Ratings based on 1,552 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Great Location

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Convenience. Very nice staff. Ask for a room on the 4th, 5th or 6th floor. Otherwise, you will be dragging luggage up and down a lot of stairs.
Cons: TV was on the fritz. Shower required instructions (!) and actually worked opposite what instructions directed, Breakfast too expensive.
Location: Close enough to walk to everything. Sights, restaurants, shopping.
Right off the Royal Mile halfway between Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace. Can walk everywhere. Shopping and restaurants all around. Rose Street has great selection of restaurants to go to for dinner. Check out Explorer Pass for visiting Castles, if you're touring Scotland. You'll avoid lines and it can be cheaper. But make sure the castles you plan to see are included on the pass (a lot aren't!) Also, make sure you get to Edinburgh Castle early. Gets very crowded.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Great Hotel and Location

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Really impressed with hotel, staff and especially location - in the heart of where you want to be. Great renovates rooms - beds and showers great. Highly recommend it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle Australia

Unbeatable position if room ok

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Overall 3 night stay. First night on 6th floor unbearably hot and noisy until 10 pm. Management addressed problem and relocated us to excellent room overlooking front street but no problems. We felt that we did have to "push" for that as initially they offered different room but same floor.... with a window a/c to be fitted. Excellent breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2017 by Michelle, Hotel Management
Dear Maree, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am very pleased that we are able to offer you a more suitable room and that you enjoyed the breakfast selection. I hope that we can welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards, Michelle
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Lovely hotel close to everything!

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Loved this small intimate hotel and would have loved to have stayed longer...even tried to extend our stay while there...but it was sold out. Hope to stay there again sometime. Everything was exceptional at a reasonable price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2017 by Michelle, Hotel Management
Dear Odile, Thank you for your lovely review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and sorry that we were unable to have you stay for longer! I hope that you will return and stay with us again. Kind regards, Michelle
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Virginia

We LOVE Frasers

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Perfect location and a helpful staff made our stay all we could have hoped for. We will be back. Thank you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2017 by Michelle, Hotel Management
Dear Clara, Thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us. I am delighted that our friendly team helped ensure you had a wonderful stay and i shall pass on a special mention to Iain, who is the happy chap in the photo! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Michelle
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halifax, NS

Super convenient location and great service.

Posted Sep 3, 2017
First of all it's about three minutes away from where the Airlink bus drops you off at the Waverly Bridge. Second it is right downtown, literally minutes away from the Edinburgh Castle, National Gallery, National Museum and a while host of other great attractions. Convenience and comfort are the best parts of this hotel. Check in was super easy with a very friendly staff and once I had slept off the jet lag, the fact that the room came with a Handy Cell Guide, let me wander the city without fear of getting lost (wish more places would provide this). Food was also no problem as there are a multitude of pubs, eateries, fancy restaurants and so on just on the Royal Mile. Just a small quibble was that the room was a bit on the older side, but considering that I was getting the stay at a discount I can hardly hold that against the place. All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable experience and I'd definitely stay again when I go back to Edinburgh!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2017 by Michelle, Hotel Management
Dear Kan, Thank you very much for your informative review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and benefited from our new Handy devices, they are a fantastic tool for guests to explore the city as well as keep in touch with loved ones back home. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our beautiful city. Kind regards,. Michelle
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Tx

Nice central location

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The 1st floor rooms are very small and not representative of photos. The staff moved us to fifth floor which was comfortable. I'd recommend not booking online. Call staff and have a room assigned to you. There's a free laundry which is really nice for minimalist packers. Staff are very, very nice. Plenty of breakfast and dinner options in area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Michelle, Hotel Management
Dear Dana, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the service from our friendly staff and hotel amenities. I hope that we can welcome you back again soon. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel close to the Royal Mile

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Great facility close to the Royal Mile and all the tourist attractions and restaurants. Very limited or no onsite parking. Supposed to have a deal with parking garage, but since we left garage early in the morning and there was no attendant around, we ended up paying full price. Our room had all the amenities listed online, but it did not seem as updated as the pictures I had viewed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Michelle, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed our central location, as you mentioned we are close to all of the major attractions. Our guests benefit from a 20% discount at the local car park which is applicable at any time once the ticket has been validated. I hope that we can welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Ideal for the Ed Fringe

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Location, views, facilities, staff
Cons: It's probably time for the hotel to replace the bath/shower taps - as last year these were hard to operate, and actually failed on the last morning.
Very good hotel almost opposite the cathedral; we stayed here last year too
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2017 by Michelle, Hotel Management
Dear D, Thank you very much for reviewing your most recent stay with us. I have passed your comments regarding the taps on to our maintenance team to investigate. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh for the festival and hope that we can welcome you back again next year. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nj

Location-location-location

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Lovely, charming hotel near Royal Mile....near everything. Comfortable room with very attentive staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2017 by Michelle, Hotel Management
Dear Bernicero, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a fantastic review! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we can welcome you back again soon. Kind regards,