Ratings based on 1,937 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Yorkshire

Excellent central location in charming Grassmarket

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Modern hotel with every facility in one of Edinburgh's most historic neighbourhood.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Good location

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Walking distance to the castle and most of the attractions we wanted to see Spacious room with large sofa/ seating area but it was a little tired / shabby in places compared to other similar hotels we have stayed in recently Bed was comfortable and room was quiet Our booking didn’t include breakfast but the staff kindly kept our milk and juice refrigerated for us so we could eat the cereal we had brought with us in our room!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Hotel on Grassmarket Street is a fun area to stay

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Location, price
Cons: Need ramp up to main floor level where check-in desk is.
Location: Grassmarket Street is a pedestrian friendly area with lots of shops, pubs and restaurants and is within walking distance (hilly) to the Royal mile.
Exciting, historic location to stay, hotel was serviceable, rooms were on the small side but had a well appointed bath with both tub and separate shower. Hop on - hop off bus right across the street and Grassmarket has many good pubs and restaurants to chose from. Hotel restaurant was good and the staff was friendly and helpful. On-site parking for a daily charge if you can get a space.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa ontario Canada

Was o.k.

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: That you could open the window a bit. There was one girl at the reception who knew everything and was a great help. Breakfast was very good.
Cons: The guy I dealt with wasn't very pleasant. The fish and chips were greasy.
Location: You could swim at the sister hotel 2 doors over, there is a few places to eat and shops and streets to wonder about in and the castle of course.
My complaint is actually my fault I thought I had booked for the night of the Sep 26th. We went to the reservation desk to request an early morning taxi and wake up call for the 27th it was done and we left for our tour. While on our tour we received a call saying that we were supposed to be checking out, I asked if they could keep the room for one more night and they said yes. When I went to check out on the 27th instead of paying $230 Canadian I paid $475 Canadian!! I asked why the increase and they told me it was the last room. It wasn't the best room on the first floor window right on the hill where trucks parked we had to keep the drapes closed all the time as they were 1 foot away from our window. Had I know they were going to gorge me, I would of come back, packed our bags are moved to a hotel closer to the airport. I wasn't impressed at all. I would also like to know why hotels don't put luggage racks in the rooms anymore and why don't they use sheets. The cover we had on out bed smelled like urine. Otherwise it was right in the old part of Edinburgh but I would stay in new town if I went again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Good location for getting around Edinburgh

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: Location to the Castle, the Royal Mile, and Museums.
The hotel was nicely situated for sight-seeing around Edinburgh. To get to the castle you have to take steep stairs or a steep road, but there is a HOHO bus right outside the hotel that gets you to most places without the long climb up. Really know which hotel you are staying at. There are two Apex hotels a few doors apart in the Grassmarket area. The room was large and the bathroom had both a shower and separate tub. The bed was not the most comfortable as it was a bit hard for my taste. From the hotel to the airport with Uber was about 19 pounds. Overall the hotel was decent and I would stay there again if in Edinburgh.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel!

Posted Oct 20, 2017
The hotel is located in a nice plaza. It is one if my favorite hotels so far! Fully recommend it. It's clean, cozy, staff is helpful overall an excellent experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice peaceful hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Staff were polite and the bed was comfortable.
Cons: More detailed map of local places to visit and to eat in.
Location: Right on the square which was great.
I had a lovely quiet stay. The food was fantastic value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice hotel in Grassmarket

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Hotel was very nice except the water pressure in the shower is horrible. It also looks like there’s mold on the shower ceiling and it’s also falling apart. Other than that, it’s a great hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Nice hotel close to royal mile

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Nice hotel. Clean, except down bed cover had big stain. Left note for house keeper to change, but it was not. Also, tv reception was poor. Over all, hotel was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Perfect location for all the sites

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Hotel perfectly located for the castle, St Giles Cathedral & other immediate sites. Great bars & restaurants nearby. We also walked to (&up to!) Arthur’s Seat, the palace of Holyrood etc plus the Botanical gardens. All well worth a visit! Lovely hotel to go back to even though we didn’t have time to use the amenities! Only complaint was that the bed was not very comfortable & kept rolling into the middle!