Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Posted Aug 27, 2017
One block from the beach, Paul is the man, very comfy stay thank you!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by Reservations, Hotel Management
Our guest feedback is very important to us. Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
5 out of 5
by Danielle

Posted Aug 25, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017
Our guest feedback is very important to us. Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice beach hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Location, great store
Just what we expected! Great location, awesome food right next door and plenty of sand. The room seriously needs an up grade but served us well. We will stay again😊
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Reservations, Hotel Management
Our guest feedback is very important to us. Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
3 out of 5
by Germain

We wont recommende this place

Posted Aug 5, 2017 on Hotels
First we had to pay $30 more as they said it was for internet, wich was not told by you and we wont go there anymore and saw other place with kitchen for $80 dollards less a day. For us we will go elsewhere in the future. We could not get internet from our room, we finally got it the last day before leaving behind hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017
Our guest feedback is very important to us. Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
5 out of 5
by Erica

Great weekend get away!

Posted Aug 1, 2017 on Hotels
Moby Dick Motel was so clean and far exceeded my expectations. The staff are all so friendly and accommodating! I would definitely stay there again, it's within walking distance to the beach. I would recommend this place to all my family and friends!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017
Our guest feedback is very important to us. Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from maine

Good location, excellent staff

Posted Aug 7, 2016
The staff was amazing, very kind and helpful. Having a store rigjt there was great and their subs are the best. Store clerk and cleaning person wad amazing!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S.P. Montreal,qc

Cheap cost for a very nice room

Posted Aug 18, 2014
A very good service by the staff. A large size room with nice beds. Close to the beach and a very good cost!! Thanks for the time to OOB!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Dissapointed

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: They had a sub shop downstairs.. that seemed promising..
Cons: CUSTOMER SERVICE
Location: 5-10 walk to downtown.
I booked the reservation in July and showed up on 7/3 and was told they couldn't "find" the reservation. The response of the staff was "they did to me again". You would think that if you've had an issue with online bookings in the past you wouldn't continue to use that service but that didn't seem to matter to the front desk of the Moby Dick Hotel. Instead of the reserved 2 twin bed room with a kitchenette that was reserved, we were offered a single bed box of a room (mind you we had 2 other people staying with us) with a small college fridge and broken AC. Had to laugh when we were told that the tv shuts off sometimes and you just need to "get up and plug it in again". All this and they also wanted to charge more than the agreed upon price on Expedia. Mistakes happen and if the staff had done anything to try and appease the situation I wouldn't have written this review. I thought they would have offered a free night in the future or some money towards the more expensive room that we now had to get but no, nothing was offered but a "sorry". We ended up staying at the Aquarius down the street. A little more expensive but well worth it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Moby Dick Motel

Posted Aug 12, 2013
Pros: Its location and its price.
Cons: It's old fashion style.
Location: It is near the beach!
It is located near the beach. There is a convenience store on the 1st floor.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was close to the beach, but very outdated.

Posted Aug 2, 2013
Pros: The staff was pleasant
Cons: Fresh paint, new carpet, new beds, new linens, new pillows, new air conditioner.
Location: Orchard Beach, Maine
Train behind the motel blowing its horn as it passed 2:00 in the morning. One day it rained all day, so it was hot and we decided to watch TV, but the air conditioner was so loud you could not hear the TV. The toilet broke once and it was found that a Christmas tree hook was used to hold it together. I repaired it and then another time if plugged up. Beds were uncomfortable, the screen door fell off several times and the door lock would stick so badly it took two of use to open it. There was no ice and no breakfast. This room needed a complete do over.