Ratings based on 246 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Convenient location close to the train station. Short walk to the cathedral and 15-20 minutes to the Chocolate factory. The staff spoke really good English and the service was phenomenal. Small rooms but very clean and tidy. Good breakfast in the morning with very hot coffee. Absolutely recommend if you’re just looking for a place to sleep at a great price! They were also nice enough to hold our bags after our checkout time so we could explore the city without luggage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Annandale, VA

Heart of the City Location

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location. Staff is wonderful and the breakfast is decent. It is close to the hauptbahnhof if you are arriving by train.
Cons: Unfortunately, the one thing they can't do anything about is parking. You have to use a parkhaus at the end of the block (18 euros).
Location: Easy five minute walk to the Cologne Cathedral and close to old town Cologne. Lots of shops nearby and plenty of cafes and restaurants.
Location is great with about a five minute walk to the Cologne Cathedral. The staff was extremely helpful with directions and nearby places to eat. The room was a double with private bathroom. Many of the rooms in this hotel are shared bathrooms which are a less expensive option for those who don't mind that situation. The room had a slight order still lingering from what appeared to be a recent repainting. The breakfast was a typical German offering and was generous in portions.
5 out of 5
by John

Good place to stay close to the city centre

Posted Sep 23, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel reception was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was ideally situated near the train station and cathedral. The rooms were clean. The breakfast was very good and set us up for a day of sightseeing.
1 out of 5
by Beth from Netherlands

Very unhelpful

Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels
I never leave reviews, but I am doing so now as this was the worst place I have ever stayed with very poor customer service. I emailed the hotel on the 29th of August after booking a room to request parking for my car for my stay on the 9th of September. I only received an email back today, the 12th of September. On the website it says that there is parking available. When I arrived at the hotel, I enquired about the parking and was told to just park it on the street out front but that I could get a penalty. The guy that checked me in was completely unhelpful. I asked if there was a way of paying for parking if they didn't have parking available. He said no. I asked where I could park my car and not get a fine, he told me just to drive around until I could find paid parking. It was obvious that I didn't speak German, and he was very unwilling to give me any information on where I could park, despite the fact that the website clearly said parking was available. He told me that parking was free on the street after 6PM. It was 3PM when I arrived and he said I could just chance it and I probably wouldn't get a ticket. I guess I shouldn't have listened to him because it was clear that he couldn't be bothered to help me because I did get a ticket. Thanks for that! Guess I should blame myself really for not trying to find another solution in a foreign country in a language I don't speak. Unfortunately, this wasn't the only negative experience I had but I am unable to write more.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cologne Hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Staff charisma!
Hotel was ok, breakfast was nice, but the staff on reception were not very friendly. They also insisted I pay the 5 euros tourist tax which was already included in my price, and I have had to claim it back via Expedia.
5 out of 5
by Abhijeet

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from near London

Super budget hotel

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Location. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Exceptional value for money.
Cons: Better wifi. Get rid of the cigarette smoke in some areas.
Location: Located close to the station and within walking distance of Dom, museums and riverside bars and cafes.
Situated in a quiet street a short walk from the main railway station. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The rate I was offered included a buffet breakfast, and a room with a toilet and shower which I thought was great value. The room was spacious for a single with a more than adequate wardrobe, table and chair, and television. The room was very clean and serviced every day. The only negatives were the weak wi-fi signal, the smell of cigarette smoke in the corridors and the view from the room window, but for the price and service offered, I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.
4 out of 5
by Christopher from SUFFOLK

A nice, OK hotel but without frills.

Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Hotels
Short business trip with train journey next day. Hotel was OK, price OK, b/fast good, no evening meals or bar, but I would stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel near HBF

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
Perfectly located just near the HBF, very easy to see most of the old city from here as well. Staff are very polite and helpful.
5 out of 5
by Jordi from Edinburgh

We will repeat

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
This past weekend we went to cologne to the fibo expo and we decided to stay in branderburger hof hotel. We are very with the accomodation, service and breakfast. Only thing to need to improve is the internet connection. Overall was an amazing weekend a very well located hotel and for sure we will repeat next year.