Ratings based on 904 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cuyahoga falls, Ohio

Very good location

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Staff very helpful. Room was very small, but great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great location and staff

Posted Sep 18, 2017
From the moment we arrived the staff was super friendly and incredibly helpful. The hotel is located in the heart of great shops and pubs just a stones throw from the Royal Mile. The rooms were basic but clean which was fine since we spent most our time exploring Edinburgh.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Funky but fails

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Location for pubs and food... funk and clean room
Cons: Elevator service for all rooms. Better quality of some room features. No breakfast included.
Location: Grass market is a great place to hang out.
Funky room design. Great location for pubs and food but don't walk their from train station as up hill and then down on cobble streets. Half the hotel not serviced by elevator. Had to walk down 2 long halls, up some short steps then climb 2 flights of stairs with a suitcase. Staff seemed very disinterested. Toilet seat (yes toilet seat) was so small that anyone under 150 pounds might fall in. Cheap work in some cases. Curtain rod fell off the wall and the shower rod very tenuous. Seems like the Hotel gave full authority for artistic design but forgot about practicalities and quality.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Awful room. Far too small. Uncomfortable bed, broken toilet and shower. Very disappointing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montana usa

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Stayed one night while waiting for a flight. Enjoyed the modern room design and hot shower. Would use again as its central to many attractions.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Good location to places like Edinburgh Castle.

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Feeling of being treated when there is a note stated that we have all your details if you happen to take anything from the room like cup, pillow, bedsheets etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Modern funky hotel right in Grassmarket

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Location is awesome.
Cons: The second and third floors with quad occupancy need to have elevator access. Need tv remote controls in every room. Cleaning staff unfriendly.
Location: Right in the center of action. Hop on bus stop right in front. Near castle and shopping. Cool market vendors on weekends.
Very funky hotel right in the Grassmarket and just down the hill from the castle and main shopping. Rooms were clean and functional with a few cool things like Bluetooth in the wall adapter and speakers in the washroom. Single person sits at a booth in the lobby, 24 hours a day, to check people in and answer any questions.....even with only one person, there were never line ups! A few cons... If you book a quad room, the elevators do not go past the first floor and you will need to carry your bags up several sets of stairs, and for some reason they don't have enough tv remotes for all of the rooms (we asked for one but never received one). At night, The Grassmarket and the hotel pub are a bit noisy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Ontario Canada

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Pros: Location - location- location
Cons: Small fridge in the room
Location: Walking distance to important sites we had selected. The Royal Mile was 10 min walk at best.
Wonderful staff at front desk. Hotel is not luxurious but very very clean and comfortable. Super location
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent WA

Very noisy Saturday night

Posted Aug 7, 2017
The music/bass from the adjoining bar went on until 2:45 am and I was unable to sleep until they closed. Mentioned to front desk twice. Only compensation was a free breakfast. Promised 'piping hot' porridge that was lukewarm at best. Room was WAY too expensive for what you get. Would not stay there again. Disappointed...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK but "DON'T BUY THE LATE CHECKOUT OPTION"

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Don't charge for something that your staff will not deliver.
Location: Good location, OK hotel.
OK hotel, not great. They sent an option for 10 British Pound late checkout for late afternoon but staff did not acknowledge the existence of this option and kicked me out in the AM. The staff was nice enough to hold on to my bags till I was ready to get them. I'm still out 10 pounds and did not get what I paid for.