Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016
We had a amazing time in OKC this hotel was awesome we would go back here anytime!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very accomodating!!

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Had a great stay! Morgan, evening desk person was absolutely wonderful. From extra pillows to tickets for Frontier City she was amazing. Rooms were clean and comfortable, breakfast was really good. Breakfast area was clean and tidy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2016 by Bonni C, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, We appreciate your positive feedback! I have shared this with Morgan and she joins me in thanking you for your kind words. Thank you gor staying with us and we look forward to accommodating you next time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff

Posted Aug 11, 2016
The check in was smooth. The staff was competent, friendly, considerate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hermosillo mexico

Quick stop as we rushed north

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Convenient location- easy off and on freeway. Great breakfast. Quiet rooms.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Horrible Experience

Posted May 12, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything. Clean, breakfast, attention to detail, the workers
Location: downtown Searcy, AR, lots of places to eat.
Run down hotel, no breakfast offered as described, smelly room, torn mattress, rusty bathroom, shower head even was broke and fell off as we showered. Toilet constantly ran, dirty feeling, had to stay the two days and the maid didn't even throw away a used cup of coffee or make the bed fully. If there was any other hotel available I would have moved that night. Nothing in the whole town because of all the college graduations.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2016 by Bonni, Hotel Management
Dear JoMama, I believe you have our hotel mixed up with another location. We are located in north Oklahoma City, Oklahoma and the location you are referring to you said is in Searcy, Arkansas. The pictures you posted are not even of our property. We are a newly renovated hotel. I am very sorry for the experience you had at the other property. Please contact expedia to get this review to the proper hotel so they can respond accordingly to the issues you had there. We also would encourage you to write your review on the stay you had here at our hotel in Oklahoma City. Kind Regards, Bonni Coates Front Desk Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma City, OK

Posted Apr 6, 2016
Quiet, clean, and comfortable motel with adequate continental breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel right on our route

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Our stay was enjoyable, got on our way the next day refreshed. Only difficulty was the new clerk who charged me twice, but it all got straightened out in a short time.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2016 by Bonni, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. I do apologize about you being charged twice. But I am glad that we were able to get it straightened out for you. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay. Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future. Kind regards, Bonni Coates Front Desk Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Place

Posted Jan 16, 2016
I love staying here. The staff is super friendly, the beds are comfortable, and the breakfast is yummy!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2016 by Bonni, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate all the nice things you had to say about our staff and property. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again. Regards, Bonni Coates Front Desk Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 25, 2015
Cons: Availibility of facilities.
Everything was great except for the swimming pool. I made sure it had an indoor pool for my grandsons. When we got there, I asked then if the swimming pool was open. The desk clerk assured me it was. When they went to take a swim about 2 hours later, there was a tarp over the pool and a sign on the door that pool was not open. They were very disappointed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Comfortable hotel, but a few items need attention

Posted Nov 25, 2015
Pros: Clean, quiet room. Didn't hear another person when we were in our room. Indoor pool appeared very clean.
Cons: Wi-Fi needs to be fixed. Arm strengthening equipment added to gym, pictures hung on walls.
Location: Very well located, Cracker Barrel across the freeway. A nice looking amusement park, open seasonally, is located almost within walking distance.
I knew from the satellite image that the hotel was close to the freeway, but since no rooms are in the back of the hotel, one can't get away from the sound of droning big rigs and "jake brakes". There is a solution, however; If one runs the air conditioning as white noise, then the freeway is not heard (this is even recommended on a sign by the elevator in the lobby). We stayed on the 3rd floor and had to be moved to another room as the ice machine located next to our room was so loud, it made a jake brake seem quiet. I noted that our room did not have any art work displayed on the walls, but the hangers were still in place, so the walls looked barren and unattractive. I looked inside a few other rooms on the third floor, and they were missing the wall prints, also. I thought the pictures may be missing due to a fresh paint job, but the rooms did not smell like fresh paint. The gym is one of the worse gyms I have seen at a hotel, only 3 cardio machines and no weights or weight resistance machines. The breakfast hours are too short, 6-9 even on weekends. When we arrived at 8:45 the biscuits and gravy were long gone and when I asked if more may be coming out, the kitchen help responded with a curt no, and I better make my selections because breakfast will be cleaned up soon. To top everything off, the Wi-Fi was not working properly, and I couldn't connect my laptop to the internet. This was confirmed by the staff, unknown if anything was being done to fix the situation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2015 by Bonni, Hotel Management
Dear Annie, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I will agree with you that our fitness room has seen better days. We are in the process of ordering new equipment with some type of weight machine. As far as the art work goes, we still have a few rooms lacking. Our maintanence man is working on this. We will be looking into possibly extending breakfast hours on the weekend. The internet issue is being delt with as well. However, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay otherwise. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Sincerely, Bonni Coates Front Desk Manager Sleep Inn & Suites, Oklahoma City - www.sleepinnokc.com 405-478-9898