. The ownership needs to get its act together before taking our money.
Location: This is a family oriented mixed use resort and not suitable for the "romantic getaway" it bills on its web site.
This mixed time share and hotel facility was in receivership and purchased by Chinese interests some 15 months ago, It was highly evident that the ownership had NOT prepared for this summer. The facility was extremely understaffed and undertrained from the front office to housekeeping. There was NO general manager only department managers that were still attempting to figure out policy guidelines and responsibilities evident by the job description book being on display when we checked out and the confusion as to what hotel guests were responsible for vs time share guests insofar as disposal of garbage and daily housekeeping was concerned. It was starkly contrasted to what this wonderful resort was many years ago. It was certainly evident that the dining facility lacked. The on line advertising grossly exaggerates the services. The menu was pub fare featuring a $100 burger prepared to ones liking!!!! Oh and a Chinese buffet that took place in April??? We booked a Executive Villa at a cost of $665 for two nights supposedly with a full view of the lake which we did not have did not get and were not offered an alternate. Check out time was 10AM but check in time was 4PM. Many guests had to wait for their rooms since they (the rooms) were not ready???? Not surprising given the number of housekeeping staff they have on staff and the number of rooms they have to prepare for incoming guests.... Sadly, we will not return to Lake Okanagan Resort. We did NOT receive value for our money
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouvr, BC

A nice resort with beautiful lake views.

Posted Aug 2, 2016
The hotel is a bit old. The interior room is old but it's super clean. The kitchen is clean, as well as the bathroom and towels too. I am very impressed. The receptionists are very helpful and friendly. We love the golf course and the outdoor pool. We will definitely return for a gateway vacation soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Alan from Bedfordshire, UK

A scary ride or an empty stomach

Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
I realize that the kitchens and restaurants of hotels and resorts have to close at some time, but feel that there is an obligation to be clear as to when that time is. Checked in by 20.10 after negotiating the dangerous road-works on the highway, and was told that 'we just had time to get to the restaurant for food, as the kitchen stops taking orders at 21.00'. Got to the restaurant at 20.25, only to be told by the waitress that she 'thought the kitchen had closed'. We told her of the closing time we had been advised of, but, although she went and spoke with the kitchen, they were insistent that they could not serve us. The discussion that followed advised us that 21.00 is the time the restaurant gives 'to allow customers to finish their drinks, etc.' Apparently, 'the check-in staff get this wrong all of the time' and that we shouldn't have been advised of that time. The waitress, when asked if there were any alternative eateries nearby, said that she 'thought there were a couple of places' to the north but that she 'wasn't sure about their closing times'. With no other alternative, we were forced to drive into Kelowna to eat, thus negotiating the precarious highway two more times, the return journey being in the dark.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not return.

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
For such a beautiful hotel and a steep price, we were disappointed by the lack of forethought and state of our room. The hotel was fairly empty as it was low season yet we were given a room that had a hole in the ceiling of the shower exposing the pipes, issues with being locked out due to a double key entrance were constant. Our stay was for only 2 days and we arrived at 1130 pm after an 8 hour drive. We were locked out with 3 separate trips back to the front desk. The next morning we were hungry - the restaurant was closed to a private function and yet the store didn't stock the basics. Not even bread. So we were forced to drive another 1/2 hour to get groceries. Had our stay been longer, the inconveniences wouldn't have mattered as much. But with only 48 hours, we expected better for the money we paid. The hotel offered us (ironically) free appetizers at the restaurant after we stocked up on groceries. And offered for us to spend another hour or two switching rooms - which would have further eaten in to precious time. We declined and were given no further redress for the ineptitude and shoddy stay. I'd never stay here again. There are several better options in west Kelowna for better value. The best part of the area is the company who offers rental equipment on the water - which has no affiliation to the hotel.
4 out of 5
by Christopher from Hailsham, East Sussex

Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
Location of room was poor as too far away for amenities, the service at reception was poor as initially given wrong room key and Mis information however the service in restaurant was spot on friendly and welcoming. Food was great, beautiful surroundings but accommodation was in need of repair in some places and in need of updating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Taking the positives

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Pros: Views & dock
Cons: Rooms & facilities need overhaul. Boats & water toys need maintenance/sorting team!
Location: Serious road works make getting to/from resort a bit of a challenge
The resort is "tired" however the staff were great & the views are fantastic. We understand the resort is under new ownership & is on the rebuild. If all goes according to plan it will be a great spot in a year or two, but there's some work to be done!!. We didn't read previous reviews before booking (fortunately!) but seems like improvements have already been made since & as long as your expectations aren't 5 star, nice place to kick back for a couple of days. Mason & the Tiki bar on the water excellent & very entertaining - good margaritas & great laughs! Classic reception comment sums it up pretty well if expectations are high - "our job is to make guests as least angry as possible"!!! Overall an amusing stay but not on the recommendation list - yet!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too far away from everywhere....

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: The staff was very friendly and the room was clean
Cons: Everything!
Place is old - not always a bad thing but the restaurants were not great. Menus were printed paper and was expensive for what you got. And the spa is no longer there - so nothing for us to book. We had to drive to Kelowna. The outside hot tub was closed and so was the pool by our building. The hiking trails are not really accessible or maybe they were under construction - but also disappointing. And it was very far away from anywhere - if you wanted some place to eat you had to drive out on a road that is not great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2016 by Manager , Hotel Management
Dear, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. I apologize that your stay was sub par and I definitely agree that driving to town can be inconvenient, however that is what makes our location a favorite for guests who are looking for a serene and private get away. Your feedback was shared with our team as we are dedicated to making improvements necessary to our resort. Kind Regards, Lake Okanagan Resort