Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Gem in the absolute heart of Edinburgh

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Pros: Beautiful old style. Perfect location
We stayed with greyfriar's apartments and our experience was fantastic. The apartment was magical, dripping with old charm but large and very comfortable. Best of all it was literally across the road from Edinburgh Castle and had views of Edinburgh from every window. A fantastic apartment and a real treat. Would stay here every time and highly recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Stately apartment with great location

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Location: Easy walk to nearly all the major attractions of downtown Edinburgh.
We stayed at the 26 Castle Terrace location which has two bedrooms, one of which sleeps 2 in a king bed and the other sleeps 3 (queen plus single). I was pleased to see that there were two bathrooms, which was handy with our group. The ceiling heights are quite impressive (accordingly, the stairs from the first floor to the second floor take up an unusual fraction of the total volume of the apartment). There is also a washer (no dryer) but there is a drying rack to hang out your clothes. The apartment was very clean, which is always welcome. The location of these apartments can't be beat. You are facing up to the back of the Edinburgh Castle (major tourist site and venue for the Royal Military Tattoo--try to see it!). Apartments are nicer than hotels because you are not forced to eat out and you can bring leftovers or market food to the fridge and have a relaxing lunch in your own place rather than being forced to eat out every meal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view of Edinburgh castle

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: Location, size, view.
Cons: parking included would be nice. Overnight street parking was free but day parking is pricey. There is a car park right across the street though.
Spacious and close to the old part of Edinburgh. Loved that we had 2 bathrooms for our family. We wish our stay was longer. Perfect for a family as there is a load of space and full kitchen and laundry machine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location!

Posted Jul 20, 2017
The apartment is in the centre of Old Town with quick access to the castle, the Royal Mile, great pubs, and lots of shopping!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location, but substandard services

Posted Jul 20, 2017 on Hotels
Just next to the cathedral, so very convenient location to the sights along and around the Royal Miles. If you drive, parking can be a headache. The apartment (1 Parliament Square) itself is very spacious. The double beds are however a bit small and soft for my comfort. We had some issues with the service and amenities provided. First, there was zero internet service. To begin, no info on network and password was left in the apartment. We had to use the city free wifi to email Derek for it. But the network name given only appeared momentarily during the two days we stayed there. Second, they only provided two tiny tubes of bath/shower gel and one roll of bathroom tissues in each of the two bathrooms, and one set of towels for each person for the whole duration of our stay. Third, there was no waste basket in the bathrooms. Also if you have big suitcases, beware that the apartment is located on the fourth floor of the building with no elevators.
5 out of 5
by Terri

View of Edinburgh Castle

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
Had a lovely stay in the apartment. We were met at the door and Derek was kind to point out the close points of interest and offer his recommendations for places to eat. This particular unit had a nice view of the castle from the living room. It was a quick stay for us so the Greyfriar's Apartment was perfect for our needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upstate NY

Ideal location

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Flat is located at the foot of Edinburgh Castle and ideal for walking the Royal Mile and Grassmarket area. It is incredibly spacious and both Derek and Odette ensured we had a wonderful stay!
3 out of 5
by Donald

Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
The apartment we booked was in a great location close to all of the attractions in the old city of Edinburgh. Our apartment was obviously intended for families so it was a bit large for two of us. It was clean and functional but seemed a bit tired overall. That being said it was a good value close to where we wanted to be.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Perfect location. Incredible view.

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The rooms were large and very comfortable. The kitchen was well stocked and very nice. The location couldn't be beat!
We loved staying in Castle Terrace. The location was right near the heart of Edinburgh, just below the castle. It was near to several great places to eat, as well as the grocery store. The rooms were comfortable and charming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from California

Location location location

Posted Apr 5, 2017
We loved our stay here (at the Johnston Terrace apartment). The location just can't be beat - so close to the castle that you can hear the bagpipers in the morning and through the day. Close to everything, including the spots where some of the day trip tours pick up. The wifi was great, the television had plenty of channels and a dvr to record things, the kitchen was well-equipped and everything seemed to work. Would definitely stay here again. Only note would be that the couches in the living room could be more comfortable...