Ratings based on 317 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great other than smell

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Nice room and hotel other than my nonsmoking room smelt like cigarettes
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norman, OK

Cool hotel, needs a little work.

Posted Jan 8, 2016
Pros: The inside of the hotel is really very cool, and very large. The staff seemed very nice. The hotel is also in a great area, with lots of food places a
Cons: The pool could use an overhaul. The rooms might could use to be cleaned a bit better.
Location: It is very easy to get to, right off the exit from the interstate. It is located on a street with shopping, food, and there is a Walmart nearby.
This is an older hotel, and it is very interesting to stay in. It has an old-timey feel to it, and we could imagine some high society parties were held here back in the day. It has some areas where it could use a little attention. Some of the overhangs outside the 2nd floor outside rooms were cracked and leaking rusty water (which stained my blouse when I was dripped on). This leaky situation leaves some areas of the hotel smelling musty and damp. Also, after looking at the pool (which is inside the hotel, surrounded by rooms..very cool), we decided that it almost looked as if it should not be swam in. It is in desperate need of an overhaul, as is the hot tub. They were both lined with chipped paint and stained concrete and looked as if they had not had attention in quite some time. The room was a decent one, however it was not cleaned thoroughly as there was a VERY dirty towel left on the sink (stained a suspicious brown color), long hairs still in the bathroom and tub, and a leather covered chair with a distinct dirty butt print. We had to do some touch-up cleaning when we arrived. The staff was very nice and accommodating, particularly a long haired gentleman who worked overnight. A continental breakfast is served as promised, and the dining area was quite nice. Overall, despite some of the cleanliness of the room and pool, this was a decent place to stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rain, rain go away.

Posted Dec 8, 2015
We had never stayed in a super 8 before and this one had a pool and a hot tub which sounded great because we had traveled 600 miles. The hot tub had pieces of cement floating in the water due to the erosion of the tub. So we used the hot tub then realized they didn't provide towels, so we had to walk to our outside room in the rain and snow. Brrrrr. Our room had burn holes on the sheets and blanket. Our "green" chair's were filthy black with burn holes as well. The toilet had urine running down the front of it, the tub had some kind of yellow slime in it. The coffee pot didn't work. Breakfast was.limited but served its purpose. I had left money on the dresser and the maid took it thinking it was a tip I suposse. It wasn't however. Not really worth what we paid. Just an aweful stay for us. If your a germophobe bring your Lysol.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unfriendly Staff

Posted Nov 17, 2015
Pros: Large beds and clean room.
Hotel was ok, but was disappointed with the unfriendly staff at check in. Also, I asked for a roll away bed and the woman at check in said I had to pay $10 cash for it. Is that the cost of the roll away or was she demanding a tip (I'm convinced she pocketed the $10)? Was also disappointed with the continental breakfast. I know it's free, but could we add some protein options? It was a carbfest with a sticky waffle iron.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Stephanie M.

Enjoyable

Posted Nov 16, 2015 on Orbitz
This is my 2nd time staying at Super 8 Norman...the 1st time they were renovating in June 2015 and it was still very pleasant during the reconstruction of the lobby and court yard...and this time November 2015 it was remarkable to see the finish result of the renovation...I chose Super 8 again because of the convenience to everything I did not rent a car for this trip but the motel sits across from WAL-MART, Golden Corral, walking distance of the mall, Chik Fila, Arby's gas stations, grocery store etc...and is 2.6 miles away from University of Oklahoma....the continental breakfast is nice... reminder this is not a full breakfast but your morning juice, coffee, cereal, oatmeal, etc....the front office staff are friendly we enjoyed Mr. Brett, Mr. Colby, Mr. Patel and the young lady it was relaxing and I will return there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
It was quite and very restful
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Mike from Houston

Weekend visit ok

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
My non smoking room had been previously been smoked in. Not a lot of parking. Bed was comfortable. Probably wouldn't be my first choice on another trip.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
I have stayed here before but it has been a while. The place is in dire need for a remodel. Paint could be used on all walls. Very run down and needs to be updated.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A place to hang your hat..

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Pros: Proximity to the campus and friendly staff.
Cons: Updating/remodeling the rooms.
Since it was a football weekend, rooms were hard find and rates were elevated throughout the area. That being said, I would not recommend this place to friends or family. As a lone male traveler, it worked out as a place to hang my hat, but my wife would not have been pleased. The room was small, needed updating and certainly was not "plush". All the room features (HVAC, plumbing, refrigerator, TV, coffee maker) did function properly so it worked out fine for me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

Comfortable Hotel Close to OU and Shopping Areas

Posted Nov 7, 2015
Pros: I love everything about this hotel, which is why I always stay there when in Norman. The price is affordable, the staff is amazing, and the rooms too!
Location: Everything is nearby! Food within walking distance, the OU campus and local malls are all within 5 minutes.
This hotel was an amazing stay! The rooms are very spacious and easily accommodated myself and 3 children. The beds are super comfy and the bathroom area provides plenty of room for multiple people as well as wonderful smelling toiletries. The rooms provide a decent sized television with access to many channels, both local and nationally. The rooms offer a spacious desk for any work that needs to be done during the stay. The hotel staff was especially accommodating, considering that I showed up to check in around midnight with three sleeping children. This hotel has several amenities available, particularly a quality breakfast as well as indoor pool. For a stay that is close to the main attractions of Norman, this is a wonderful place to stay!