Ratings based on 181 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Location: Nothing to do nearby
They never change our bedsheet and pillowcases. The breakfast not so good, not too much options . Pool kinda dirty
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2016 by Wendy, Hotel Management
It is hotel policy to change sheets every other day with stay over customers.However, we have no problem with changing them daily if customer will inform staff of their wants. I am at a loss for the pool being kinda dirty, I personally maintain the pool and know it is not lacking, I do apologize it did not meet your expectations.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Surprisingly nice

Posted Sep 9, 2016
My traveling companion and I were pleasantly surprised by how nice this Days Inn was. We booked it last minute when we decided to stop for the night during a long road trip. It clearly has been recently renovated, and the bed was quite comfortable, especially considering the price that we paid. The breakfast provided was fine -- nothing to write home about, but a decent selection of the basics like cereal, breads, and fruit. We would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2016 by Wendy, Hotel Management
We are so glad to hear you had such a wonderful experience during your stay with us. We do look forward to a return visit next time you are through Oklahoma. Thank you for your wonderful review of our property.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sapulpa

Sad

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
There were spiders and roaches in the room!!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your awesome review of our property.
3 out of 5
by Alan from Omaha

Good value

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
We were able to receive a good rate at the last minute. The room and bed were comfortable - maybe a bit dated but for one night it was just fine. It was quiet and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review our location, it is good to know we are being successful with our customers.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
It was a one night stay on a return from a SD wedding. We also met a friend who work in OK city for dinner near hotel and was ez place to drop off a Ggrandaughter to her mother who lives in Tulsa.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you we appreciate your stay with us and are happy to hear you enjoyed it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
We have stayed at this location for the past for years when my daughter has a bball tourney. The staff is always friendly and the rooms are clean. Great price and location is great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how well you enjoy your stay with us. it is much appreciated and we look forward to your return.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Amarillo

ANTS IN THE BEDS!

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: Everything could improve. The hotel was a very basic.
Location: This is a trashy side of OKC
I reserved a king suit. The room pictured was NOT what we got, the pool floor was disgusting, there were roaches in the bathroom. Myself and my one year old daughter was bitten by ants, multiply times. I woke up to find an ant on my pillow, I moved the rest of the pillows and blankets to find that the bed was covered in sugar ants. I went to the tell the person working the front desk, whom of which was rude and told me that I could only get a 25% discount. Also the parking lot was full of Semi trucks leaving it impossible to park or even drive threw the lot. The "FREE WIFI" did NOT work at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
by WGK, Hotel Management
We are sincerely sorry for your dissatisfaction of your stay here. We have sent professionals to deal with the ant issue and do wish you would have changed rooms as the first desk suggested when you came down to the office when you first checked in. I am really uncertain of your response over the pool we maintain a clean and excellent pool area. I do realize it may have been crowded, due to all the families getting that last minute summer rush to Frontier City, also causing a full parking lot when hotel is full. We have been working with you to resolve this issue. again I do apologize for your discomfort.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Hotel is close to many things!

Posted Aug 1, 2016
2 night stay was a good experience. Pool was a little dirty looking without a hot tub. Hotel key cards not good though. We had to get them reset several times.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2016 by WGK, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of your stay with us. I am happy to hear you had such a good experience with us and do apologize for the difficulty of having to re-key your keys. We look forward to you returning in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels