Ratings based on 346 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York , NY

nice hotel in the historical center of the town

Posted Dec 6, 2017
A very good hotel, modern and comfortable room, beautiful interior. The hotel restaurant is outstanding: good- quality, delicious food and wonderful ambience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Temperature was 78 degrees F

Posted Nov 11, 2017
The room was 78 degrees F with the heat off and both windows open in the first week of November. My forehead was beading up with sweat as I sat on the bed peacefully. After having our flight canceled, we were offered free accommodations in a courtyard by Marriott. We decided to decline, splurge for a nice hotel in downtown Montreal, have a nice dinner and sleep in a beautiful room and bed. All would have been great if we weren’t sweating. dinner and room. $600.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

right in old town Montreal CA

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Location: walking distance to pretty much everything. Notre-Dame Church was 2 blocks away. Had a great diner at the KEG rest. Breakfast at Eggspectations
was a great weekend at the hotel the staff was wonderful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York

Luxurious yet Cozy

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Pros: Absolutely everything, especially the decor and staff.
Cons: It's perfect
Location: Great location, near shops, boutiques, and a variety of restaurants.
Le St-James Montreal is, simply put, perfect. Well located in Old Montreal, you get a true French Montreal experience. The hotel is gorgeous, architecturally beautiful, yet not stuffy. Every corner and surface is spotless. Each room is different and beautiful... gasp-worthy beautiful. The beds and linens are like clouds. The hallways are even gorgeous. The staff is just as perfect. Completely professional, sincere and warm. I felt like Eloise at my own little Plaza in Montreal. I can't wait to go back, and only stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

First class hotel. Elegant.

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: Quiet understated elegance. Helpful and polite staff. Great restaurant setting. Beautiful reading room. Bathroom with spacious shower and bath.
Cons: More than two pillows should be available on bed or in room. Squeaky floorboards under carpet need repair.
We were apparently upgraded to a corner room. Not quite a suite though. Large room and bath. Elegantly appointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Boutique Hotel in Old Montreal - centrally located

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Very well maintained & clean property + Friendly staff
Cons: better pillows-
Location: walking distance to the riverfront cafes outdoor market and shops steps away from the Notre-Dame Basilica
if you appreciate architecture and an interiors with much character - this is a great stay. beautiful converted bank building to a boutique hotel. well maintained property with friendly and welcoming staff.
5 out of 5
by Owen

Old Montreal Gem

Posted Oct 18, 2017 on Hotels
Just one night, but feel like this needs to be my hotel when I'm in Montreal.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel. Staff courteous, energetic and efficient, especially Senior Concierge Yannis. Restaurant food excellent. Try the tomato soup and grilled cheese sandwich. Amazing! Location not squarely in the heart of Old Montreal, but the old town is just a few blocks away. Probably better not to be in the middle of the old town--too congested. Would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Gordon

Revisiting the building our marriage began

Posted Oct 15, 2017 on Hotels
It was great. First I'll say that my parents met through working for The Merchants bank about 192?. My wife and I met when we were employed by Nesbitt Thomson Securities in 1964. We were employed in what was called "the Cage" on the 7th floor. Due to current renumbering of the floors, our room was on the tenth floor. The building was never physically changed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Very nice but a bit pricey

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: clean and friendly
Cons: At least the Wifi should be free for Pete's sake
Location: old Montreal - does not get better than this
Very nice staff and all - just they charge you for everything - Wifi, breakfast, you name it. If you ignore the money pert - it is a great experience.