Ratings based on 391 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Nice Hotel on the Water

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: The water view was very nice. The staff was very professional.
Cons: I found the art over the bed to be very odd.
Location: The ancient castle ruins are accessible from a hiking trail that begins not far from the hotel. It was a very nice walk through the woods.
We arrived during the off season in April. The bar and restaurant were closed during our stay. Breakfast was served and it was very good. The staff were all very polite and all spoke English very well. There was ample parking. The town of Borgholm is small so walking from the hotel was not a problem. The ancient castle is accessible from a walking trail from the hotel which was enjoyable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A pleasant hotel on the harbor

Posted Oct 3, 2015 on Hotels
After reading some of the comments regarding the condition of Strand Hotel we were worried however our stay was very enjoyable. Our two rooms were bright and spotless as were the bathrooms (showers only). The view over the harbor from our rooms was very nice. The service was very good with friendly and helpful personal. We also enjoyed the breakfast buffet which had a variety of cold and hot dishes. The city center of Borgholm was only a short walk away from the hotel. All in all we were very happy with our choice of Strand Hotel.
3 out of 5
by Göran from Stockholm

Run down hotel at great location!

Posted Aug 18, 2015 on Hotels
A nice view, great location at the harbour and good breakfast buffet. However, the hotel has seen its best days. It is in serious need of a renovation and it would be a shame to say they have a spa. Everything down there looks 30 years old and most probably is!
5 out of 5
by Tony from Chicago

Great views of the marina and sea!

Posted Aug 10, 2015 on Hotels
Great views of the water and marina! Very charming and close to the popular city walking street. Room was a good size too and had a balcony.
2 out of 5
by Joel

Posted Jul 15, 2015 on Hotels
the rooms are in really bad condition. The badrooms is from 1970....
4 out of 5
by Keith from Sydney Australia

great location,great breakfast

Posted Oct 31, 2014 on Hotels
Big hotel set in a lovely location ,very comfortable room, helpful staff and an amazing breakfast
4 out of 5
by Charlotta

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 24, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by zeev from ISRAEL

Nice hotel. close to the beach and the city center

Posted Sep 7, 2013
Pros: Location, Breakfast, room size
Cons: Bathroom
Location: The location is on the beach and 5 minutes walking from the city center
Excellent location, near the beach and city center. Large room, excellent breakfast. The bathroom must be improved in order to avoid water from falling on the floor.
3 out of 5
by Irene

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 15, 2013 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't expect a lot

Posted Aug 31, 2012 on Hotels
Overall I did a trip around Sweden and thought in comparison to other hotels this hotel was over priced. My room was damp and had a really old feel. Apparently they upgraded my room as well... Only positive was that the breakfast was great and full of healthy options aside from the fried food.