Ratings based on 210 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent location and service

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Pros: Friendly, helpful staff. Clean, quiet room.
Cons: There wasn't a comfy armchair in the room- it was a good size room that could definitely have fitted it in.
Location: Very close to the Old Town- 1 block away from the river.
This hotel was very well located- very close to the Old Town, without being at all noisy. It had a number of bars and restaurants very close by, but they had excellent soundproofing which meant we slept well during our stay. The theme was cute but did not detract from the hotel's aim to provide good service and a comfortable stay. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel (we don't eat enough at breakfast for it to ever be worth it!) but there is a boulangerie 2 doors down from the hotel which does some excellent Pain au Chocolat and other pastries. Overall, a great place to stay- I would stay there again if visiting Lyon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Fabrice, Hotel Management
Dear Milly, thank you very much for your very good comment and description of your stay. It was our pleasure to welcome you in College Hôtel. Very Best regards.Fabrice.Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from farnham surrey

Quirky hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Great quirky hotel, nice decor, great location and quirky car lift to carpark
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halifax

Great hotel in old town

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Perfect location - In the old town minutes away from delicious ice cream, spectacular restaurants, weekend art and farmers markets along the river Saone. An enjoyable walk up the city hills including Croix-Rousse. Hotel is easy and comfortable, staff are friendly and helpful. Unique design is a big plus - Be sure to make use of second floor terrace.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surbiton, Surrey

Nice hotel great location

Posted Apr 14, 2017
College hotel, is located in the old town area of Lyon close to many excellent bars, restaurants, shops, ice cream parlours and some of Lyon's tourist attractions. It's also around the corner from the C3 bus line and 5mins walk to the nearest metro station. With this all in mind it's still a nice quite hotel where you can quietly rest following a busy day visiting Lyon. The rooms where big enough and very clean and modern with a large bed and a nice moden shower room. The staff were always friendly and helpful. If I had anything negative to say it would be that sadly the roof top terrace was closed during our stay and we would have like to have been able to sit up there and relax a little and enjoy the lovely weather. I would definitely recommend it as a great city mini break hotel for a couple and would definitely stay there again should we ever return to Lyon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and easy to find. Clean and nice

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: Free soft drinks available on each floor from vintage fridge, clean and functional, nice but small communal areas. Good terrace.
Cons: Tea and coffee making facilities in the room would be nice.
Location: Great location, easy to get to all the places in Lyon, good for transport links.
First time of travelling alone - am a female in my 40's. Good choice for this reason and would go back again to the hotel and most definitely to Lyon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, close walk to Old Town

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: Location and friendly staff.
Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful for suggesting places to go and giving information on transportation. The hotel was in a great location, close walk to Old Town and other parts of the city.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Theme
Location: Great location on the old side of Lyon.
Theme was fun, but not enough to overcome the Room Comfort issues. Drapes were stained and dirty.
2 out of 5
by edouard

Definitely not a 4 Star hotel

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
??? cc. So, first time I have been quite disappointed. The "white" atmosphere gives a cold and hospital feeling. I did not get along with the "college" concept. Details are poor / bad taste. The only good point is the great location in Lyon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South East England

Good location for exploring Lyon

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Good, small, clean hotel which is really well located for sight seeing in Lyon We were able to walk everywhere we needed to from here.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Hideaway Hotel in Old Lyon

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
Loved the location and simpleness of the hotel. It was on the edge of Vieux Lyon so easy to get around, but not too noisy at night from the nearby restaurants. Had free bottled waters and soda for guests.