Ratings based on 2,940 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, QC

Great hotel, great location but....

Posted Dec 4, 2017
This is a great hotel but on the night of December 1 2017, there was a party and we could hear the music loud and clear in our room which was on the third floor. To be fair, the hotel was willing to move us to another room. Kudos to Esther Belanger at the reception desk who made our stay agreeable nonetheless.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

Beautiful Hotel very relaxing 4 day holiday.

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: Location, Staff, Clean and comfortable
Location: The location was great it was just a short walk to see the sights, restaurants and shopping were also close by.
The hotel had everything we were looking for. Very comfortable, close to restaurants and shopping. The pool and steam room were clean and relaxing. We enjoyed are 4 days very much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Very memorable stay

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: The staff, the complex itself & its history, the surrounding area
Cons: Champlain Restaurant - food and environment
Location: Most of the things for tourists in the Quebec City is within walking distance. MANY restaurants (good food!). Take a local tour to countryside.
We stayed here for 4 nights and most of the experience was very good. On arrival the hotel itself is simply magnificent - from outside to inside - we were amazed. Room was clean. Despite the feel-like minus 10ish temperature outside, the room maintains a comfortable temperature overall. Lighting was good too - although I wish we can remotely control some of the lighting. The only thing that was a little disappointing is the lack of a bathtub - it would have made the room a perfect 10! One cheer-up point though: our room-keeper left us nice little notes and things (elephant, swarm, butterfly, etc) that were folded by towel, which gave extra warmth when we returned to the room every day! This is our honeymoon trip and we surely won't miss having a decent dinner at the Champlain Restaurant. Food was OK; it was a bit noisy cuz you're sitting quite close to other tables. But thankfully the service was more pleasing. Overall the stay was memorable and there were a lot of things that amazed us when we explored around the complex - including that you can drop your postcards right from your floor and seeing it drop down to the collection box! We're looking forward to our next stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Elegant and sophisticated!

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Pros: Staff, rooms, location
Cons: Everything was great!
Location: restaurants, shopping, sightseeing
Great stay in chilly Quebec city! You couldn't really ask for a better location! The hotel is elegant, classy and exuberant. We truly felt like royalty and the hotel staff surely made us feel like it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Perfect location, perfect place

Posted Dec 3, 2017
We had a lovely stay. The staff was friendly and helpful. The staff at Sam’s were exceptional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Very nice staff and the room is very clean this location is in the old city which u can walk out
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Boston

Gracious respite

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Pros: Beautifully maintained, and decorated. Nothing was frayed or damaged - be it the carpeting on the upper floors or within the room itself.
Location: We enjoyed walking the old city below, as well as the visiting the museum on the Plains of Abraham.
Staying at the Chateau de Frontenac will remain one of our most fondly held experiences. The setting, staff and ambivence was truly gracious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Syracuse, NY

Unique experience in the heart of Old Quebec City

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Pros: Everything! Comfortable Spacious Beautiful Friendly, helpful staff Convenient to local attractions Safe area to walk and explore
Cons: The parking garage filled quickly. Arrive early, especially to self park. Self and Valet parking are the same rate- in addition to your room rate.
Location: Dufferin Terrace Ferry to Levis Isle d'Orleans Saint-Anne-de-Beaupre La Citadelle (no changing of the guard in winter) Montmorency Falls Dining Shops
The hotel is breathtaking, especially when decorated for Christmas. The hallways are like a maze- be prepared for lots of stairs and twists and turns, not only from the parking garage to the hotel, but also from the lobby to your room. We were extremely lucky that our City View room was a corner room that also offered a view of the river. It appears every room is unique, but spacious and well appointed. Robes are provided in the closet. There are a variety of toiletries in the bathroom. There is a mini bar in the room. Two complimentary bottles of natural spring water were placed on the nightstand and another, larger bottle was available and plainly labeled with the charge should you choose to consume it. Turn down service included maple candy and new slippers instead of the standard chocolate. The hotel is eco-friendly and invites guests to participate. Every staff member we met was friendly, bilingual, and extremely helpful. Within walking distance you have most of the must-see locations within the city walls. Sadly, the walkway on top of the wall was closed for the winter. A leisurely stroll took us around the majority of the quaint streets within the wall, most decorated for Christmas, as well as the Mayor's office, Notre Dame de Quebec Basilica, and Dufferin Terrace. We made this walk once at night to see all the lights and again in the morning. There are plenty of restaurants and shops to delight your every desire. The onsite garage fills quickly (extra expense)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Beautiful place to stay!

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Pros: Very friendly staff. Great food and drinks in the restaurants. Lots of breakfast choices in the Terrasse Dufferin. Location.
Cons: Better humidity in the hotel!! I would say there wasn't any kind of humidifier in the building at all based on how dry it was.
Location: Perfect location! Near bars & restaurants, shops, the river. Everything!
I absolutely loved my visit to Quebec City and was so happy I chose to stay here. The location is perfect for walking to all the sites, shopping, lower town, etc. The common areas of the hotel are beautiful and my room was really nice. I wasn't even in one of the newly renovated rooms but thought it was gorgeous! It was a lot more spacious than I thought it would be and really comfortable. The only little downside for me was the hotel doesn't seem to have a humidifier system and it was incredibly dry. I know it's an old hotel and I believe my room was in the oldest part, so maybe that's why. But I think while they're renovating, they could do something about that. I was there for 5 nights and my skin was terrible every morning and I'd wake up with nose bleeds. I'm from Chicago so I'm used to the cold and that wasn't it. There needs to be some kind of humidification system in the hotel that just wasn't there, or was not strong enough. That's the only reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5 for comfort...I really had a hard time with it and it did make mornings very uncomfortable. Other than that, I loved the place, the staff was extremely friendly, the restaurants were great and I'm planning to return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2017
You would get a whole lot more reviews if you just let people do the multiple choice without the need to write!