Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Robert from Boston, MA

Very nice little hotel

Posted Dec 24, 2015 on Hotels
6 nights, visiting family in the neighborhood. Very nice hotel. Good free breakfast. Clean. Modern. Roomy. Comfortable bed, nice shower. Only areas for improvement are the seating and lighting in the suite. Otherwise, exactly what we wanted.
1 out of 5
by Disgruntled Customer from Germany

Terrible Experience

Posted Sep 7, 2015 on Hotels
i thought this hotel was actually pretty bad. it was advertised as a 4 star butbis nowhere near that. No ac, wi fi sucked, parking garage terrible. i stayed in a "suite", but it resembled a regular room. very disappointing.
4 out of 5
by Sharon from Tucson, Arizona, USA

Loved the Hopper!!

Posted Aug 4, 2015 on Hotels
We had a junior suite and it was quite large. There were two separate rooms, one with a bed and one with a fold-down sleeping couch. We had two TV's, a nicely stocked refrigerator, and even a stove in case we wanted to cook. A nice coffeemaker would've been a perfect addition. At first, the beds seemed like they were too hard, but they were great for sleeping. Large windows in each room provided great views and just enough cooling at night. There's no air conditioning, so we were thankful for moderate temperatures during our stay in Cologne. Breakfast was wonderful, and the garden area was lovely. All in all, our stay was pretty great, and we'd stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Luc from North Bay, Ontario, Canada

Ver clean and comfortable.

Posted May 19, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was great. Very clean, modern and comfortable. I was hoping it was going to be directly in old town. The area was very quiet and serene. It was a bit of a walk to the old town and approx 10 minute walk from the main train station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Simon J.

Excellent trip to Cologne at Carnival Time

Posted Mar 9, 2015 on Ebookers
We had a lovely stay at the wonderful Hopper St Antonius. It is a lovely hotel. The room was large and very comfotable with a nice view over the courtyard. The breakfast as excellent very fresh with good choices. We would thoroughly recommed this hotel it was an excellent choice.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dissapointed.

Posted Dec 11, 2014 on Hotels
My review is based on the single room, so probably the bigger rooms are better. I was very disappointed with my choice to stay in this hotel. The room was super tiny and just very uncomfortable and impractical. The owners tried their best to make a very unique and modern boutique hotel out of this fairly old building. Some of this succeeded, but the net result for me is that the room I had was very uncomfortable and extremely unpractical. the desk is so small that when your laptop is on it there is no space for anything else. there is no space to hang a towel or to place your suitcase. No heating in the room, so it was a bit chilly. No place to put your phone next to the bed while charging, etc etc. I strongly recommend you against staying in the single rooms in this hotel and hope the double rooms are better.
4 out of 5
by Mrs Tabitha J from London

Great stay

Posted Nov 30, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel was smallish with a lot if character. And history. Set in side street. Breakfast and coffee great. Service if you needed it. Lovely central courtyard. Not too far from cathedral/station- 10 min walk . Rooms comfortable , quiet. Only criticism was that room was a little stark. We could have done with s comfy sofa! Stayed in junior suite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ipswich

Nice comfortable hotel, short walk from the city.

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: Quiet, clean, good breakfast
Cons: Our room didn't have hot drink facility
Location: 15 mins walk to the Cathedral and 10 mins walk to the river. The old town has some nice places to eat. Remember the shops shut on Sundays.
We stayed in the junior suite for one night only - room 12 on the 3rd floor. It is set at the rear of the property overlooking the courtyard. As there is a restaurant in the building, there was slight noise at the end of the evening, but not enough to disturb sleep. The junior suite consisted of an entrance corridor leading to a large room with TV/Sofas/dining table and a small kitchen (hob and sink) hidden behind folding doors. My only disappointment for the facilities was the lack of kettle for making hot drinks. The bedroom had very comfortable furnishings including TV and Dyson fan - the bathroom had a large walk-in shower but no bath. All windows had Juliet balconies with tilt and turn windows. Breakfast was very good - choice of cold meats/cheese, scrambled eggs/hot sausage, cold fish, lots of fruit, yoghurts and cereals. And plenty of options to drink. As it is served in the main restaurant there were plenty of areas to sit. The station is approx. 10 minute walk - out of the hotel, turn left, left again and then straight on. The river is about 10 minutes walk also. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel and am glad I booked it based on reviews of other travellers.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice area and receptionists are awesome

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel has artistic spirit. Full of photos and history.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from istanbul

One night stand at Dmexco

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Good location. Probably one of the smallest rooms I ever stayed. I stayed in a different Hopper a year ago, which had much beter rooms. It's an allright hotel, if you are making a short stay...