Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Too short.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
I loved this place. I wish I could have stayed longer. Small, cozy town. Very quiet. Amazing view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great cabins

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: Not much to do around there, but beautiful.
Cabins were awesome, loved it. One of the few places I would re visit in Iceland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Beautifully Situated Hotel and Friendly Staff

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Complimentary boats and kayak rental, as well as the friendly staff.
If I could do it again, I'd make sure to have gotten the cabin. The hotel was fine, but it was awkward having two twin beds pushed together. I was amazed that the boats and kayaks were complimentary. The food was pretty good and the breakfast was great. It's a beautiful part of Iceland and I'd definitely come back...just in a cabin!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What a location!

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Beautiful location on a lake surrounded by snow-capped mountains. Friendly, helpful staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Location: The herring festival and the herring museum in Siglufjordur (town near by) are worth while.
The cabin was cute. The kitchen facilities are very small. No microwave or oven. Only a hotplate. The hot tub was lovely. It is a nice location on a lakeshore. The scenery around the area is worth the detour off the ring road. It would have been fun to take out the kayaks or boats that they had available for use but it was too windy when we were there. We had fun sitting in the hot tub outside watching the ducks and their babies.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with great view

Posted Aug 15, 2015
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Location is beautiful, right in the mountain and by the lake. Great breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2015
We stayed in one of there two room cabins which was fine. People were very accomodating
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Basic Hotel in the middle of nowhere

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: See above
Not a bad hotel but we would probably have been better going on to Siglufjordur. Limited food in town although breakfast buffet in the hotel was up to the usual (excellent) Icelandic standard. Price was reasonable - by Icelandic standards - and you get what you pay for
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Very welcoming reception, after a long drive from the airport. Was upgraded to a larger accommodation for free! Cabin was perfect! Able to see the northern lights from the hottub! Beautiful setting! Highly recommend this place! Cannot wait to go back again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gloucestershire

Lovely cabins in dramatic landscape

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: The cabins are attractive, clean and well appointed. You have access to the hotel restaurant and the kayaks and rowing boats on the lake.
Cons: The staff were a little stretched in the restaurant during our visit.
Location: The whale watching from Dalvík is a must. Bustling Akureyri is less than an hour's drive away and has beautiful botanic gardens.
These cabins exceeded our expectations. The site in Ólafsfjörður is ringed by dramatic, snow-striped mountains, whilst a serene lake dominates the foreground. Our cabin, Neskot, was perfect for two, with a bedroom, bathroom, and living room / cooking / dining area. The kitchen cupboards contained pretty much all you could possibly need, the wifi connection was good and everything was spotlessly clean. The hot tub was easy to fill, and very enjoyable to wallow in after a whale watch, or a drive out to Akureyri or Mývatn. The hotel staff were a bit stretched the night we ate there; there was a sense of the youngsters having been left in charge - but very pleasant youngsters nonetheless. Excellent whale watching tours sail from Dalvík, about twenty minutes away. No need to worry, by the way, about the extraordinary tunnels that connect Ólafsfjörður to the rest of the peninsula: they are narrow and single-carriageway, but there are plenty of passing places and drivers pull in early and considerately. Ólafsfjörður itself is a quiet little place, but has the essential facilities one would hope for (post office, café, etc.) as well as a beautiful miniature church and some imaginatively planted gardens (impressive - you are not far at all from the Arctic Circle here!).