Ratings based on 1,262 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tunbridge Wells

Royal Square Hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2017
I chose the Garden Palace Hotel but they had an overbooking problem so moved me to the Royal Square Hotel (same management). The foyer there is a bit dark and minimalist but my room was fine with the small but important exception of the pillow which must have been designed for an animal with a quite different physique being about a foot thick.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Perfect hotel for a long weekend in riga

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Rooms were good, fairly basic but it had everything you needed. The shower holder was broken unfortunately, but it didn't bother us too much! Breakfast was great - eggs/pancakes/bacon/beans/cereals/pastries/fruit/bread etc. Lovely guys on the front gate, we felt very secure, however the area seemed very safe anyway! Amazing location, close to everything - restaurants/bars/clubs/historic buildings! I would definitely stay there again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect location and nice breakfast.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Perfect location and nice breakfast and that's all. Hotel is very tired with extremely terrible and damaged decor. Beds are very narrow and bathrooms mouldy. Floors are making noise and you can hear every neighbor noises. Also in room fridge makes terrible noise. Toiletries are 2 star hotel level .Hotel desperately need makeover as has a great potential . Maximum 2 stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moscow, Russia

Perfect stay for my parents

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Nice rooms, location, staff
Location: absolute in the middle of ald town.
I have booked this hotel for my parents. They were very satiesfied and happy there. It's an old building from XVIII century, but all the rooms are brand new renovated and clean. Stuff was very friendly and helpfull to them too.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only aspect worth noting is it's location to the O

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Room tired and dark Bed uncomfortable and little pillows provided. Handle if wardrobe fell off. Toilet paper not adequate so had to ask for more. Breakfast sub standard One coffee machine that made others firm a queue each morning for about five minutes. This same machine was reported in 2014. Food very basic to awful. Water down juice, no cakes, plastic cheese, tinned sausages. Been to over fifty hotels in Europe and this was one of the worst. Bar said closed at 12, though, we were asked to leave at 11pm. No safe in room, reception safe was charged at €1.5 a day! Expedia rated this as 4 star, my view 2+ Not so much a tired hotel but one that was in hibernation. Would not recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Hotel close to Riga old town

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Breakfast seating not good not enough table and chairs for the amount of guest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Good. Friendly staff, good room and excellent all round service. Fantastic location too
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Garden Palace

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Old, but very nice hotel, in excellent location. Rooms are big enough and comfortable. Clean. Breakfast is very good. Staff is friendly and very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Great hotel...great location

Posted Jun 14, 2017
This is the second time staying at this hotel. It is located right outside of Old Town Riga and next to the bridge to the city. You can walk to the Central Market and several other sights. Easy to get a taxi. Staff is willing to assist with anything you ask. Wonderful large breakfast daily.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 8, 2017 on Hotels
Most things in the hotel are very old. They don't even provide kettle in the room, only on request. However the location is very good. Old town is just across the road, 50 meters away.