Ratings based on 1,177 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Preston, UK

Fantastic Hotel on the River Front

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Pros: Rooms, location and facilities
Cons: Breakfast accessibility. Unsure about times.
Location: Cathedral, walks, zoo is only a tram ride away
Brilliant hotel, amazing location, rooms were perfect, sauna definitely worth a visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by Philip, Hotel Management
Hi Adam, Thanks for the 5 star review! I am so pleased you though we were Brilliant! Kind regards, Philip
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Comfortable and spacious room with river views

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: The location was very good for walkable access to the city and Rhine views. We particularly enjoyed the lounge bar because of the attention of staff
Location: Rhine River cruises, Lindt Chocolate museum, Cologne Cathedral and plenty of bars & cafes
Check in was quick and painless; staff were very gracious in offering to speak English in all our interactions. Our room was lovely with river views including a sitting ‘nook’ with floor to ceiling windows and an opportunity to open an unusual hatch for fresh air. Comfortable modern furniture and bedding. Limited room service menu but adequate for most tastes, and the food was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by P, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for visiting the art'otel and for taking the time to write a review on Expedia.com. We are very happy about your positive evaluation and we will share your compliments with the entire team. This is a wonderful motivation to all of us. We hope to welcome you back in Cologne very soon and remain With best regards, Philip
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bangkok

Good

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Good price and good place good service good facilities ^_^
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by p, Hotel Management
Hi, Thanks for the kind remarks. Philip
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kuwait

Comfy stay but noisy

Posted Sep 13, 2017
The corner room on the bridge side in the fourth floor isn't sound proof because of the noise produced at early morning from cars passing on the bridge's joInts. I think the same case applies to all rooms in that side
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2017 by p, Hotel Management
Dear Khalid, Thanks for the feedback. Sorry you were disturbed. Normally with the windows shut there is total silence even though we are obviously in a busy city. Next time please let us know and we can locate a room that is silent for you.
1 out of 5
by kimberly

Terrible Food Service

Posted Sep 13, 2017 on Hotels
Not worth the money. Terrible service in bar and restaurant. I'm here for the Kind and Jugend trade show and booked a hotel last minute. They are terribly understaffed and do not communicate with other departments. Went to the restaurant that was lit up like a cafeteria, so decided stopping at the bar would be a better option. Sat there for over 30 minutes and the bartender never came over. Complained to the front desk which offered a complimentary glass of wine and ordered my food for me. 1.5 hours later food arrives, no wine and lot's of excuses. Did I mention that I'm being charged 700 plus euros for Saturday night? Staff yourself accordingly if your hotel is full. Don't make your guest suffer. I will never stay here again or any of their other properties. Frequent business travler
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Philip, Hotel Management
Dear Kimberly Thank you very much for posting your review on Expedia. Having you as our guest was an honour for all of us and, as a result, we are grateful for your detailed comments indeed. I am disappointed to learn that we were not capable of living up to your expectations thoroughly and I regret not having been able to provide you with a carefree and pleasant stay at art’otel Cologne. The events described regarding our staff interactions were not to our standard and I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused. Please be assured that it is our set purpose to fulfill guests’ wishes and that I am truly sorry that, in your case, we were not able to do this. For us, our guests’ comfort and satisfaction are the most important goals we try to achieve every day. We hope to welcome you back soon in order to prove that we are able to provide you with a wonderful time at art’otel Cologne. Best wishes, Philip
5 out of 5
by GEORGE

Posted Sep 9, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Philip, Hotel Management
Vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, unser Hotel auf diesem Portal zu bewerten. Wir freuen uns sehr darüber, dass Sie sich während Ihres Aufenthaltes in unserem Haus wohlgefühlt haben. Über Ihre positive Beurteilung freuen wir uns ganz besonders und wir würden uns sehr freuen, wenn Sie uns bald wieder besuchen kommen. vielen lieben Dank für Ihre Bewertung und dass Sie Ihre Eindrücke mit anderen Reisenden teilen. Wie schön, dass es Ihnen bei uns gefallen hat und wir würden uns freuen, Sie bald wieder bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Vineland

Three days in Cologne

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Funky vibe and location.
Cons: More soap, and shampoo replenishment daily.
Location: Good location close to the old city and all the touristy stuff in Cologne.
Shared a room with my brother. Nice sized room with good amenities and a good location. Although we faced the street we did not hear noise from our room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by p, Hotel Management
Dear Chris, Thank you very much for visiting the art'otel and for taking the time to write a review on Expedia.com. We are very happy about your positive evaluation and we will share your compliments with the entire team. This is a wonderful motivation to all of us. We hope to welcome you back in Cologne very soon and remain With best regards, Philip
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vineland

Modern hotel close to the Old City

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Location and style.
Location: Close to the Chocolate Museum, old city and river front tours.
Easy to get to location, great views (on the water side) and easy walk to the Cathedral and old city. Funky decor of the room adds to the fun and charm of this modern hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by P, Hotel Management
Dear Tom, Thank you very much for visiting the art'otel and for taking the time to write a review on Expedia.com. We are very happy about your positive evaluation and we will share your compliments with the entire team. This is a wonderful motivation to all of us. We hope to welcome you back in Cologne very soon and remain With best regards, Philip
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from birmingham

Good location and price

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Stay on business always good. Short walk into town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by p, Hotel Management
Dear Andrew, Thank you very much for visiting the art'otel and for taking the time to write a review on Expedia.com. We are very happy about your positive evaluation and we will share your compliments with the entire team. This is a wonderful motivation to all of us. We hope to welcome you back in Cologne very soon and remain With best regards, Philip
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Great location

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Great location on the river, within walking distance of Cologne (20 mins) along the Rhine. Hotel is new and modern. Family of 4 we had an end room with views of the cathedral and river. Great rooftop terrace to watch the sunset and have a drink. (BYOB)
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by p, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review on Expedia. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed not only your room but also our service. We constantly work on being our best so that we can provide you with the most pleasant stay possible. It is our priority to make our guests feel completely comfortable. We would love to welcome you back very soon. Philip