Ratings based on 1,173 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Excellent Location, affordable and very convenient

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: The best part of this hotel is its amazing location and affordability.
Cons: Negative points were the strong noise from the water pump every time we ran the water and the wi-fi internet which only worked well around 5-6 am.
Location: Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace, Holyrood Park, Princes Street, Walking distance from Waverley Train Station.
We stayed at this hotel for a week while in Edinburgh and had a large 2 bedrooms/2 bathrooms apartment. We were happy with the fast check-in process. The apartment was large and the kitchen well stocked with plates, cutlery, detergent, etc. It is not a luxurious looking hotel but the convenience of having a kitchen and living area, greatly made up for it. The hotel is is literally just steps from the Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace and walking distance to Princes Street, and other sites downtown. Holyrood Park is also steps away. We went hiking up to Arthur's Seat and there was a trail runner in our group who had many awesome and challenging trail running adventures in the park with the steep hills. There is a paved bike path and road all around the park as well for road running or cycling. Any runner/trail runner will find this a haven for continuing training while on vacation. The scenic views in Holyrood Park are worth exploring for everyone!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, spacious and comfortable

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Good location, beds comfortable and kitchen well equipped
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Excellent location, absolute comfort!

Posted Sep 14, 2017
We had 6 in our patty and had two rooms. We had a delightful stay! Staff was helpful, rooms exceptionally neat and comfortable and we were close to all the sights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver, canada

Posted Sep 3, 2017
The room was clean and quiet. All we needed for one night but would be good for a longer stay. The location is right off the Royal Mile, so handy for shops and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: Lots of space, good location and friendly staff.
Location: Close to Holyrood park and the old town.
Nice stay in good location close to the train station, old town and holyrood park.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay!

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Excellent place to stay, very close to the Royal Mile (like, not even half a block). It was great to have a kitchen and laundry in the room (although, for people from North America, note that the laundry is not what we're used to!). Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cumbria

Good central hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Second visit and will be going again. Great location for centre of Edinburgh.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Asheville NC, USA

Holyrood Aparthotel - a great choice for us

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: The location was excellent - near to Royal Mile. Clean and wonderful choice for a family of four: two bedrooms, two bathrooms, kitchen, sitting room.
Cons: My children did say that their bathroom had a funny smell so they ended up showering in the other bathroom - this was their perception, not mine.
Location: Very close to the Royal Mile, lots of shops/restaurants. Close to Arthur's Seat.
The receptionists were very nice and helpful (booked us a cab for our first trip into town since we had an appointment and needed to get their quickly). Everything was clean and welcoming and well organized.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

Nice hotel just off the Royal Mile

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Nice apartment style hotel. Had a nice cleanly equipped kitchen area with a spacious room and bathroom. A good location about halfway down the royal mile between the castle and Holyrood Palace but a little off the main strip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff fantastic / Great Location

Posted Aug 23, 2017
A very pleasant surprise / the only issue was hit & miss wifi -