Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2018
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2018 by Francesca for The Management, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for the nice score. Our guest's opinion means a lot for us. Best regards and see you in Mantova.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Make sure you get castle suites

Posted Mar 2, 2018 on Hotels
This hotel has 2 suites that are part of the castle and are absolutely gorgeous. If standard room is booked, it is mediocre. The hotel needs to be contacted at the time of the booking to make sure that the right room is selected, otherwise it is not worth it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2018 by Francesca for The Management, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Yevgeny, thank you for your review. Our guest's opinion means a lot for us. Best regards and see you in Mantova.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 25, 2018 on Hotels
Beautiful!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2018 by Francesca for The Management, Hotel Management
Dear Mr Roberto, thank you for your review. Our guest's opinion means a lot for us. Best regards and see you in Mantova.
3 out of 5
by Flavio

Hotel museum

Posted Aug 30, 2017 on Hotels
Interesting premise On this restored building the hotel owns some part of the building, a bank owns most of the rest The apartment we stayed is huge 200 square meters with 3 bdrms, 2 baths and a room for exhibit of historical significance where people got together to plan resistances against the power of the austro-húngaro kingdom
5 out of 5
by Ruben L

Different Experience

Posted Jun 1, 2017 on Hotels
Best VIP reception in this trip
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Unique experience

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Amazing and unique place with excellent facilities with the added bonus of amazing history. Visited with my wife and two kids and had an excellent stay. The staff (not sure if this is the correct description as they are also the managers and curators of the place which is a working museum during day time) where very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Apartment hotel in historic building

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: The space, and the location.
Cons: Instructions on operation of the appliances would be very helpful.
Location: A few blocks front the historic center of Ferrrara.
The room I had was actually an apartment, including a kitchen and even a washer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London, UK

What a great hotel!

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Thinking this might be an unusual accommodation, in a museum, only added charm to the very warm welcome from the manager and his daughter, who not only showed us through that part of the museum but also gave us maps of the city, hints on what was interesting and where we might have dinner. This was a truly interesting and enjoyable one-night stay and introduction to Mantova, and we will certainly return for more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

A Unique Experience

Posted May 30, 2016
Pros: Its history and associations with the Gonzaga family.
Cons: A wardrobe would have been an improvement.
Location: It is very close to the historic centre and not too far from the Palazzo Te. It is very convenient for exploring the city.
We stayed at the Casa Museo Palazzo Valenti Gonzaga in the middle of May. It was a truely unique experience. One reason for visiting Mantua was to see the Camera degli Sposi of Mantegna and so to stay in a palazzo that has such close associations with the Gonzaga family was thrilling. The location of the hotel is excellent. It is close enough to the historic centre that it takes not much more than 5 minutes to walk to the Palazzo Ducale and is also an easy stroll to the the Casa Mantegna and Palazzo Te. Although the impressive entrance is on a main street the hotel is very quiet. At night there was absolute silence. Our room, the Suite degli Stemmi was enormous. At first we were a bit disappointed by the lack of wardrobes and drawers but we soon discovered that there was enough storage space for all our clothes and other bits and pieces. As advertised, the lofty ceiling was adorned by historic frescoes. The rest of the furniture was chosen to suit the ambience of the room. The bathroom was enormous. We have had rooms in other hotels that were smaller. The fittings were very modern but did not clash with the rest of the furnishings. Despite feeling that we were staying in a museum - which we were! - we were very comfortable in the room. Breakfast was served in the impressive hall which was adorned with sculptures, paintings, and frescoes. It was the standard Italian fare - breads, pastries, and cold meats. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

not your typical hotel

Posted Apr 8, 2016
Pros: great historical architecture and frescoes
Cons: service the bikes
Location: excellent location and good restaurants nearby
We knew the valenti gonzaga was unusual and it did not disappoint. Very oddly redesigned spaces to turn a palazzo into a few bedrooms.