Ratings based on 300 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Wonderful Little Boutique Hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2018
right in the middle of Zürich but totally quiet. Informal but a real gem. D
4 out of 5
by Susan

Wedding in Zurich

Posted Oct 2, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel overall was very nice. Was very clean and quiet. Wish I could control the temperature in my room as it was warm. Bed was a little too soft and pillows way too soft. The staff was friendly and helpful. Liked the small bar on first floor to get together for a drink at the end of the evening.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 27, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Mohammed

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 10, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Excellent location. Central and near old town which has lots of character. The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable if we had any questions in terms of where to eat etc. Good sized room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Great location, easy walking distance to many great shops and restaurants. We drove a car into Zurich, do not recommend this as it is mainly a pedestrian focused area - but if you do drive, you park in the Parkhaus Hohe Promenade on Rämistrasse .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yardley, PA

Nice hotel very convenient location

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness
Cons: Room got a little too hot; mattress was OK but could have been better
Location: Very close to Grossmunster and the old town
The Altstadt hotel is located very conveniently near Grossmunstter church and right near the Limmat river. It is a small, older hotel, but the room was very clean. Our stay was at the end of August and I did not realize that the hotel rooms are not air conditioned - it did get a bit hot during one night of our stay.
5 out of 5
by Frank

Great old city property

Posted Aug 29, 2017 on Hotels
Great location with respect to attractions and restaurants.
5 out of 5
by Nikolai

Two week stay -- will come again

Posted Aug 26, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is in the Old Town, so if you come from the US, difficulty of finding it, costly rooms and parking (10 min walk away), smallish rooms, some without aircons, street noise during some nights may damage your first impression. My review would probably be worse if we only stayed for 4 nights as was originally planned. But it happened that on the night before check-out my wife got medical emergency and was admitted to the University hospital for 10 days. This is when I had to do real research and thinking. However motivated I was to save money, I couldn't find anything substantially cheaper without scaling down to much-much lower life quality. This is when the management of the hotel really helped me. After I explained my situation, I was immediately offered a corporate rate. At every opportunity every member of the small staff was asking if I need anything and was helping us in every possible way. Extra blanket and three extra pillows are just among many other nice small things. The hotel helped us to make it through the unfortunate circumstances with as little troubles as was only possible. In addition, the two-week stay really allowed us to explore and to enjoy the immediate neighborhood, full of history, culture, and taste. If I had to choose again, my selection of the hotel could not be better.
5 out of 5
by Linda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 6, 2017 on Hotels