Ratings based on 2,120 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hampshire

Good hotel good location Very clean good sized roo

Posted Dec 17, 2017
Good hotel good location but got lost trying to find it after getting to city centre. Drinks good price in hotel. Room very comfortable and lovely pillows.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

Beautiful cosy hotel overlooking the Castle.

Posted Dec 16, 2017
So happy with our stay. The room was lovely, warm and cosy. We had room only package and got a beautiful room service breakfast one morning. Delicious. Fabulous, once in a lifetime view of the castle and so close to everything. We will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Pros: location location location
Cons: up date the rooms a bit, pillow selection
Location: central location to everything
Spent 10 days at the Apex. Great location to everything view was amazing. We only ate breakfast once the very first day after our long day of traveling at the restaurant and it was ok. Room view was amazing!!! very large room compared to other rooms we have stayed in while in UK and that itself is a big bonus for us, bed a bit hard, pillows to soft no support but we managed would differently stay if back in the area!!! (not a deal breaker)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel, close to all Grassmarket pubs and bars

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Positives: Good location Room was decent size and clean Bathroom was big and had a separate shower and bath accompanied with Elemis products Craig was friendly checking us in along with the lady checking us out who let us leave our bags when we checked up so we could continue exploring Negatives: Iron was useless One of the lifts were broken and the one took an extremely long time to get up and down Can get a bit noisy at nighttime when it’s kicking out time
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cumbria

Edinburgh apex grassmarket

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Stayed at the apex hotel a few times in the past, Excellent location in Edinburgh on the grassmarket, Convenient for lots of places, shops and restaurants. Rooms comfortable but hotel starting to look worn and in need of refurbishment now, also one of the two lifts in the hotel not working, so sometimes a lengthy wait for the lift for people with luggage and poor mobility
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Good Location and a reasonable price.

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Pros: Nice view of the castle from some of the rooms. Beautiful indoor pool.
I stayed here in two rooms with my nieces in late November. Our rooms were very clean and comfortable, and we had a fantastic view of the Castle. Lots of shops and restaurants very nearby as well as a quick walk to the Castle. We did not have full breakfast but it looked very good. I had a delicious bowl of porridge with fruit. I would definitely recommend this hotel. Price was very reasonable for such a good location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Right in the centre of Edinburgh

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Excellent location if you want to be in the centre of the city. My room had a great view of the castle (beautifully lit up in the morning sun). Staff excellent on reception and in bar. Only downside was that you are right next to the noisy nightlife of Grassmarket. The complimentary ear plugs in my room were most welcome!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Folkestone, Kent

Convenient location in old town.

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Pros: Location and view.
Cons: Soundproofing to front rooms - late night street noise from those leaving pubs, traffic etc easily penetrated.
Location: Very handy for the Castle, Royal Mile, pubs and restaurants. Princes Street and New Town only 10-15 minute walk. Two bus tour routes pick up outside.
Great view of the Castle and conveniently located with a 5 minute walk from the Royal Mile. Grassmarket has a number of pubs, cafes, and restaurants but it does make it noisy at night in rooms facing the castle - the double glazing had limited effect and the hotel supplied earplugs which helped a bit. First night room at rear of hotel was older and a bit tatty so we were moved to front for next three nights. Hotel was undergoing a refurbishment and our room had recently been completed. Generally OK, but personally found bed a little uncomfortable and pillows too soft. Very small bath with mixer tap shower over - tended to overspray past screen and soak the floor. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Perfect location

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: location location location!
Cons: Cleaner pool and more decor inside the rooms to add some warmth.
Location: Everything is close by! You're right in old town Edinburgh.
We had a nice stay! Close to everything and room was very clean. Nice hotel staff. Nothing outstanding (old elevator, pool was not too clean), but perfect for all the touring we did nearby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good service and location but very noisy

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Excellent central location. The staff were friendly and helpful. Good value for money and we loved the pool. The decor around the hotel was a bit tired. We had a good room overlooking the castle but realised why we were provided with ear plugs as we tried to sleep through the noise of the street below. I understand we had chosen a central location but something could be done to further insulate the sound of the streets maybe an extra layer of glazing as even with ear plugs it was so loud!