Ratings based on 197 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Hotel and front of house stuff but.....

Posted Mar 16, 2018
The waiting staff in the bar are virtually non existent. The hotel is very nice and in a great position. Greeted by staff and a glass of Duval Leroy champagne which was excellent. The room information states the sauna and steam are on a different level to the pool but this is not the case, the sauna is on the same level as the pool and we didn't find a steam room. The curtains in the room (room 9) need to be steamed possibly as they don't hang too well. All in all a nice stay but a lack of communication by the bar staff when myself and my husband were the only 2 people in the bar marred the stay. Too many chiefs possibly!
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Caracas

Luxury hotel perfectly situated with amazing views

Posted Dec 29, 2017
Cons: Our room, number 1, was a bit noisy in the morning due to the breakfast hall being just above.
The staff at the hotel is very polite and helpful and the hotel is very conveniently located above vieux Lyon, which gives you amazing views from the bedrooms, pool, jacuzzi and halls. Breakfast was amazing and all the amenities in the hotel really favor a nice stay.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

Wonderful hotel with excellent staff

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Pros: The staff and hotel experience
The view from the hotel was wonderful and the location is quite convenient, although it is a bit of a climb to get back to and fro the hotel. The breakfast was also excellent. What made the stay really memorable was the staff who were friendly and helpful. A shoutout to Nicholas who was very prompt with email replies and helpful with reservations even before the stay. I'm afraid I didn't get the names of the other staff at the reception and concierge but in all an excellent team. Will come back again to this hotel should I ever return to Lyon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

The only thing good was the lovely concierge!

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Pros: Gentlemen who worked at the Concierge desk
Cons: Everything else!
This place was horrible! Useless manager and staff, save the wonderful concierge who was the concierge, bellhop and car valet while absolutely everyone else sat on their butts and were unhelpful! The room didn’t have any accessible plugs and I had to move a desk to use the outlet to charge my phone. There is a flight of steps to get to the rooms and the ONLY thing accessible by foot are the Roman ruins. Everything else requires a taxi/Uber or walking up/down 200 meters of steps sheer down the hillside. The room service food was pitiful and were unable to accomidate any food allergies. This place is 3 stars at best. We arrived on a Saturday and there was absolutely no availability in the hotel restaurant. Disappointing!
5 out of 5
by Chen Hou

Beautiful Hotel, Excellent Service

Posted Nov 12, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful place in the historic district. It is up in the hills just below the Basilica, so walking up to the hotel is a challenge. But for the view, it is worth it.
5 out of 5
by Chris

Posted Oct 9, 2017 on Hotels
Very impressive property high on a hill overlooking Lyon.Staff was very attentive and accommodating. Concierge extremely helpful in getting reservations, etc.
5 out of 5
by Ping

Great location, beautiful hotel and excellent serv

Posted Oct 7, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is in great location with beautiful view of Lyon. The room is very nice and clean. You feel welcomed as soon as you walk into the hotel. There is a roof top swimming pool if you are up to swimming.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from indy

very disapointing for Relais & Chateau

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Terrace and pool were nice, view fabulous. Poolside bartender good, efficient, hard worker.
Cons: Facilities....all. Dark rooms, small, low ceiling. Get some air conditioning. Wifi bad, too.
Location: Really not well located>.....looked close on a map to lots of things but only if you are willing to climb really steep and tall hills.
Traveled in France for 3 weeks this September. This hotel was the worst. Our room was small, dark, airless and hot! The thermostat read 30 degrees...which is 86. The receptionist turned on the Air conditioning and said it would take awhile to cool. We opened the small window and went downstairs as the room was unbearable. Soon discovered there was no A/C. It had been turned off the week before and it was impossible to switch it back on for some archaic reason. It took us four hours, 4 phone calls and a talk with the asst manager to get a fan. Room never cooled to less than about 80. Miserable night. When we had our rental car brought around, it had a new big dent. Manager wrote note accepting responsibility but, we will just have to wait and see how this turns out. So not good stay.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dubai


Posted Sep 3, 2017
Awesome location in a beautiful part of the old town
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Incredibly friendly staff

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Construction was taking place on the road leading up to the hotel. We couldn't figure out how to get around it and to the hotel. We called the front desk and a staff member walked down the hill to our car, got in our car and drove us a route around the construction and to our hotel!! Incredible service!