Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice position in centre of small market town.

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: The central position.
Cons: The background mechanical noise. The bed seriously needs to be sorted.
Location: The location is perfect for exploring North Devon. Beautiful walks. Pub lunches and evening meals. Tarka Trail.
We booked to stay at The George because of the Hatherleigh Carnival. The experience was mixed. The carnival was brilliant and full of atmosphere. The George was clean and in a good position. We expected there to be noise from the Carnival atmosphere during the night. But there was a noise from the hotel that kept going on - a water system/heating or similar and it happened several times during the night. The bed was awful a very thin mattress that stood about 8" in all off the ground. Hence a bad back the next day... While having our breakfast the hoover was in full operation beside us and another employee was busy cleaning off tables. We were pleased to leave as it was not relaxing. We felt we were in the way. If you take booking appointments for bed and breakfast you have to accommodate your client. People have weekend breaks to relax and the ambience at breakfast time is important. Perhaps they should move the dining area away from the bar if they want to retain guests or process their workload after the guests have had their breakfast which after all they have paid for.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2016 on Hotels
very atmospheric with lovely owners, dinner & wine excellent and very reasonably priced. They have managed to recreate a sense of age and character with reclaimed materials following the very sad inferno which destroyed the original.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely welcoming hotel by the Tarka Trail/DevonC2C

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Good bike storage and excellent food including delicious vegan evening meal prepared especially for my daughter. Good to give advance notice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in centre of pretty village

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: As above
Cons: Can't think of anything in particular.
Location: Lots of pretty villages and lovely countryside.
Comfortable hotel, nice and efficient staff and delicious breakfasts. Good parking.
5 out of 5
by Ryan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Viktor from Orlando

A delight in Devon!

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel has an old look but it is completely modern. We had very comfortable beds and a great shower! Good cooked to order breakfast. Extremely friendly and helpful staff.
5 out of 5
by Anthony from Oxford

Will be going back again

Posted Aug 11, 2016 on Hotels
I was given a warm welcome, I stayed here for two nights, Christian, Di and team are all fantastic and they couldn't look after me enough, my room had a shower and they changed it for me to a room with a bath, they were so accommodating. Room was lovely, very cosy and really high standard of finish. The bar area and restaurant are very cosy and the menu was really good and can recommend the scollops starter all the food including the breakfast was freshly prepared and really well cooked. There is parking at the rear of the inn.
5 out of 5
by Annie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 10, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Joel from Bath

Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was lovely, and the room was beautiful. We also had a very nice dinner (which was reasonably priced) and good service. However there was a Vinyl Night in the pub beneath our room which we hadn't been told about, and which was very noisy until well after midnight. This meant we had a disturbed night's sleep. Also, the breakfast the next day was not up to standard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great food, lovely building

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Pros: Building, food and friendly helpful staff
Location: Tarka trail, NCR 27 convenient. But if kids suggest drive to Meeth and park and go north on traffic free section
Lovely hotel with comfortable room and really great cuisine, ended up staying there for dinner every night of our stay. Nicely presented, but great flavours and quality dishes we really enjoyed. Stayed there and cycled up and down Tarka trail , so had good appetites by the evenings!