Ratings based on 256 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Switzerland

Great Place but one can ruin a score for all

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: The location is great! Fair price for being so close to everything in the old city.
Cons: A night personal at the reception that is appropriate to his job. (The second night personal was professional). Better windows to block bar noise.
Location: Very close the the cathedral, the main shopping areas, and one street over from the river restaurant area.
Upon our arrival (we arrived late due to flight delays) we were "greeted" by one the most unfriendly, rude, arrogant people I've even encountered at a hotel. Basically after cutting me off multiple times, raising his voice, and not providing us with anything but a key, I had enough. Now, I did speak with multiple staff that was on the rest of our stay. They were all incredibly apologetic and very friendly. This was one isolated "man", but his comments to me, my friends, and other customers that were waiting is completely unacceptable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Nilofar Ghaini, Hotel Management
Dear Amanda, thank you very much for your review! We always looking for the feedbacks to improve ourselve and solve problems. We love to welcome you back. Your Hotel An der Philharmonie
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central but noisy

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, clean, central.
Cons: Could be quieter, but it is in the city centre, so I guess you have to expect some noise.
Location: Loads to do in the centre of Cologne.
Great location in the centre, near to the railway station, cathedral, etc. If you're going out on the town then it's ideal, but if you want to sleep then it's not great as it's nextdoor to a nightclub/bar and you can hear the beats until they close. I stayed on a Friday night, so maybe it's just weekends...
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Nilofar Ghaini, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your kind feedback! We are always thankful for new suggestions. Your Hotel An der Philharmonie
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: very good position close to everyrhing
Cons: Air conditioning in all rooms
Location: Visiting Cathedral museums and shops
The stay was comfortable my particular room had a lot of space though the bathroom was lacking in space i.e.shelves and space either side of basin was very crampt due to a very artistic almond shaped basin!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by Nilofar Ghaini, Hotel Management
We thank you very much for your kind review! New suggestions are always welcome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Our room was newly renovated and was very nice, including the bathroom. The hotel is located very conveniently to Old Town, restaurants, shopping, and all of the historic sites. If you want a quiet room, ask for one located on the other side of the bar next door.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by Nilofar Ghaini, Hotel Management
Dear Margaret, we thank you very much for your kind review! New suggestions are always welcome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from London

Good quality rooms in the heart of town

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Although it's above a busy bar, the rooms are well insulated against sound and we slept very well. The staff are very friendly and the rooms were of very good quality.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Nilofar Ghaini, Hotel Management
Thank you, it was a pleasure to welcome you in our house. Your feedback is very important to us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UH

Convenient location

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Centrally located, outdated hotel but clean spacious rooms, friendly staff. Great breakfast (good value for money).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Nilofar Ghaini, Hotel Management
Thank you, it was a pleaure to welcome you in our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us.
4 out of 5
by Alexandre

In the heart of Cologne. Great place to stay.

Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
In the heart of Cologne. Excellent hotel. No complains at all. Expect noise during the weekends nights since it is close to bars/nightlife. However the night dies eventually and the noise goes away. Friendly and helpful staff. I do recommend it for friends and would stay again for sure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017
Thank you, it was a pleaure to welcome you in our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us.
4 out of 5
by Nithiyananthan

Great location and good value-for-money

Posted May 27, 2017 on Hotels
The location of this hotel is amazing. Just a few minutes walking distance from the Cologne Cathedral, the city's main attraction, the Rhine River and an old castle-like building, it offers many places to explore in its vicinity. Further, as it is less than a 10-minute walk from the main railway station and the Heumart metro station, it is well connected. And linked to the name, it is across the lane from the Philharmonic hall. Also in the locality, along pedestrian-only squares and walkways, are numerous dining outlets offering a wide range of cuisines. With regard to the hotel, it offers the comfort and facilities of a conventional hotel in a European city, within a compact and efficient design. My room even had a long sofa. While it did not have a fridge, the staff, who were helpful and accommodative of my various requests, stored my beverages in the kitchen fridge. I opted for the breakfast which was a regular Continental breakfast with a few hot food options. As the hotel is located slightly away from the squares with the large pedestrian footfalls, it is less affected by ambient noise. Overall, for its location, facilities and service, the hotel provides good value for money.
5 out of 5
by Mark

Very nice European hotel.

Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Hotels
A small, centrally located hotel that deserves its 4 star rating. Near the Ludwig and the Roman museums and close to the train station. Be advised that to get there from the train station you have to walk up and down lots of steps of the DOM cathedral plaza which is in between the two. Good exercise though. Hotel has only a small lobby area with a few seats. No ice machine or store to buy things. Staff was very nice and genuinely pleasant and attentive. Room was larger than most, with a nice sitting area with table and nicely appointed with art work. Bed is a foam mattress which for me was a bit soft and a small challenge to get out of. Bathroom was modern with a step up tub/shower and great water pressure. Good WIFi access in the room and lobby. The area was generally quiet the week I was there except for Friday and Saturday nights when the bars flanking the hotel were crowded and the music was very loud. Breakfast was just an additional €9.50/day and for me well worth the price. Nice assortment of bread, crispy rolls, eggs, sausage, sliced meats and cheeses, fresh fruit, cereals, yogurt and coffee, tea and juices. All and all very enjoyable even with the loud noise on Friday and Saturday night.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels