Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Kath M from Scotland

Fantastic apartment in old town Lyon

Posted Oct 18, 2017 on Hotels
wish we could have stayed longer
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Pleasant surprise

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: Location and how it was decorated
Location: It is in Vieux Lyon. There are lots of restaurants and shops nearby.
The suite is beautifully renovated in a very old building. Sam and Vincent were extremely helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Very spacious apartment in old part of Lyon

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Very spacious apartment in the old city of Lyon. Well equipped and comfortable. Stairs not for the faint hearted. Great support getting bags to room. Great recommendations of close by restaurants
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

quaint apartment in old Lyon

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: location, location, location
Cons: a little sugar in the pantry :-)
Fantastic location in heart of "old Lyon" just steps from St. Jean, funiculaires, bridges, markets, etc. Refurbished apartment on 4th floor (= 3rd French) of more or less Renaissance building; stylishly done with handy kitchenette and plenty of comfy seating, more spacious than most hotels. One serious drawback for some people will be access: charming stone spiral staircase (no elevator) makes luggage a challenge (likewise rolling cases over the cobblestones to get to the building: no cars within a couple of blocks); but if you travel light or like climbing, this is a wonderful base for exploring the center of Lyon, sampling its fine food and shops, and all sorts of hanging out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Highly recommended!

Posted Jul 17, 2017
We absolutely loved staying in this lovely apartment right in the heart of the old town. It is an ideal base for exploring Lyon. The apartment is perfect for a few days holiday and has everything that you need for a comfortable stay. We would highly recommend it and will be back to stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Caracas

This is not a Hotel. Do not recommend.

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: lousy
Cons: Should not be posted in Expedia as a Hotel
Location: Location is good if you do not have to waste your time looking for the property and its manager.
We felt completely deceived. This is an apartment in a building with no identification. Thanks only to the concierge (extremely kind and helpful) of a (true) neighboring hotel (The Cour des Loges), did we learn that our "Hotel" was in little building with closed brown door. The concierge managed to get through to the person that was supposed to welcome us. It took us 2 hours to figure that out. Once the guy showed up with the keys Then you have climb a 60 step (I counted them) very narrow spiral staircase. Of course, there is no one to help you with the luggage. Once inside, the main bedroom is spacious, but the bathroom is as small as you can possibly get. And there were flees jumping around. We think expedia should reimburse us for such a dismal failure and disappointment. They should verify properties before allowing their customers to be so bluntly miss led
5 out of 5
by Brian from Austin, TX

Home in Lyon

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
My wife and I travel often. Each month we travel within the U.S. Each summer we take a trip overseas. We've stayed in many hotels; some have been nice, others...not so much. My wife and I agree that Le Petit Tramassac is our favorite hotel/B&B of all. The location is perfect. It's an historic, protected building from the 13th century; smack-dab in the middle of Old Lyon. Of course, the room has modern utilities, but maintains an old-world charm. Vincent, the owner of the property, is EXTREMELY welcoming. He gave us pointers on where to eat explore. He warned us of the tourists traps. He made us feel right at home from the moment of our arrival. If ever in Lyon, please do yourself a favor, and BOOK THIS HOTEL. You will be thankful you did. My wife and I are, and we have many fond memories of our "home" in Lyon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Samta Rosa CA

This apartment is lovely.

Posted Jun 18, 2016
We had a wonderful stay. The apartment is spacious and decorated nicely. It has all the amenities you need and the location is excellent. Vincent will meet you at the apartment and go over all the details. He also offers resturamt recommendations. We went to three of the restaurants that he recommended and they we fantastic. Just be aware you need to be able to climb steep stairs, if that is not a problem book this place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful boutique-style apartment - recommended!

Posted Mar 18, 2016
Pros: Everything! Overall, a charming, well-equipped apartment in the perfect location.
Location: One of the best - very central and in one of the prettiest parts of Lyon. Most attractions/metro/funicular within walking distance.
A hidden gem! I’m so glad that we chose to stay here during our Lyon break. I can’t imagine a better place or location from which to experience the city. A lot of thought and care has gone into the gorgeous décor and this beautiful apartment is extremely well-equipped boasting the all-essential corkscrew, free Wi-Fi, hairdryer, washing machine, tea/coffee and even a dishwasher. The custodians of Le Petit Tramassac are extremely accommodating and the check-in/out process at the apartment was very easy. We emailed our arrival times to the staff (who seemed happy to communicate with us in both French and English) using the form on their main website and arranged to meet outside the apartment to collect the keys. It was all very efficient and hassle-free. Moreover, you couldn’t ask for a better or prettier location (and I'd rate Vieux Lyon over Presqu'île for a holiday-type break) with the majority of Lyon’s attractions and amenities sited within walking distance. Le Petit Tramassac itself is just a few minutes’ walk away from both the metro & the funicular that takes you up to the Basilique Notre Dame de Fourviere and the Roman theatre - a must for any new visitor to Lyon and free to wander around except for if you’re visiting the museum. Unless you have serious mobility issues (in which case the spiral staircase could be a bit of a problem as detailed by previous reviewers), I’d wholeheartedly recommend Le Petit Tramassac to any visitor to Lyon. Definitely stay here.