Ratings based on 1,811 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Crawley, UK

Great staff, perfect location

Posted Jan 20, 2018
The staff were absolutely brilliant. I was in and out of the room all day and the cleaners tried to come in twice, and I said to them when i'd be out, and they returned while I was out and did an excellent job. The staff on reception and in the restaurant were really friendly and couldn't do more to help. The room itself was on the smaller side, but definitely not a box by any means, it was very bright and modern, although the shower did show a couple of small signs of aging (sealant missing). Bathroom was very nice otherwise. Would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PEI, Canada

Posted Jan 20, 2018
Nice location within easy walking distance to Edinburgh Castle, shopping, and a host of great pubs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Apex City hotel in Edinburgh

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Central to all the sites. Good restaurants at walking distance. Great hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swindon

Decent Hotel in great position

Posted Jan 12, 2018
Pros: Great location, clean, all required room items.
Location: Centre of Edinburgh so everything available on door step.
Hotel was clean and well presented. Room was good with everything that I wold have expected of it. Location was great being right under the castle. Cost was acceptable given that it was New Year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tyne and Wear

Great Location

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Great location in Grassmarket. Dropped bags off as room wasn't ready. Room was small for a City Plus room and felt like an attic room but great facilities. Tea/coffee, safe, ironing facilities, tv and gorgeous Elemis products. View of the castle and Grassmarket if you could get the awful net curtain out of the way. Breakfast was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu Hawaii

Excellent Hotel in good location

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Everything about this hotel with the exception of a heating issue was excellent. The heating issue was resolved with a space heater until maintenance could address the problem. Location was optimal with a terrific view of the castle
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great location

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Just a few minutes from the castle. The room was nice and spacious and the staff were friendly! We spent 3 nights here over Hogmanay. The only problems we had were around the times for the restaurant (due to Hogmanay) but there are plenty of restaurants just across the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel close to all the activities

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Pros: Friendly Staff
Cons: The beds were hard
Location: fairly central to all the tour bus locations, Royal Mile, Edinburgh Castle, Prince street for all the shopping.
Good hotel with very friendly staff. The restaurant was ok, ate outside the hotel most of the time. Real close to all the tour bus locations and very close to Edinburgh Castle and the Royal Mile. Walking distance to Prince Street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from carluke

excellent hotel and location

Posted Dec 25, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing really
Location: Plenty bars restaurants and clubs nearby and close to Edinburgh castle
When we arrived we informed staff that we were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and they gave us free drink at the bar and upgraded us to a master suite which was absolutely fabulous. Would definitely recommend and will be back . Thanks to everyone at the Apex
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from glasgow

Christmas markets

Posted Dec 23, 2017
lovely comfortable hotel after cold bus journey. Large room with nice large bathroom with bath and separate shower. Location is very central.