Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Overall satisfactory and friendly

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: Pretending we were in the colonial era.
Cons: Steep staircases may give some people trouble (old house, remember?)
Location: Location in the middle of town with plenty of nearby colonial period houses. History of church across street dates to 17th century. Walk to shops-pub
As often in B and B's, certain details can be curious, such as the bathtub in middle of bedroom with privacy curtains! However, this worked fine. 18th Century houses always need a bit of improv to include modern amenities. Small room, small TV, good breakfast with interesting breads and cakes.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Nice to step back in time in the house.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Quaint, casual, quiet and relaxing. A unhurried feeling when you were in the house.
Cons: I think that putting the tv cdplayer in to a small cabinet to hide it when not in use would be good. It looked out of place sitting on the table.
Location: location was close to walking to the downtown area for food and other items. The shop next door offers great ice cream and a casual feeling.
Was nice to walk up to the front door and just walk in like your own home. No one to greet you but all you needed to do was shout Hello and Pat replied back from the kitchen. She walked out and greeted us and it was like we knew each other. Her explanation of the house and surrounding area was wonderful. She showed us to our room and explained where everything was and how it worked. Gave a short history of the room. Room decorations were within the period that the house was built and used in. Comfortable and relaxing. Lynn ( i hope i got it correct) the next day greeted us for breakfast and explained the fair. Breakfast both days was tasty and good, plenty of coffee and conversation with the other guests, casual, like we had known each other.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from stamford

Great visit to Old Saybrook

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Location, historical charm, staff
Location: Lots of shopping on Main Street and looks like a few very nice restaurants.
As part of a "stay cation" (we're from Stamford CT) and to take a client out to dinner, we stayed one night here and found it quaint and delightful. You stay here for the coziness and history, not upscale hotel luxury. The woman on site could not have been more helpful or friendly, our room The Suite, easily accommodated my husband, me and our 14 year old daughter, who had her own little room with a day bed. We checked in, took a long, leisurely walk down Main Street then relaxed in the hammock and lounge chairs in the very quiet back yard. In the evening, we had dinner at nearby Aspen, which was terrific. In the morning, it was fresh coffee, fruit, muffins and scones! I would return to experience the different seasons- I'm sure it's very charming at the holidays and when the weather starts to turn in the fall. Very happy with my choice. If you're looking for uber-luxury, not your place. If you're looking for charm and quiet, I would highly recommend!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful inn, not too expensive

Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely town near the ocean, walk to restaurants, organic ice cream and cafe on premises
5 out of 5
by Fredda from Connecticut

Antique Jewel!

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
If the hostess Patty was any nicer she would have to be my own mother. So thoughtful about recommending fun things nearby and encouraging towards having a nice stay with entertaining moments from the nearby beach to the local bar band. Pillows could stand an upgrade, but everything else was lovely! Enjoy this antique jewel for its history, friendliness, comfort and convenience!
5 out of 5
by William

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by David from SF

Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
Only stayed a night, but it was a good one--room was comfortable, staff was accommodating, and breakfast was home-cooked and delicious. Would highly recommend to anyone stopping or staying in the Old Saybrook area.
2 out of 5
by Tom from Utah

Not a good stay

Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
Not a great stay. B & B needed some work. There was a very strong smell of heating oil through the night which was very unpleasant. Breakfast was adequate with hard boiled eggs and muffins.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fayetteville, AR

A very pleasant place to stay

Posted Jul 18, 2007
The hotel is quaint, clean, nicely furnished and comfortable. It has a good, secure parking area. The only problem we had was occasional street noise (the hotel is located on the main street).