Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great CT town and Inn

Posted May 1, 2016 on Hotels
The Captain Stannard was perfect for a quick trip to the area. The innkeepers are warm, kind, inviting and helpful. The property is immaculate and adorable, with many things to do in very comfortable rooms in the downstairs of the property. Though I left before they served breakfast, they left a thoughtful and generous "to go" breakfast which was very much appreciated. The rooms are convenient and incredibly comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Comfortable bed and breakfast

Posted Apr 8, 2016
Pros: The house is roomy and pleasant. The towels were cushy. The hot water in the evening and morning for making tea or hot chocolate was great.
Cons: Extra blankets.
Location: We weren't there long enough to know. We were visiting colleges in the vicinity.
We arrived late, but the entry way was well lit and cheery. Cookies were in our room and hot water for tea was downstairs. I had to work, and there was a table with a near-by plug and good lighting in the common areas. The room was clean and comfortable. The towels were very plush. The owner was pleasant and accommodating. While they aren't in the room, hair dryers are available. The sitting room had games available. There was a fire in the fireplace when we came down for breakfast on a cold morning.
4 out of 5
by Natalia from Plymouth, MA

Posted Mar 1, 2016 on Hotels
It was a cozy b&b. Loved the special touches of cookies by bedside table, and home cooked breakfast.
5 out of 5
by Paul from Sheffield, Yorkshire UK

Paul and Rosie's Road Trip 2015

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
Very pleasant stop off on our road trip.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great B &B by the beach

Posted Aug 4, 2015
I completely enjoyed my stress free stay here. Everything was as advertised, and just what we expected. The entire staff was gracious, accommodating and kind. I highly recommend it here.
5 out of 5
by Sverre from Nesodden

Sol og bad I Connecticut

Posted Jul 31, 2015 on Hotels
Meget trivelig B&B i gangavstand fra fin sandstrand og noen gode restauranter. Perfekt for en rolig avslutning på opplevelsesrik ferie, en grei kjøretur fra NYC. Et sted man gjerne vender tilbake til!
5 out of 5
by SUSAN B from Monterey

Great time in Westbrook!

Posted Jul 10, 2015 on Hotels
We had a wonderful time at Captain Stannard. Mary and Jim are delightful hosts and excellent cooks. We enjoyed the beautiful grounds and the pool table. We will be back!
5 out of 5
by Frank from Vero Beach Flordia

A short stay in paradise!!!

Posted Jun 23, 2015 on Hotels
A beautiful, well kept B&B, run by two warm, interesting and very accommodating owners. The ambiance was superb. It is ideally located in Westbrook, near the shore, the Interstate and many great restaurants. We will certainly be back, hopeful;;y quite often. It was a great trip back to an old stomping ground.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cape Cod

COZY COMFORT

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: The Inn owners and staff were welcoming and accommodating to our needs; allowing us to include our family for the last breakfast together. Very nice!!
Cons: The bathroom was a little small in comparison to the spacious bedroom.
Location: The location in Westbrook was perfect for us visiting with family in a neighboring town.
Our recent stay at the Captain Stannard B & B was exactly what we needed and wanted. The Inn is beautifully maintained and decorated as a historical home. The Christmas decorations during our December visit added warmth and charm to an already pleasing decor. Breakfast each morning was delicious and served with panache...making you feel as if you are the only guests in the house! The Inn owners, Jim and Mary Ann, certainly make you feel right to home, with home made afternoon snacks, warm drinks and a cozy fire in the communal great room. The bed was comfortable, the bedroom spacious, although the bathroom was a little small. All in all, it was a pleasing and memorable stay.
4 out of 5
by LKWKP from So. NH

Posted Oct 23, 2014 on Hotels
Very enjoyable, good location, very nice owners. Only complaint was the VERY uncomfortable mattress and squeaky bed. Would not go back for that reason even though it was a very nice place to stay.