Ratings based on 1,591 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Central to everything, very good loacation

Posted Dec 16, 2017
Pros: Clean, good atmosphere
Location: Christmas Market in the cathedral square, by the river for boat trips & tourist office located just 5 mins away for info & booking trips etc
Hotel staff were pleasant, hotel was right by the center of Cologne with everything in easy reach, it was a nice relaxing break
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

great location

Posted Dec 16, 2017
hotel was quiet and rooms were situated quite far from the lobby. didn’t feel very safe in the hotel. pillows were extremely soft and uncomfortable. had one of the worst sleep on all my travel trips for 4 nights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 15, 2017
Pros: Location
Beautiful hotel with excellent included breakfast located two blocks from cathedral
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wilmslow,cheshire

Great location

Posted Dec 10, 2017
A bit disappointed with the service. Not really the best.I thought the Spa was with a swimming pool but it haven't got a swimming pool the Hilton in Cologne .Great location. I booked a room for 3 people but they carered for 2 so I have to ask for more toilettery,teas and coffe and even cups . It should be better service as the price is expensive .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very close to the city centre.

Posted Dec 5, 2017
First time visit to Cologne and its Christmas markets. Lovely experience overall. Hilton Cologne is very well situated to the town centre and access to the sights. Comfortable, clean hotel, friendly staff. Thank you for making our short stay a lovely experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

christmas market

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: its position
Cons: no smoking outside you had to walk through it to get to the shops
Location: plenty to see and dooooo
Hotel right next to the cathederal and the bells started at 6.45 and went on all day on and off till 10pm,but it wasn't a tune just dong dong dong. wouldn't have minded a tune just a dull dong
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great stay for Christmas Market

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Great stay. Centrally located. Very easy to arrive from train station. 2 minutes walk from Cathedral. Great location to be based for Christmas Markets. hotel clean, very warm and bed very comfortable. Breakfast very expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel close to station and Dom

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Perfectly placed for a weekend visiting Christmas Markets - easy transfer from airport to station - 10 mins - and 3 mins walk from station to hotel - central for shopping - sightseeing - 10 mins walk to Rhine and large selection of restaurants and bars
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

I was robbed in front of the hotel entrance

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: your security staff is rude and useless. Train them.
Location: n/a
This hotel is at its best can be a 2-star hotel. Breakfast is a 4-star quality. This hotel is in a bad area. I was robbed right in front of the hotel, within 4 meters from the main entrance. No security guards outside and that made no sense at all. Hotel staff did absolutely nothing. When I returned to the hotel security guards asked in an unprofessional manner for my name inside the hotel lobby to ensure I am indeed a guest. Other hotel staff members are pleasant. I do not recommend this hotel at all unless (A) the hotel keeps security guards 24/7 at the hotel entrance and (B) train the security guards to be professional with hotel guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham, England

Cologne City Break

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Location Size of Room Cleanliness Very well equipped
Cons: Charging for Wi-Fi is getting a bit outdated Please provide more than 2 x Coffee Bags / Tea Bags Rude bar-staff
Location: Fantastic location, with Koln Dom (Cathedral) only 2 mins walk away, with the river being 5 mins away, and the 'old town' only a 10-15 min walk.
Great city with the Hilton being in a great location only 2 mins walk to the Cathedral. The room was spotless, huge and well equipped, lovely modern hotel......and would definitely recommend the Hilton on location alone. Starbucks coffee in the bar with Multi-Media TV in the room, along with Fridge, Iron, Dryer etc....and amazing black-out blinds for the price of a Premier Inn in the UK! We have one complaint however - the bar staff (two guys + girl) who were 'on shift' 21st October around 11.30pm+ were very rude, almost ignorant - who were more bothered about chatting together than serving customers. We had just come back from a gig at the Koln Palladium and probably not looking like the chino / polo shirt travellers in the bar....but the look of disinterest in serving us was terrible (the sarcastic 'how may I help you' after we called them over didn't help) - even the guy next to us at the bar commented that he was waiting patiently to be served. We complained to reception, who then handed us a pen & paper with a business card to contact someone in customer service.....but we couldn’t be bothered at the time as it was our weekend away. I love Hilton as you know what you get, but some of their staff could learn some manners….