Ratings based on 406 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kamloops, BC

Centre of Old Montreal Experience

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Our hotel loft at the Modiva was excellent and the staff at the Lofts were amazing, friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. We loved our room with the kitchen, comfy king sized bed and windows overlooking Rue St. Paul and Blvd. Saint Laurent. This hotel is right in the centre of the action and is so close to the piers, Place Jacques Cartier, and Notre Dame, and even the subway station is a nice short walk to Champs d'Arms. We also walked to Rue Sainte Catherine where lots of action takes place.The only cons were that our loft was on the very top floor with no elevator service (four flights of steep stairs which is grueling when you go up and down many times each day) and the noise in the early morning from the street cleaners and delivery trucks. We had an awesome stay for eight nights here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hampshire Great Britain

Great suite in good location

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Pros: The hotel is in an excellent location for visiting the main tourist sights and a short walk to the metro for going further afield.
Cons: The walls between suites proved to be thin with an amount of noise travel. Fortunately, the room next door was only occupied for one night.
The suite was very comfortable and well appointed. The suites are located around the corner from the main hotel but very helpful porters took our luggage, including several flights of stairs, both on arrival and departure. The block of suites are located on a quiet street and therefore far less noisy than some of the rooms in the main hotel which was located on a very busy tourist street in the old port.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Ga

Beautiful hotel right in old Montreal

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Location, room/apartment.
Cons: nothing
Location: The hotel was right in the middle of old Montreal within walking distance of major sites, shops, restaurants, etc.
The hotel was really nice and very conveniently located in Old Montreal. We could walk to all of the primary sites, restaurants, and the water. The room was more like an apartment and very well appointed. We really enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Right in the heart of old Montreal, you can't beat this location. Friendly staff. Noisy at times due to the fact that its an old building and there is not a lot of sound seperation but not too noisy that it made the stay uncomfortable. I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2017
The room was very comfortable and the staff was always courteous and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Nice loft in the center of Old Montreal

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: The friendly, professional staff, the central location of the loft to historic sites, restaurants and running/biking trail.
Location: Biking/running/walking trail, historic sites, artists, musicians, shopping, restaurants and pubs. Loft is in the middle of it all.
Nice home away from home in the center of Old Montreal with views of the port and boardwalk. The staff was professional and very helpful from check-in through check-out and the loft was well-furnished with all necessities for a very comfortable stay. Historic sites, shopping, restaurants, pubs, artists and activities are all within easy walking distance from the loft in this friendly city.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NO ELEVATOR

Posted Jun 28, 2017
We came to the sister hotel Auberge across the street and was told our room at Vieux-Port was on the fifth floor and there was no elevator!!! They kindly gave us one of their rooms at Auberge that had an elevator. Unfortunately that room faced the alley way...At Vieux Port we would have had a view of the Port...so what to choose??? walking up and down 5 flights of stairs or no view. We chose to stay at Auberge. The staff here was very kind and helpful...but it should be noted there is no elevator at Vieux-Port!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2017
Great location in Vieux port. The loft style room was great to have extra room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Texas

Incredible staff beautifully comfortable loft

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: The charm! Modern, rustic, artistic industrial--all in one comfy, spacious package.
Cons: Nothing I found.
Location: Lovely nearby art galleries, shops, and the Bistro Modavie. I highly recommend the French onion soup!
Upon our Uber arrival, a doorman greeted us by name (still not sure how he knew our names!) and helped us get the luggage out of the rain. He escorted us inside and after a quick and pleasant check in, he lead us the two easy blocks to our loft. He carried all of our luggage (!) up the stairs, helped us get settled, and answered the few questions we had. The loft was gorgeous. VERY clean. SUPER comfortable. Our view was nice, even picturesque. The bed was perfect. I wish we'd had more time to spend in Montreal just so we could enjoy the loft a little longer!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Beautiful loft apartment

Posted May 16, 2017
Great service from staff. Comfortable room with access to laundry and in old Montreal plus near good bars and restaurants