Ratings based on 299 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely hotel

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Great hotel and lovely staff in nice quiet surroundings in a busy little city. Well looked after from the time we arrived till the day we left. Plenty to do nearby and numerous nice little bars and restaurants to use within walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from China

Like 50 years old Hotel

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Lovely and comfortable hotel with the nice location and excellent services.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous, serene but right in the heart of town.

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Its a very quiet, serene place, so I don't think good for young kids.
Great location, beautiful hotel. In the heart of Old City.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in the heart of the Old City

Posted Jul 4, 2017 on CheapTickets
Everything from the attentive and lively staff, the peaceful, clean and beautiful accommodations, and prime location made my stay at the Tamarind Village amazing. I even extended my stay by a day.
5 out of 5
by Allison

Highly recommend

Posted Jun 28, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing service. Great location. Beautiful grounds and room.
5 out of 5
by wei

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 31, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2017 on Hotels
The overall experience was great! However, our rooms looked over the neighboring patio. They had rosters cocking all day, everyday. In order to avoid the roosters one needed ear plugs (not provided) or the tv needed to remain on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Exceptional Hotel!

Posted May 27, 2017
We originally planned to stay 3 nights at Tamarind Village but extended our stay after seeing how great it was. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The walking tour was fun and the guide offered lots of information about Thai culture. The room was beautiful, clean, and comfortable. The ambience was serene, a great break from the city. Also the breakfast was delicious! We would stay here again for sure!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice little oasis

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: Location, service
Cons: I wasn't the biggest fan of our AC unit.
Location: Temples and restaurants everywhere- it's very touristy near this hotel
Tamarind village really is like a peaceful, yoga-like oasis in the middle of a very touristy little city. It's right in the middle of the historic area, where there are temples everywhere and bikes for rent everywhere. It's a bit far to the infamous night market, but it's conveniently located for just about everything else. The service was fantastic- the employees were genuinely just really nice, and you could tell they were genuinely concerned that you were enjoying your stay. They helped us with everything we might need help with, including calling to ask if we'd need a taxi when we were checking out, booking massages, booking tours, etc. Our room was really nice too, but the AC does run constantly. Granted, we came during the hottest time of the year, but it is not quiet when it runs. Overall, we were really happy with Tamarind Village, and it really is a very peaceful and centrally located hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane Qld Aiustralia

An Oasis in the middle of the City

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Facilities, pool, food, service , generally quiet
Cons: Remove the dogs next door that bark at 4 am every morning, spice up the food in the restaurant
We always enjoys smaller hotels which offer something tranquil, even in larger cities. Chiang Mai is not a small town, but the Tamarind Village with its internal gardens, tranquil surroundings and modest entrance is a good find. You are greeted with a sit down at reception, a cooling towel and fruit drink while your room is prepared. Staff are humble and gracious. The rooms (we had the least expensive) are exceptionally clean, quite reasonable in size and facilities worked well. Beds were huge and comfortable. Pool, well its Thailand, warmish, can't do much about that, perfectly balanced , not overtly chlorinated, easy swim. Great place to lounge just follow the shade of the gardens. Tours from the hotel, really talk to the staff, some deals are great others need a haggle. Free tour of local area and temples. fantastic. Go to the temples, provide gifts of food to the monks , be blessed, and learn the traditions. The restaurant. The food, for breakfast is impeccable. Smorgasbord of fruits, Asian alternatives and cold western accompaniments. Also cold cuts, juices, cereals etc. In addition chef cooked eggs , Asian omelettes (yum) and other warm items eg bacon, sausage. The only downside. The hotel established a menu of traditional Thai cuisine, and you look at their menu and say wow. Nearly every patron I heard in the restaurant asked the waitress "is it spicy?" The result is the cuisine does not match the menu. Chilli doesn't exist. Misses real Thai cuisine & flavour. A Shame