Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Great staff, beautiful venue. Quiet and peaceful... excellent breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Union NJ

Cozy and Welcoming

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Location: Great Location right in the center of town close to shops and great restaurants and just a short drive to the beach!
Stayed at the Deacon Timothy Pratt B&B Labor Day weekend and thoroughly enjoyed my stay! Truly felt like a home away from home! Our room was very nice with a very comfy bed and breakfast was delicious!! The innkeeper Patty and the owner Eileen were very accommodating and sweet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Patty, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words. We enjoyed having you stay with us. Please come and visit us again and see what new changes will have taken place. Have a beautiful fall season. Best wishes.
5 out of 5
by Susan

Step back in time

Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely historical house that maintains much of the old charm, complete with narrow staircases and original floors. I was expecting only a continental breakfast because of the weekday stay, but was pleasantly surprised with a full breakfast. The only issue was the wifi didn't really work in our room, but it did downstairs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017
Thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate any comments to help us improve our guests stay. We are currently in touch with our internet provider to improve the Wi-Fi service at the Bed and Breakfast. Once again thank you and we hope to welcome you again. Patty
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Wonderful Place To Stay On Your Getaway!

Posted Mar 4, 2017 on Hotels
This little B&B is really fantastic. The building has such history and character with a warm and inviting feeling. The owner and staff were wonderful and the included breakfasts were delicious! I will be back. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay.
5 out of 5
by Annabelle

If only every B&B could be like DTPH!

Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
From the stuff of fairytales, come and enjoy a house that you would think was designed only in your dreams! Patty is the mother, the the gentle aunt, the fairy godmother we all wish we had! There isn't one thing she hasn't thought of!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much Annabelle! We truly appreciate that you appreciate the love and care and restoration and preservation we have all put into this historic gem! We hope to welcome you back someday! Thank you so much! Shelley
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

historic nearly original house

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
Cool experience in an old 1746 house
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room too cold. Not enough blankets.

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Convenient. Friendly staff.
Cons: Room too cold. Not enough blankets. Expected a real breakfast, but got juice, coffee and a muffin.
Location: Old Saybrook is wonderful.
Convenient location. Friendly staff. But sleeping was uncomfortable, not enough blankets.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 15, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Overall satisfactory and friendly

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: Pretending we were in the colonial era.
Cons: Steep staircases may give some people trouble (old house, remember?)
Location: Location in the middle of town with plenty of nearby colonial period houses. History of church across street dates to 17th century. Walk to shops-pub
As often in B and B's, certain details can be curious, such as the bathtub in middle of bedroom with privacy curtains! However, this worked fine. 18th Century houses always need a bit of improv to include modern amenities. Small room, small TV, good breakfast with interesting breads and cakes.