Ratings based on 725 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Good location close to the old town, bus and train

Posted Oct 11, 2017
We found our room very small and the hotel changed it without any fuss. Would certainly recommend this hotel . Staff were very friendly and breakfast good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Excellent hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Excellent location Friendly staff Comfortable beds Fast Internet You cannot ask for more
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lebanon, NH

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Cons: It would be nice if the hotel had a fitness room/gym.
Very conveniently located at the edge of the Riga Old Town, and also adjacent to the bus station. Breakfast was sumptuous and delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to the old town.

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Excellent staff at the reception and restaurant. Hotel itself 4* but the service is 5*. We been many places in Europe and Caribbean and Asia so I can compare Hotel Avalon to another hotels.
4 out of 5
by Mircea

Feeling good away from home!

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
All was amaizing. Excellent hotel, clean room, good breakfast. Staff very co-operative, gentle. I highly recomend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Very comfortable stay.

Posted Jun 26, 2017
We enjoyed the extremely comfortable beds, very clean, new, modern hotel just on the edge of Old Town. Our room was very quiet and I expect that would be typical. It was easy to maintain a comfortable temperature. There was some parking at the hotel which was a bonus for this area. The breakfast was excellent with a spread of hot, cold and and sweet choices. I was the same daily but there was so much to choose from that that was no issue. The double set off Expresso machines was a bonus with no waits for your favourite coffee. We would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
by Jean

Excellent location

Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Hotels
Very good location, within walking distance from the train and bus stations and old town attractions. A good spread for breakfast. The minor setback was the crowded lobby.
5 out of 5
by Dairis

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Rhonda

Excellent place to stay in Riga

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
Great location and very comfortable room. We stayed in the junior suite. We were given complimentary sparkling wine on arrival and each day were given a bottle of sparkling water and still water for the room. The hotel was interesting and the food was amazing and plentiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Good location near Old Town

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Do away with the stairs
Location: Visit old town
Bus 22 or 222 stops outside hotel from airport and again for coming back. We had room 417 which was a room with 3 stairs as one entered. We were told on checking in the room had 3 steps as one entered not practical as one had to be careful when using the bathroom at night on same level as door beds down three steps Automatic lighting for the steps was unpredictable. Dinner in hotel was slow short staffed Overall a good hotel for one or two nights.