Ratings based on 1,838 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newmarket, ON

FABULOUS

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: Everything really. Rooms, lobby lounge, staff, location
Cons: Continental breakfast - $19 is really steep especially when there are numerous restaurants nearby offering full breakfast for much less.
Location: In the heart of old Montreal. Walking distance to Notre Dame Basilica, Marche Bonsecours, harbour, museums and the fabulous Rue St. Jean.
Greeted very quickly by the doorman who helped us unload our bags and carry them up to the lobby. He waited until we checked in and then took our bags to our room and took care of our car (valet parking). Staff were amazing. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable - one of the best hotel rooms we've ever stayed in and we do about 45 nights a year in hotels. Lobby lounge was a great spot to relax with free coffee in the morning. We returned in the evening and ordered a bottle of wine before heading out for dinner. We didn't finish the bottle, so the bartender kept our bottle until we returned after dinner. We came in and sat down and he immediately brought our bottle over along with a couple of glasses. Such great service. We had a amazing and relaxing stay. Everything we wanted to see within walking distance. Our only regret - we were only staying 3 nights. When in Montreal, we will now always stay at this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Morin -Heights Qc.

Near everything in old Montréal

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Clean, nice bathroom
Cons: The possibility of wheelchair The carpet in the room
Location: Near everything we want to visit in old Montréal
Very friendly and disponible. People helped me to go down in the stairs, and so kind. I had a wheelchair and everybody was so helpful I recommend this hotel to anyone
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from victoria bc

Overpriced, not well maintained, staff so so

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Not much
Cons: See above
Location: Good location close to old town
Beds seem old saggy. Clean but shabby ..torn curtains phone not working for three days . Staff seemed somewhat young and not as knowledgeable as one would expect for this price. ..weird lobby and loud music....not a welcoming place after a long trip .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

At nearly $400 Ca for single room, not good value.

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Old hotel with modern decor in lobby and exterior. Friendly and helpful young staff. No restaurant but cold breakfast available for $19 Ca. Stained carpet. No table or rack for luggage. Walking distance to many restaurants. simply not worth the high price paid for one person.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Syracuse, NY

The Emperor has no clothes!

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Warm hospitality. Easy valet parking. Cool vibe.
Cons: Rooms need reno.
Location: Excellent for Old Montreal. 5 min walk to Notre Dame Basilica.
For a hotel that prides itself on its art collection it was ironic that a "premier" guest room had only nails or holes in the walls where, seemingly, there once was art hanging. Did they get robbed? Room 408 was disappointing in that regard. As well the carpet was stained and looked really shabby. Drinking glasses were in a cheap, stained tray that looked like it came from a second hand store. The electrical cords for the tv and lights were connected to a power cord that dominated one of the walls. Overalll the room looked worn and shabby. There was a feel like the room was too big and they didn't have enough furniture for it. Rather spartan. It did not reflect the price I paid for the room. That being said the room was very clean and the bathroom brand new and very nice. Although it no longer had the deep soaking tub that was advertised on the website and which was the selling point for me. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The art in the public spaces is amazing. I hope that they clean up their act as I would like to stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel close to old montreal

Posted Sep 11, 2017
The hotel is not your typical hotel - but - the room we had was huge! linens & towels were well done. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. You can walk everywhere from here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Cozily elegant and super convenient to old city

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Comfort, location, attentive staff, and an aim to please.
Cons: Any quibbles would be unfair. Breakfast at CAD $19 seemed like a bit much, but perhaps it wasn't, really.
Location: Notre Dame in next block. All of the Old Montreal attractions are within reasonable walking distance.
The staff worked hard to accommodate a mistake we made in booking, and we were glad we got to stay there. The hallways are modern art galleries (including Warhols, for example), the room was quite large with high ceilings. a good HVAC system, wonderfully comfortable bed (except the pullout for the extra guest was predictably not comfortable). Breakfast is available in the hotel, but we didn't take part. Recovering the car from valet parking was prompt. We would easily stay there again. Not exactly cheap, but not the most expensive hotel in Old Montreal, either. Considering the extra added attraction of an art gallery.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Loved this hotel! Would stay here again any day. Perfect location and such a cute comfy place to stay. Felt like home for the weekend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous deal, gorgeous hotel!

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Architecture, art, rooms
Cons: More people at front desk - often crowded, with a wait to talk to someone
Location: Close to museums, shopping, restaurants, historic buildings, entertainment
Don’t miss this spectacular hotel, located in a magnificent, historic building right in the center of old Montreal. The lobby and walls are filled with modern-contemporary art, as well as dark wood and expensive antiques. We were upgraded to an enormous corner suite, with a king bed, sofa and living room area and views in two directions. The huge bath with a jaccuzzi tub was all done in marble. The staff at the front desk were welcoming, helpful and knowledgeable, with great suggestions for places to go and things to do (and directions for getting there). Best of all, the hotel is walking distance to everything: Place d’Armes and Notre Dame Basilica, the Science Center and Old Port, and the art galleries along Rue Saint-Paul. Parking and breakfast were quite pricey, but we still think this was a gem and a great value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Perfect location

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: The location, the friendly staff
Cons: Rooms need updating, no microwave, no iron or ironing board
The location couldn't be better, walking distance to everything I wanted to see. Plenty of shops and restaurants