Ratings based on 512 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Pros: Location and the friendly staff.
Location: perfect for exploring Old Lyon with it's many restaurants.
Not much to look at from the outside, but the staff are great and the rooms comfortable and newly refurbished. Perfect location to explore Old Lyon, and to get over the river to the Coeur. It's a little way from the nearest metro, so you may want to get there by taxi.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Decent hotel and great location. Quaint but aged and mostly self serve if you require any service. We had only one towel in room (two guests)
4 out of 5
by Nick

Great base to explore historic Lyon

Posted Aug 15, 2017 on Hotels
We recently stayed at the hotel, wanting something central to Lyon's historic old town. Hotel Phenix was perfect. Super central location, the old town very close by and the more modern shopping malls a short stroll away. Staff were extremely polite and welcoming and the hotel also has parking round the corner (reserve in advance). Our room was spotlessly clean (we had a triple) and while lots of people ate breakfast in the hotel, we preferred to venture out to one of the many local cafes. Some great views across the river. One to recommend if you just need a clean and efficient base in the centre of town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017
Hello, thank you so much for this advice, hope to see you again in our hotel in Lyon, best regards. SOPHIE BERNARD/Room division manager LE PHENIX HOTEL
5 out of 5
by Raymond

Great location

Posted Aug 6, 2017 on Hotels
Great location for shops and restaurants. about a 20 minute cab ride to and from airport.
5 out of 5
by Lucie

Lovely hotel

Posted Jul 28, 2017 on Hotels
Fabulous UNESCO world heritage site on the bank of the Saone. Wonderful hotel, wonderful service, beautiful quirky place , very cheap considering.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2017
Hello, many thanks for this advice, all the staff appreciates that very much, Best regards. SOPHIE BERNARD - LE PHENIX HOTEL
4 out of 5
by Thomas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Susan M

Great hotel on heart of old Lyon

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
Great location. Very friendly, helpful reception staff. Spacious, well presented and equipped room. I found the bed uncomfortable as it was too soft for my taste but that is a matter of personal taste. I would stay here again for sure
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2017
Hello, thank you so much, we hope to see you again in our hotel, best regards. SOPHIE BERNARD - LE PHENIX HOTEL
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Have to pay for parking

Posted Jun 29, 2017 on Hotels
We have picket that hotel only because in the listing it said that they have parking. When we arrived around 7pm we were told that parking is full. It is difficult to find overnight parking in that area so we had to park in nearby garage (19€). Our room was on the last floor -if you have heavy luggage then you need to take an elevator and than carry luggage one more flight of stairs. Rooms on the last floor only have small windows by the floor - so no views. Room was clean and ceiling not very low for a mansard.
5 out of 5
by Yamel

Superb French experience

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
It was just terrific! The rooms are splendid, the beads really comfortable and the views and decor supreme!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burlington, VT

Very satisfactory hotel if you get the right floor

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: Location. Powerful A/C. Very good breakfast for extra fee.
Cons: Be honest about it -- 4th floor rooms are only suitable for short people. Super tight, and narrow hallway access, too.
Location: Walkable to everything, incl Fine Arts Museum, many restaurants, bars, shops, galleries, funicular to the top of Old Lyon & riverboats out front door
This was the second time I stayed at the Phenix in Lyon -- and much different than the first. Booked and prepaid online for a 'standard room' and got the 4th (top) floor. It was a closet. I'm 6' and couldn't even stand up in the shower or you'd hit your head on the ceiling. Ridiculous! Think 'college dorm room.' Staff very nice -- but would not change. They acknowledge the top floor are the "small rooms" -- boy, I'll say. Be warned. When we stayed at the Phenix 4 years ago we got two 2nd floor rooms, and they were great. Now I know to ask. Otherwise, a great location and a nice breakfast offered for an extra 13 Euros.