Ratings based on 1,625 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Great from the outside

Posted Apr 21, 2018
We were only in Monterey for one night, so thought something boutique style would be nice. This hotel is great location, a very nice looking decore inside and out. We just found that it was a little bit tired. Our room (in the historical part) was ok, but was small we had nowhere for bags the clothes space was very small and the TV etc something out of the arc. No safe in the room, and the room was cold. Bedding was good. The bathroom was really tired and cold. Close to old Fishermans Wharf and a short drive to Cannery Row.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

It was in a perfect location!

Posted Apr 20, 2018
Pros: It was conveniently located near the wharf and the site where our conference was being held.
Cons: Sadly, we had to ask for more towels because they didn't have a clean full set available.
Location: We walked to the wharf and through the town and felt quite safe.
The room was quite comfortable, although we did have a time adjusting to the heat/cold situation because we are used to air-conditioning like we have at home. We had to open the windows and so the street noise was a little annoying. Everything was very clean and newly decorated. The bed was comfortable. We did have to ask for a replacement hair dryer because the permanently installed one did not work. The staff were very helpful and personable. We enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2018
I loved the historic feel! This hotel was so cute! It also was very clean, however it was a bit noisy at night, but not enough to disturb my sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2018 by Chelsea K., Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for coming and staying with us! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Centrally located cute hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2018
Clean hotel, very classy decorum and a nice staff of people. It’s an older hotel and I love the antiques they have everywhere . It’s very special when a hotel is able to keep its old world feel but modernize itself. It isn’t musty smelling at all & I loved the location. You could walk anywhere and everywhere .
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2018 by Chelsea K., Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us! I am so glad to hear you enjoyed so many aspects of our property, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orinda ca

Clean and close to the harbor

Posted Apr 10, 2018
Enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and also plenty of shampoo conditioner and body wash in the bathrooms
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2018 by Chelsea K., Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to seeing you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portage MI

Historically appointed

Posted Apr 10, 2018
Good location- close to lots of restaurants and shopping. Can walk almost everywhere. Check in was at 3. We arrived at 4 and room wasn’t ready so we were upgraded to a suite overlooking the bay. If you like modern this is not the hotel for you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2018 by Chelsea K., Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our Historical property, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great location

Posted Apr 6, 2018
Great location, nice staff however the hotel is dated, needs new decoration...
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2018 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, I am glad to hear you enjoyed our location and found our staff to be hospitable. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monterey,ca

Down town close to ocean

Posted Apr 5, 2018
Interesting decor, breakfast very simple. Could walk to a number of places to eat and drink.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2018 by Chelsea K., Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we look forward to seeing you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Switzerland

Good location

Posted Apr 4, 2018
Hotel is located in the historical destrict of Monterey and close to the harbor. Hotel is simple but ok.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2018 by Chelsea K., Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Posted Apr 1, 2018
a quick stay for us so it was great to be located right in the middle of everything, close to the pier, local shops and easy access in and out of town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2018 by Chelsea K., Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to seeing you again soon!